We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Monteverde Wild
from US$35.90
More Info
from US$38.20
More Info
from US$76.93
More Info
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
97
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curi cancha reserve flora and fauna amazing birds night tour private tour oscar knowledge telescope trees tarantula animals nature hummingbirds information forest agouti insects
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

We wanted to see resplendent quetzals, and my foot was injured, so Oscar took us to Curri-Cancha Reserve where the trail was easy and he thought we had a good chance to find them. We saw monkeys and agouti and several beautiful small birds before we came on a wild avocado tree with two female quetzals with 4 or 5 males showing off for them. We watched for an hour or more while they put on an amazing show. Oscar was as excited as we were. He is a font of CostaRica knowledge about history and flora and fauna, loves what he does. We highly recommend him and Monteverde Wild!!!
Thanks Oscar!!

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank kentr995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We did a three 1/2 hour hike with Oscar in Curi-Cancha reserve. It was our last of four different guided nature hikes in different parks in Costa Rica in the month of February. We had seen almost all the animals in other parks, and many tropical birds, but we hadnt seen a Resplendent Quetzal, so that was our goal and why Oscar took us to CuriCancha. I also had an injured foot and he knew the trail would be easy and not too long. After seeing an agouti and whitefaced monkeys as soon as we started or hike, then several beautiful smaller birds, we found a wild avocado tree with 4 or 5 male quetzals showing off for 2 females. We watched for over an hour as they squabbled and chased each other around the tree. Oscar was as excited as we were, showing us great views with his top of the line spotting scope and taking dozens of pictures. We finally tore ourselves away from the show and finished the hike. Oscar really knows his business and is a fountain of knowledge about all things Monteverde and Costa Rica, from history to culture to birds and plants.
We highly recommend him and Monteverde Wild for a great immersion in Monteverde flora and fauna.
Pura Vida!!!
Muchas gracias Oscar!!!
Kent and Iris Robertson

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Karkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

My visit to Curicancha Reserve with Oscar was absolutely magical. Not only were we incredibly lucky to enjoy an extensive sighting of the elusive quetzal and his wife and many other birds and animals, Oscar is also extremely knowledgeable and provided much information on animals, plants and the history of this amazing place. If you are interested in not just walking through the forest, but learning about nature and immersing yourself in the experience, I recommend Oscar!

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank PuraVida100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2021 via mobile

Oscar our guide had a lot off knowledge about the forest and all its inhabitants. He knew where to go and could give us a lot of information about the trees, birds and even the tarantula!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank saxbaldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeWild, Owner at Monteverde Wild, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hola! Thanks for your review. We appreciate this comment very much, because you're describing two of the most important reasons why to hire a guide for your forest walk.
1. Information
2. Know where to go to enjoy highlights.

Hope to see you soon, pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2020 via mobile

There are many independent tour guides in Monteverde, but do yourself a favor and book a walk with Oscar! He's an absolute pro with years of experience and a clear passion for his work. He was able to answer all our questions and tell us about the unique history of the region, while spotting rare and glorious wildlife. It's like he was able to have one eye on us and the other eye on the canopy at all times. We learned sooo much about the creatures that were living rich lives all around us that would otherwise have gone unseen.

1  Thank PaigeL214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeWild, Owner at Monteverde Wild, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hola! Thanks for your review, we loved it! We have read this comment so many times and still give us joy. Muchas gracias!!

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews