We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$100
US$87
View deal
Hotels.comUS$100
Expedia.comUS$100
Agoda.comUS$88
TravelocityUS$100
CheapTicketsUS$100
Orbitz.comUS$100
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
281
169
60
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
281
169
60
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south coast fish eagles relaxing stay beautiful setting out of this world wedding venue hidden gem family holiday weekend villa sea accommodation scenery conference supper fishing kzn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2021

The views are spectacular from the patio, however the room itself came across as tired and the bathroom is in need of updating. The buffet dinner was OK, but the breakfast could have been better - flies on some of the food. We booked out early.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traceyvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2020

Loved the place, scenery was beautiful,

The rooms were spacious and very well appointed. View marvelous. However the construction caused echo chambers which was annoying when we had noisy neighbours in the passageways. Definitely no noise from the rooms themselves.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank incalineSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2020

We booked for supper and find it was only buffet that was available. This is a beautiful setting with a marvelous view. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was average and the variety limited, one meat dish - curry, veggies overcooked. The fish and the mac& cheese was tasty. The chocolate cake was excellent and so the rest of the pudding! The price was R220/ person. They even surprised my husband with a small special birthday cake with candles!
Not too bad experience but don’t know if we will go back for the buffet...

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Elsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

We just returned from a great weekend at the estuary hotel, the service was great from checking in to the servicing of our unit.

We stayed in villa 17 which is well equipped for self catering and very spacious, 5 bedrooms altogether and all on suite.

The beach is an easy 5 minute walk along the estuary to the security gate.

We ate at the restaurant once and our food was good, they were battling with their liquor license at the time we were there but you can take your own drinks without a corkage charge which we took advantage of.

I would recommend staying at this establishment and will return to the beautiful south coast more often.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank BluffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adri Smuts, Sales at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment in your valuable time to leave us a pleasant review and for sharing it with the community.

We're thrilled to see you enjoyed a break away to our coastal gem and have great things to say.

Meeting our guest's requirements is our outmost importance and are happy yours were met too.

Please feel free to contact us for future reservations as we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Samantha Mkhize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2020 via mobile

We are staying at the Villas and decided to go to the Fish Eagle restaurant for dinner lastnight..firstly, the waiter who assisted us was not wearing a mask, at such close range and serving us food this was our first red flag. We ordered 3 fillet steaks and one chicken schnitzel off the al carte menu, one of the steaks were asked to be well done, this steak came back absolutely raw and blue. The 2nd steak was asked to be medium cooked, again it was raw and blue. We eventually had to send them both back to be redone as they could not be eaten, and we had already waited very long for the food. The chicken schnitzel arrived late, we were told by the waiter that the chef had burnt it and was redoing another one, when the schnitzel eventually arrived, it was absolutely raw and was almost eaten by someone in our group who is pregnant. We called the guy who was sitting at reception he was very helpful as everyone else was out of sight including the restaurant manager, we decided to leave as we could not wait longer for the schnitzel to return once again. We paid the bill, excluding the schnitzel and left. It was a terrible experience and meant to have been a birthday dinner for someone in our group, to say that their evening was ruined is an understatement. We will not be back to the Fish Eagle restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank verushnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adri Smuts, Sales at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Good day Verusha

We received the complaint regarding your dinner on the 28th of September 2020. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing evening you had at the Fish Eagle Restaurant.

As you might be aware, most establishments in the hospitality industry just recently started operating after a 5-month lockdown, and with the Estuary Hotel and Spa only half the staff compliment we had prior returned with us after opening. This meant we are finding our feet in a new way of operating which created some operational challenges that we are working on.

Coming from a busy long weekend the Head chef was off on Monday night, but we still had a team of permanent and trainee chefs in the kitchen. We will most certainly address the skill shortage that was identified.

Regarding the staff member and mask, this will be dealt with as we have implemented protocols for all staff and guests to follow.

Thank you for the feedback, it is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves as we are working through these challenging times.

Please contact me if you are in the area again and we will gladly assist with a discounted meal to show you the true Estuary Hotel and Spa Hospitality.

Kind regards

Kishan Krishna,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews