We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world experience! ”
Review of Aqua Planet

Aqua Planet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ask the world about SHARK diving, they say South Africa! Ask South Africans about SHARK diving, they say PROTEA BANKS! Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter is an accredited PADI dive center, which offers a full range of PADI courses from beginner to professional, including Sharklife Specialty courses. Our diving focus, as you have probably realized, is SHARKS. If SHARKS are your thing, come see the Big 5 (Bull, Tiger, Hammerhead, Oceanic Blacktip and Ragged-tooth sharks) and more ... with Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter.
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

I recently completed my advanced open water qualification with Aqua planet in shelly. It's been an amazing experience overall and I'm completely hooked now.

The team at Aqua planet are highly professional and put customers safely at the heart of everything they do. A special shout out to Kym my wonderful instructor; to Sam for convincing me to do my advanced open water and helping me with my theory; Michael (miggie) for keeping an eye out for me under the deep blue and skipper for getting us safe to sea.

Seeing several Hammerhead sharks on my last day of diving was truelly a bucket list experience.

I can't wait to dive with Aqua planet again on my return to South Africa again.

I would HIGHLY recommend this diving company for an amazing out of this world experience with sharks and many reef fish in the big deep blue.

Thank Iananddamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

We thank you for choosing to do your PADI Advanced Open Water course with us, at Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. It was so exciting to dive with you and I will never forget your face when you saw all those Hammerhead sharks ... I love it when our divers appreciate what they are seeing and get excited about it! We so look forward to your next visit and maybe having some more fun, on another course - remember that Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter runs all PADI courses from beginner to professional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive centre"
in 23 reviews
"protea banks"
in 53 reviews
"bull sharks"
in 10 reviews
"black tips"
in 14 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 8 reviews
"aliwal shoal"
in 6 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 5 reviews
"many thanks"
in 5 reviews
"great dive"
in 5 reviews
"the owner"
in 5 reviews
"whole team"
in 4 reviews
"reef fish"
in 4 reviews
"flying fish"
in 4 reviews
"two days"
in 3 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 3 reviews
"making sure"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 166 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2017 via mobile

We came back for the second time and had awesome diving - again! Tiger, bull, blacktips, raggies and shoaling hammerheads all over the reef! Everything and everyone is super professional and we vote for Sam as the employee of the month.. great vibe, super friendly staff! We will be back! Thank you all!!!! Becky and Jens

Thank ChickenPie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

It is always awesome to see our divers again, showing us that they really enjoyed Protea Banks ... that they visit again. We thank you for diving with us Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. We have definitely had some memorable times with you guys, you guys rock and it pleasure to dive with you. We hope to see you again for some more exciting adventures on Protea Banks. LOL ... and I think Sam is going for employee of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Well oiled diving machine. All the staff are very accommodating and meticulous in making sure you have a good experience. The weather produced some challenging conditions but the staff were very attentive and made sure we got the most out of the dive. If you want to see sharks at Protea banks, these are the guys to go with. Thank you Sam, Kym and the rest of the team.

Thank MrMuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for vising us at Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. The most challenging problem we deal with, is the weather ... and although it can be frustrating, we always appreciate it when divers see that we try and make the best out of the situation. Always a pleasure showing divers the sharks that made Protea Banks famous. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Even though it was off season and we were the only clients XXX made it work and we had one great dive – even though the sharks weren’t that plentiful we had some humback whales right NEXT to the boat – just incredible. We highly recommend this company

Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

We thank you for the review and we’re glad that you had a great time with us. It has been a privilege getting to know you and making it happen ... we look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Such a amazing experience, and great staff taking care of us to make this dive safe. Excellent dive in wonderfull environment plenty of sharks, Raggies, Zambesi, Hamerheads, black tip sharks !!! Thank you so much Aqua Planet for sharing your passion with us !!!

Thank pirlouite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tris-Kym, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter and thank you for the positive feedback. Customer service and safety are what we strive for, and we are glad that it doesn't go unnoticed. The Northern and Southern Pinnacle of Protea Banks, offer two completely different dives, so it is nice to try do both dive sites depending on the season. We look forward to many more dives with you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Planet also viewed

Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Aqua Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing