We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,797)
Filter reviews
1,797 results
Traveler rating
955
631
144
48
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
631
144
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reduit beach creole restaurant garden patio ti bannane st lucia kreole building a pool view room five minute walk main building pigeon island rodney bay area all inclusive package lovely pool friendly hotel bars and restaurants live entertainment restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,797 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Anyone who has read any of my other reviews would know of my love for the beach & beach front properties...Coco Palm Resort is not one of those, but I find it hard to think of many other places where I have had as enjoyable a stay as we had there.

My wife & I would have honeymooned in St. Lucia a little less than 5 years ago, where we stayed at another 'more reputable' hotel located not far from Coco Palm & though the service was very good, one always got the subliminal undertone observing the staff's interaction with certain other guests, that we were not their "preferred" clientele (ie) we were not North American, European or caucasian.

This was by no means the situation at Coco Palm. Our party of ten (10) Trinidadians- five (5) adults, four (4) female teenagers & one female (1) child were extended every courtesy that one can imagine & royally treated. Kudos to the entire management & staff of the organization.

Arrival & Departure:
Our flight arrived in St. Lucia at 7:50 am & upon exiting immigration, Kervin & his colleagues were on standby to transport us to the hotel. (Bear in mind that Check-In was not due until 2:00 pm). The normally 20 minute drive to the hotel took about 45 minutes due to traffic but the journey was made easily bearable by Kervin who used the opportunity to mention some of the sites worth visiting & the activities which would have been occurring during our stay, etc.
Kervin & his crew also transported us back to the airport upon our departure & the trip was equally pleasant.

Check-In:
We arrived at the hotel about 9:00 am, with our plan being to stow our luggage & proceed to the nearby beach & mall until the 2:00 pm Check-In time for our three(3) reserved rooms. The weather had a different plan though since it was raining.

This is where Carleen at Reception stepped in.
She informed us that 2 of our rooms were already prepared & that FOLLOWING BREAKFAST, we could proceed to them until the the 3rd was ready.
We had not reckoned on getting either breakfast OR lunch due to the 2:00 pm check-in, but were warmly welcomed into the Ti Banane for our meals.
As promised, after breakfast we were allowed to proceed collectively to our two rooms & before 10:30 am the 3rd room was also ready.

Rooms:
All 3 of our pool view rooms were on the 3rd floor & are well appointed, clean & equipped with all the necessary amenities- safe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, a/c, ceiling fan, cable tv & balcony overlooking the pool & there is also a sufficient supply of room towels.
Nicola, the maid for our room kept everything in ship shape every day of our stay.

I was fortunate to be in a corner room (324), which therefore had balconies on both the east (offering a mountain/village view) & north (offering a pool/bar view & glimpse of the ocean). This room is also furthest from the bar & is probably one of the quietest.

Being provided with three (3) Key Cards per room also simplified access for our group.

Initially, the Safe in our room was non functional, but a call down to the front desk soon had that sorted out with Victor from Maintenance being promptly being despatched. Again he was nothing but polite & helpful, answering a barrage of my questions on various topics about the island.

Meals:
The variety, quality & quantity of meals (appetizers, entrees, desserts & drinks) on offer would put the most fussy eater out of business. At EVERY MEAL, on EVERY DAY of our 5 day stay, there was always something(s) found to suit every palate.

Special shout out to Patricia (our Head Waitress) & Nasha (d queen of d omelette) but extra, extra special props go to Casilda (our waitress). She truly is a gem. These ladies take the term 'service with a smile' to a whole new level & are a great asset to Coco Palm.
If I were to identify one weakness in the dining area, it would be the length of time it took between being served your appetizer to getting your entree. Here is the only area where the guys in the kitchen need to improve, because other than that, the culinary experience is pure gastronomic excellence.

Bar:
Drinks & snacks at the bar were also excellent in quality & abundance. The young ladies of our group thoroughly made use of this facility. From nachos to buffalo wings, etc, nothing fell short of expectation & in most instances exceeded them.

Pool & Beach:
At its deepest, the pool is 1.2 metres (4 feet) & generally well maintained daily. It is appropriate for children, once they are tall enough or can swim.
There may be a shortage of lounge chairs & umbrellas if the hotel is booked to capacity but while we were there, it had sufficient to cater to the patrons present.

Towels are available at the Front Desk for use either at the pool and/or when going off the compound to the beach, etc.
The nearest beach is less than a 5 minute lazy stroll from the hotel. It is calm & clean, suited for small children & adults alike. Lounge chairs & umbrellas can be rented from a guy on the beach & there is also another guy who offers massages one of which my sister-in-law had & said was very good.

Location:
The hotel is also less than 5 minutes lazy stroll away from the various malls, groceries, bus hub, banks,etc located at Rodney Bay, so shopping & transport are very easy & accessible.

Entertainment & Recreation:
There was pleasant & relaxing vocal entertainment by individual artistes on most of the nights accompanying & following dinner but this is not a party & fete atmosphere.

There is also a gym on the compound, but none of our group utilized this facility.

In my opinion, the biggest shortcoming of this hotel is its lack of recreational activities, either for adults or children. The addition of a Dart Board, Table Tennis Board and/or Foosball Table, along probably with the provision of some Pool Volley-ball, would be a tremendous improvement to the quality of stay at Coco Palm.

Conclusion:
Whereas value for money & customer service is concerned, Coco Palm Resort is hard to beat & could be recommended for any family seeking a quality vacation on a budget.

Room Tip: Room 124 opens directly onto/into the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Davion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review following your stay at Coco Palm! Think this is the record for the most detailed which will no doubt help future guests appreciate exactly what Coco Palm offers.

We appreciate you taking such time and noting all the details on your visit. Most of all, we are happy you and all your party felt so welcome. As a Caribbean owned and managed hotel, we do take pride in offering the same experience to all guests no matter where you are from.

Your review certainly highlighted all that we offer and we have noted your suggestions to offer entertainment. As we are currently doing some upgrades to the property we will see if we can include some of your suggestions.

On behalf of all our Managers and Team, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

This resort was the second place we stayed. On arrival it felt like the staff were not expecting us and were quite formal.
I had planned to spend the birthday and the welcome made me regret this instantly. It took a couple of days for staff to warm to us but I must say Sean Darius and Lise were very pleasant from day one.
The bedroom was always cleaned to a high standard and the food I must say was outstanding.
There is a very close access to the beach and it would have been nice if the staff told us about it.
I had requested a ground floor room but was given a 1st floor. It would have been nice to have a balcony with space enough for chairs but there was only space to stand.
Apart from that ideally located for amenities and excursions. Would recommend if travelling with Virgin to ask virgin rep for taxi driver Lenny. He was punctual and acted as a tour guide.
I would recommend this place but as a B&B as there are plenty of local spots to eat.
Staff did not acknowledge my birthday even though they mentioned it. As I always travel for my birthday I have grown to expect this.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you for choosing Coco Palm for your holiday in Saint Lucia. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We know your kind highlights of guide future guests to make the most of their stay with us.

As you booked with VH, they primarily sell our lead in price rooms of garden and pool view which are on the 2nd and 3rd floor which do not have a balcony. As you noted, the ground floor do have spacious balconies which can be requested prior to arrival or ask upon arrival if an upgrade can be arranged which would be subject to an additional charge.

We are sorry you didn't feel welcome on arrival. Arrivals are noted but if we don't have your flight details we may not know what time. Regardless, front desk should always be expecting guests.

The beach access you are referring to is not one that your ground rep nor hotel would suggest as we prefer guests to use the more highlighted and open approach which is near Spinnakers. The entrance opposite the hotel is not a well-lit and the road is not in great condition.

Birthdays are always something special at Coco Palm so am sorry if our team missed the opportunity. I can only apologise for the team. Should any future guests be celebrating with us, do let us know at any point!

VH does offer AI which is offered to leisure guests in particular. This is very good value and covers you from the time you arrive until departure. There are various outlets in the area and we do encourage you to experience them but for what you do believe our plan is excellent value for both price and quality.

We hope your feedback will guide future guests to be all the more informed about Coco Palm.

Kind regards,
Coco Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

It's a very basic 3star hotel and not a resort due to zero activity for the kids in house, some of the staff extremely rude during breakfast, had issues with the A/c in the expensive family suite , both split unit air conditioning was struggling to cool both rooms and on the last day was just blowing hot air, despite calling for it to be sorted out when it started making rumbling noises on day 4 of our stay and a repair man came up, toyed with it but was still in effective, my daughter had rashes on her back by the time we left..the only plus I give the hotel is the Ti banane cocktail bar staff extremely friendly, warm and always engaging.
On the day of check out, requested for late check out btw 2-3pm..since flight was at 7pm, the reservation manager ,a very nasty woman with no customer service attitude rudely told me I had to pay an extra 25 US dollars, (which she calm was a discount from the 50USD)...

The experience is too numerous to recount, I just want to forget ...

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank AtariDlion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

We are sorry to read your review following your family visit to Coco Palm. Having spoken to our various heads of department, one of your two A/C units was reported and technician addressed the problem. Apologies this was not to your satisfaction.

Your positive review for the Ti Bananne bar is appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service and banter with the team serving.

As far as our check out time which complies with international hotel policies, this is traditionally 11:00 - 12:00 as we need to allow for housekeeping to prepare for the arrivals at 3pm. A late check out, subject to availability, was offered at 50% off but am sorry you felt US$25 (£20) for three-four hours extra for your family was not acceptable. Clearly, having this as your parting experience has left you disappointed in Coco Palm.

No doubt your review will remind future guests what our policies are at Coco Palm. We always try to accommodate our guests but should there be anything not to your satisfaction, we would not penalise you to move to alternative accommodation.

Wishing you happier travels,
Coco Management and Team


Wishing you happier travels,
Coco Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We had a family reunion there in July 2018 and the staff were amazing. Accommodated us in everything we wanted to do including provide lunch and staff for our boat excursion down the coast to Soufriere. Our son also has bad allergies and they ensured that he ate delicious meals for the entire stay. In particular thank you to Alva (Food & Beverage Manager) and his team for a wonderful job. Thanks to Dimitrius who came down the coast; Princess and all the staff at the bar who worked tirelessly to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. We will be sure to recommend Coco Palm Resort.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for your glowing review our Coco Palm following your family reunion! We are delighted to hear the celebrations were all the more special with our Coco Palm hospitality.

Your kind words on our team will be shared by our GM as we know they all look forward to hearing the feedback to keep doing what they do. We all take great bride and extending a warm hospitality which we are happy to hear you enjoyed.

We know your feedback on your stay will help future guests appreciate what Coco Palm offers and thank you for singing our praise!

Warm regards,
Coco Management & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Spent a week on a business trip. This was my 2nd visit to St. Lucia in 14 years. I visited while they were going through renovations. The hotel tried their best to make the experience as comfortable as possible given that they were going through renovations. The food was good and the restaurant staff were the best. I think I would definitely visit again. The only recommendation I would make would be to invest in some umbrellas. The distance from the hotel rooms to the restaurant when it rained wasn't the best experience particularly when you were on a schedule.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank Sherrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your business trip stay at Coco Palm. We appreciate your patience while we were renovating but hope you do come back to see the finished project!

We will note the umbrellas as no doubt this would make the start all the better if you are dressed for work!

Appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coco Palm for business or pleasure.

Warm regards,
Coco Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews