We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
296
128
37
9
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
296
128
37
9
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coron island tour hiking trail busuanga airport cedar cabana stayed longer minute boat ride private boat our tour guide song cabin kayak pier mangroves paradise darren fishes philippines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Really had a good time in the resort. The place itself was a wonder. They offer a variety of water activities - kayaking, paddle board, and snorkelling for free of charge and other water sports with a fee. They also have a spa indoor and outdoor (floating spa). The food was great, breakfast is included in the room charge, but since the only place where you can eat is in their restaurant I can say that the food is worth the price.

The room was nice; since we had an addtl bed so that 4pax can fit in one room, I was expecting that 2 addtl beds were just foam beds in the floor, but it was indeed a bed with a frame and still they were able to make the room spacious and comfy feeling. You can already see fishes in the morning when high tide outside your room, and the beach itself is outside.

Make sure to arrange your transfers by them for lesser hassle since from airport they will drop you in the wharf where you will take a boat going to the resort.

Staffs are really warm and do their best to assist you in your stay.

A little tip -- if you want to do the island tours/safari tours, do it first before going to the resort. They do offer island/safari tours but upon checking on their rates it's pricey compared if you stay in the Coron Town proper and do the tours first.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank everywherejoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2019

This is a great place to go if you want to disconnect. The resort has a lot of free activities like kayaking and snorkelling. There is also a great dive center at the resort, we did a Discovery dive with Nicole and really enjoyed it. The staff really went the extra mile to make our stay confortable. Note that it’s very far from the rest of the Coron destinations like Twins lagoon and the lakes if that’s what you’re seeking. Also the only way to get to the resort is the airport pickup, and you will only be able to eat in the resort, so budget for that.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank rohini965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Our stay was remarkably beautiful. We were greeted with a very endearing song upon arrival. Our cabin was indeed tidy and comfortable. The view at the resort was also heavenly! Everything here was pure bliss and relaxing. Will definitely come back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank go_arci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Do arrange for airport transfers! From the airport, you will be taking a van for around 20 minutes, then you'll be transferred to a banca/boat for a 25 minute ride to the resort. Upon arrival, you'll be greeted by a band that plays their "welcome, welcome" song and in our case, we were met by Maria (awesome gal!) who introduced the group to the resort facilities and checks you in at the bar. I booked a deluxe room, which is actually a duplex with 2 adjoining rooms, ideal for families, which accommodates 4 to a room. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. Potable water is provided upon check in, but is chargeable thereafter. Don't worry, they do provide free water too inside thermoses...and bamboo straws to each guest! Talk about environment-friendly! From the resort, one can book day trips...island hopping, Calauit island tour, scuba diving, etc. But for those who just want to chill and stay at the resort, fear not! You have so much staff to do there! From kayaking to banana boat ride to spa treatments. Once can also play volleyball, billiards, ping pong, badminton and chess at the resort...or simply bask under the sun! The resort has two pools, one is an infinity pool near the restaurant. The other is actually for diving and isn't highly recommended because it is at the other end of the resort.
In booking rooms, would suggest to go for the Cedar rooms! Awesome interior! This resort has the friendliest staff who knows you by name! Mark, one of the waiters at the resort rest was so attentive! Darren, our island hopping guide was very knowledgeable! Arjay who escorted us to Calauit island was so caring! Two thumbs up to the guys!
Now let us talk about food....simply awesome! Best tasting resort food I'ver ever had! Shangrila resorts elsewhere pale in comparison! Prices are ok with huge servings that is actually for two, and same goes for the rice! Do bring mosquito repellants (it is a tropical resort after all) It is definitely worth going back!

Room tip: Get the cedar rooms 1-4 if possible!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2019

Stayed with my wife and 2 children, 10y and 13y. Very good hospitality, well-trained staff. Very welcoming, great for children, they have special activities every day for the children. Very beautiful setting, easy transfer from the airport to the resort. Stayed in bungalow #5, the unit was a tad crowded for us but that didn't matter. Great twilight view from the balcony that became increasingly beautiful with every sip of red wine. They have 2 nice swimming pools, free water sports equipment, they provide pitchers of water on request. The gym equipment needs to replaced. Most of the equipment is dated and was not operational. We feel the buffet breakfast could use some upgrading. We also ordered off their menu and found the food to be good, their chef is good. I am giving the resort a 4 out of 5 ratings, I rarely rate a resort or hotel as a '5'. With that being said, we stayed at another resort next to Coron town that paled in comparison to El Rio y Mar Resort.

Room tip: Stayed in a fairly nice cabana (#5). Checked out a Cedar cabana, felt we needed more room, small loft, the ladder not safe for children.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews