We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Rio y Mar Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights at the resort. Almost everything was perfect-
Exceptional staff, beautiful nature, great rooms and other facilities.

The only downside is that it's very remote, so you can't get around on your own. You need to take a boat and a minivan to get anywhere and that's very expensive. And if you're not a diver there's little you can do in regards of activities.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dankpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for El Rio y Mar Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2017

This property has a beautiful location on the sliver of land between the hill and sea on the north bank of a secluded sound entering Coron Island from the sea. All units have a stunning view of perhaps 1 km direct actoss the sea to the opposite bank. Most apartments are on the first floor-some have the sea lapping beneath the rooms at high tide. And this is peaceful, wonderfully peaceful. Even the few bancas do not run their engines at full revs.

My matress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The staff responded immediately with a new one.

A new kitchen is in course of construction which may bring the resort's already highy quality food and service to further heights.

Room Tip: Those very young or over a certain age should ask for a first floor room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ROBIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Nice to be in a resort where the personnel smile and anticipate your needs! The food was very tasty and well presented! The resort is well maintained and clean. The accommodation look even better from the inside. Excellent value quality/price.
Nice special services like floating massage and beach romantic dinner.
Much better than Club Paradise nearby.

Room Tip: The 3 classes of rooms are very nice!
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucseawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

My husband and I together with our two girls were here on 6/13-6/17/17. This was our first trip to Coron. The positive reviews I've read and particularly the beachfront cabanas led us to this place. I’m glad that it did not disappoint. I made my reservations in February through the resort via email for it was not listed in any travel sites that far ahead. Reena Dizon, the reservations officer who help me with my reservation was very responsive, professional and had answered all my questions within a short period of time given the Phil-US time difference (Kudos for an excellent customer service!).
Everything went smooth. From the moment they picked us up from the airport until they drop us off, the experience was just amazing! The personalized service was top notch. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and always put on a smile. Shout out to Marjo for taking care of us and organizing a wonderful surprise birthday for my daughter (many thanks to the staff for making my daughter’s birthday extra special), Randy, our Coron Island Tour guide was very attentive and made us feel safe throughout the tour, Charm at the front desk, the staff at the spa, restaurant and boatmen - just wanted to thank you all for making our stay so much enjoyable!
I enjoyed the varieties of food selections and food presentation at the restaurant (Filipino, Western, Italian, Asian etc.). The price could be a bit pricey for locals but compared to the prices in the States, it’s very reasonable. Portion was just right and the food we ordered were all delicious. You can also ask for the merienda menu if you want some sandwiches (the Fish Karaage was our favorite).
We stayed at Cabana# 5 which had wifi and the signal was excellent. The room was clean and could fit us four comfortably (my girls each had their own twin size bed). No TV in the room?... who needs it when there’s so much to do/enjoy in the great outdoors (watching the sunset from the cabana was just amazing and we’ve seen a few fireflies at night too!). Security personnel was visible throughout our stay. There’s so much free stuff to do at the resort… kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, beach volley with the staff to name a few. We had a massage done at the floating spa and that was awesome!
This place is a piece of paradise. We truly enjoyed the peace and quiet moments here. We had a blast and wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank Kay5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

The place is a Paradise! A very relaxing resort and a unique place to spend your vacation. We enjoyed our stay and I can say that it is a trip worthwhile. Shoutout
to Darren, Marjo who took care of us. I definitely will recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LordevinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
46.2 km away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
210 reviews
25.0 km away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
23.0 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Asia Grand View Hotel
25.6 km away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
369 reviews
24.4 km away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rio y Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rio y Mar Resort

Address: San Jose, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: ₱4,457 - ₱12,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Rio y Mar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rio Y Mar Resort is the perfect haven for those seeking an escape from the urban jungle. Nestled in a beautiful tranquil bay with a breathtaking view of calm waters and rolling hills, the resort offers the perfect ambiance for romantic getaways and retreats. Guests are guaranteed of personalized service with the trademark warmth and charm of native Palawe'os. The resort also offers scuba diving, hiking, water sports and tours around Coron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rio y Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rio y Mar Hotel Coron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing