We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ashley

Gorgeous remote location with phenomenal hospitality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 9, 2019
My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 5 nights during the third week of November 2018. We feel extremely lucky and spoiled for having had the resort to ourselves for the first two days of our stay. We received phenomenal hospitality from the moment we were picked up from the ferry port until the moment we left, which turned into quite the event due to a very early departure and extremely low tides. Getting us to the airport on time required far above and beyond the normal expectations of hospitality and for these heroic efforts, we are forever grateful to Robie (Resort Manager), Ryan and all of the other staff and neighbours who assisted in accomplishing this great feat! The location is gloriously isolated and serene which is perfect for those who want to get off the grid and be in nature. We highly recommend doing the hike to top around sunset to take in the magnificent views. The food selection was wonderful and consisted of both Western and Filipino options with bespoke meals based on the daily catch. The resort is rustic with character but is undergoing renovations which will give it a face-lift. We had the added benefit of having the Marketing Manager staying at the resort for several days. He kindly escorted us on some amazing island hopping and snorkelling boat trips, enlightening us with insider tips and information. Majika Island Resort was an amazing experience we would recommend to anyone looking for something more off the beaten path and we look forward to coming back in the future!
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱11,685
  • Agoda.com
    ₱10,871
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,933
3.1 km from Majika's Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
₱5,498
₱4,804
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,498
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,034
  • Priceline
    ₱4,800
7.4 km from Majika's Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
₱18,305
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱15,605
  • Vio.com
    ₱12,154
  • Hotels.com
    ₱16,155
7.6 km from Majika's Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱3,741
  • Vio.com
    ₱2,484
  • StayForLong
10.3 km from Majika's Island Resort
Restaurant
Room service
The Seaview Twin Room at the Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
₱2,907
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,227
  • Priceline
    ₱2,361
11.9 km from Majika's Island Resort
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱1,569
  • Priceline
    ₱1,429
  • Trip.com
    ₱2,129
11.9 km from Majika's Island Resort
Free parking
Fitness center
12.2 km from Majika's Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
12.0 km from Majika's Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
12.3 km from Majika's Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Apo Island
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
110
66
9
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
110
66
9
5
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 199 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

It is our 15th wedding anniversary so I decided to surprise my wife and fly to Coron. I know that there are lots of new place to stay there since Boracay was closed a few months ago. But I preferred to be close to nature as possible to give me and my wife a relaxed and well rested vacation.

Majika did it!

Food and staff was great. Tours was customized to our needs. It was just one of the best trips we had. Im so happy to choose Majika Island Resort as our getaway. Our trek on the Hill behind the resort was just awesome. We kayaked by ourselves on one of Coron's best coral reef. Yes just in front of us. Enjoyed snorkling. Yes they have SUP (standup padel) and clear bottom kayaks and that pedal boat. It was just fun!

Highly recommended! Just go and visit the resort to get the magic of Majika! 😊

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Joey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

So I gave this place 2 stars. I wish I could give it more. First let’s start with the good...
1.The staff is great and tries hard.
2. The island is secluded so if that’s what you are looking for then you are going to get just that
Now the bad...
1. No electricity and hot water from 5am-6pm
1. Many many mosquitos and bugs that somehow manage to get in the room
2. Pool that is not full or clean
3. Decent food but nothing spectacular
4. Same for coral reef nearby, nothing spectacular
5. Can’t really swim in beach because of jelly fish
6. Rooms are very basic and need updating - def not at a level of a 3 star hotel
All the attractions of Coron (twin lagoon, islands, lakes) are very far away, boat and car.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
7  Thank 83orene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We visited there during some recent renovations and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing friendly atmosphere of the place. Robi and Gimar (spell) were simply great hosts, and Robi made us the best Kinilaw we found anywhere in Coron. The resort has an amazing location that is just a short paddleboard ride over to Sangat Island... we saw the most wonderful healthy reef system flourishing around the entire area and must say it was the best we saw in our three weeks traveling around the Busuanga and Coron islands. It is not a resort for everyone however... no electricity between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m., no internet, and in serious need of upgrading. The pool was being built as we stayed there and looks like it will be a nice new addition for when we return. This place has the potential to be the most fantastic place to stay in Busuanga and I hope that the investment in the property continues so that in the future we can come back and stay for longer periods of time.
Thank you Robi, we will be in touch soon! For all of you looking for a truly genuine island family type hospitality experience, with simple accommodations, and great local homemade food, I encourage you to visit Magika’s.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank fashionphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

Majika Island was very very special, the houses are primitive but okay the location is impressive and beautiful and the boattours are fantastic. The sunset walking was amazing. They bring you to the most beautiful corals, lagoons and where ever you want. All the people are so friendly and helpful. The food is good and there is a great great hospitality. Robbi the manager thank you so much again for helping us to bring our luggage back and for organising the wonderful christmas evening, it is a great memory!!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annemarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

The accommodation is very primitive, but because of the high service and very friendly staff and beautiful nature around the resort, I would recommend this place to all my friends. Meals are served buffet style and are delicious.

I really liked this resort because of the amazing hospitality and beautiful location. Robi and the rest of Majika's team did everything to make our stay unforgettable and we are very thankful for that.

Also the tours they offer are very nice. We did the Coron Bay tour and it was amazing because of the beautiful nature, and we had our own private boat from the resort.
The Bintuan Marine Park tour which is offered for free is also beautiful, they take you to the best snorkeling places is Coron.

The charm of this resort compared to other resorts is the personal connection you have with the staff. The cottages are very simple, but who needs a nice house when everything outside is so beautiful.

Thank you again Robi and the Majika staf for making our stay so great.
Also thank you for having us at the Majika Christmas Party, which was for us a very nice way to get in touch with locals.
Wish you all the best, take care! Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurientje12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews