We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice mountain and river views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sarrat
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice mountain and river views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2016

GOOD: Rooms are basic but clean. There's a very quaint souvenir corner selling, great quality goods from the local community.There's lots of toilets in all the public areas. The staff was polite and nice to guests.
IMPROVEMENTS: Hotel needs more character, It says resort, but it was just based on the infinity pool, no other amenities (spa,gym,massage,salon) and activities to do here. A cereal breakfast took 15 minutes to arrive and was too pricey. Our balcony and the hallway where we were booked at the 3rd floor smelled like cigarette smoke, which was a big turn off. At the poolside, there was very loud off key karaoke singing from the neighbour next door. They charge extra for towels to use at the poolside so you have to bring down your room towels when you go swimming.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the riverside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights during a visit to Laoag and Sarrat. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the food good, the staff courteous and mostly efficient; it's a new hotel so they are still learning to be proactive. The swimming pool is nice and refreshing and well maintained. And the location, right on the river is lovely. Most of the time the river is slow and not very full. We were there during a typhoon which made it a real river. Would definitely stay again.

A recommendation to the hotel: provide towels at the pool instead of having guests bring their towels from the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 282ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2016

PROS:
- Rooms are spacious and clean; there were 5 of us in each room and they were able to provide 3 extra single-sized mattresses per room. Rooms are cleaned and serviced by request.
- Beds are VERY comfortable to sleep with. We had a snorefest when we stayed there!
- Very nice infinity pool overlooking Padsan River.
- Hotel has a modern feel to it. Lobby is also very spacious.
- Very accommodating and honest staff. I left my mobile phone upon checkout and returned it to me before we left. They were very attentive to our needs as well.
- Plated breakfast is okay, consists of a Filipino viand (Ilocos longganisa, tocino, fried milkfish, etc), 2 eggs, some few fruit slices and garlic rice, or bread and eggs and fruit. Lunch and dinner is also okay with decent choices but a bit expensive (but this is a given in any hotels anyway)

CONS:
- Hotel is quite far from any city or town. Better stock up on everything you want or need before spending your night here, especially if you're not going there by your own car. Nearby sari-sari store and bar at the lobby closes by 8 or 9 as well.
- Wi-fi coverage is only at the lobby and the restaurant.
- Toilet and bath needs a bit of maintenance -- Water is already seeping out from the sliding glass door between the toilet and bath area when taking a bath. Trash bin is only available inside the bathroom as well (or we just didn't request for a trash can lol)

Will I recommend this hotel to others? For those conducting their team building activities and seminars, as well as those who just want some peace and quiet, definitely yes. But for those who are looking for a hotel easily accessible to some places like stores, or tourist places, etc... Maybe not.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the river for more peace and quiet... And a nice romantic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2016

Hotel was far from Laoag City, good thing a trike driver led the way.

Hotel has modern feel. Rooms were huge, beds were very comfortable. Toilet, standard with amenities. Infinity pool overlooking the river. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

No Wifi inside room, have to go to reception area.
Plated breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
590 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2016

Got off to a bad start when the transport the hotel agreed to provide to collect us at Laoag Airport failed to turn up. My secretary called the hotel (albeit 30 minutes after we had arrived) and was told it was on its way, so please wait. We waited another 40 minutes and still no hotel transport – the moral of the tale – don’t entrust this hotel to arrange your transport from the airport. Found our own transportation after we had been waiting an hour or so and proceeded to the hotel. This looked a very nice hotel located some 11 kms from Sarrat itself. I believe the hotel was opened last year. It is situated on the banks of the Padsan River. The hotel is picturesque with nice outdoor seating overlooking the river. The rooms are clean and specious, but maybe a bit sparse with insufficient furniture. There was a very nice balcony on my room, but only one chair inside the room, and none on the balcony. No table on the balcony either. The rooms were of a decent size, and were well serviced daily. Rooms were clean. I thought the room had a mini-bar, but alas it had nothing inside, which I guess makes it a fridge. The river is peaceful and relaxing – it was interesting to watch the wildlife, and people working and children playing in the river. In the dry season, crops are grown on dry patches in the river which obviously flood over when the rain comes. This led me to respect the Filipino ingenuity at utilising these areas. There is of course fishing going on also.

Food was average in the restaurant, which was incidentally the best place to receive wifi. There is no wifi in the rooms. Breakfast did offer a good selection – Filipino or Western, but there was no buffet as reported in an earlier TA report.

The bar is a nice place to sit, or the hotels nipper huts down at the riverside. The call mechanism doesn’t work however, and you have to go up the steps each time to the bar for service. One evening we returned to the hotel at 10.05 pm, and went to the bar looking for a drink as it had been a hot day. Despite the bar staff still being at the bar they insisted that they stop serving at 10pm. So, that lead me to believe that the hotel maybe is not so service orientated or friendly. The bar staff lack the positive attitude of ‘can do’ that seems to be a regular feature of Filipino hospitality.

There is no safe deposit box in the rooms which is a must in the Philippines.

The hotel has an excellent infinity pool overlooking the river, complete with its own waterfall. That is very nice to relax and watch the river from.

The location being so far away has been criticised by some in TA, but I found that a positive aspect, enhancing the tranquillity of the location. We hired a car with a driver (the same one we found at the airport) for PHP 3000 per day – the car was ‘adequate’ and the driver had good knowledge of the area, and took us to the points of interest. The area of Sarrat and Laoag is truly spectacular, and I’m sure the drivers local expertise (and our reading points of interest on TA) added to our maximising our time there.

All in all it was an excellent stay and I enjoyed my time at the hotel. That said it looks as though it may have been put together and the money has run out – short of furniture and no wifi in rooms etc. Staff attitude may need to improve – more focus on ‘can do’, but I would stay here again – bring some beer to, so I can stock my own mini bar. Nice décor in public areas. Lift in working order. Good parking in the front of the hotel. There are no shops for miles so if you want snacks etc, bring with you when you go out for the day. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for Riverview Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarrat
22.1 km away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
11.4 km away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
12.6 km away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.7 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
11.5 km away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
53.5 km away
Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivermount Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermount Hotel and Resort

Property: Rivermount Hotel and Resort
Address: Barangay 18, San Isidro, Sarrat, Luzon 1700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Sarrat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sarrat
Price range (per night): ₱2,293 - ₱6,432
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rivermount Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rivermount Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing