We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Dr.ordered”
Review of The Craven Arms

The Craven Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely atmosphere, attentive staff but not overbearing and a great menu. We shared Spam fritters for starter-what a blast from the past ! Will definitely recommend .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for dinner this evening (3 April) and booked in advance - we are staying local in a nearby cottage. We all ordered the special “slow cooked lamb” and were not disappointed - really delicious, well presented and would happily have it again. Pub is family friendly and very welcoming, so much so, we’re booked again on Friday!!

Thank CHARLTONx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying nearby so popped in for a bar meal. Lovely Cotswolds pub. Friendly service. Welcoming log fire on a cold and wet March evening. Tasty mushroom soup. Lamb special pronounced very good though the battered haddock was undercooked; in fact raw in the middle, which was disappointing. Otherwise would have been a 4* review.

1  Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your meal apart from the fish, it was bought to our attention at the time and we did apologies and redo also complimentary drinks, so diasappointed you didn't take that into account. Our fish is fresh and cooked to order, so again apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very welcoming , lovely old pub with good beers and food. Has a wonderful feel about it and is very friendly.

Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

Had a meal here with 9 friends out walking yesterday, very good food indeed with nice beers and delightful service. Excellent value I would happily eat here again. Do try it!

Thank Cliodna Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craven Arms also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Guiting Power, Cheltenham
 

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing