We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pastries, coffee and a baguette to die for”

Gontran Cherrier Artisan Boulangerie
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The croissants are the best I have had since being in France and the same goes for the baguette.I cant wait to go back this weekend and taste more.Everything we tried was amazing.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j0b28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2016

It has only been operating for a week but it was full on a Saturday morning . The pastries and bread were excellent but very expensive. It has a name from Paris and some 20 other locations around the world including Germany, Japan (Shinjuku) and Korea. $A12.00 seems a little over the top for a loaf of bread and a Baguette that would cost Yen 300 in Shinjuku was over $A 5.00. Despite that it was a good place, a little chaotic despite the large number of staff which one can expect to improve over time. if you want good French pastries try this place but expect to pay.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Top French baker and pastry producer adding Melbourne to his portfolio. Good croissants, interesting well made pastries but only OK baguettes.....his traditional version [ I am assuming he's going for a classic Baguette L'ancienne ] lacks the structure and chewiness of the best Paris versions, though it's better than most.
The Croque Monsieur we ordered used superior ingredients and was very generous. All the other dishes going out on what is an innovative menu also looked excellent.
Adequate coffee and friendly, if still somewhat unfocused service makes this a newcomer with real potential.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank detman2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This place has just opened and is a wonderful patisserie and cafe. I ate here with a French friend for brunch and we were delighted with the food.

The decor is modern and fresh, plenty of seating and room to enjoy the company of your friends without being squashed. The menu has a variety of traditional French and Australian choices. We opted for the quiche Lorraine, croissants and pain perdu. All lovely and well presented. There is a range of French teas available, as well as plenty of other beverage options.

At the end of the meal, we were able to wander over to the patisserie section to purchase from a wonderful selection of French beads and traditional pastries, including cannelés, which you so rarely see here.

A lovely spot for a good catch up with friends.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NatalieM360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

bravo gontran for opening this satellite bakery-cafe in melbourne, following france, japan, south korea.

opening day was massive - crowds upon crowds packed tight at the door to nab a table. we headed to the bakery counter for takeaway, waited 20 minutes to be served as people kept cutting in, jumping queue. there was many staff but the demand was overwhelming.

finally, we managed to grab a squid ink bun, a baguette and a gateau basque - a rich chocolate mousse tarte. paid for it, came outside and i realised i had just paid $32 for these three items! went back inside, waited another 15 minutes for the staff i interacted with to finish with her client. it was chaotic with a wall of people pressing forward. the girl didn't know how to do a refund and she looked so stressed, i began to feel sorry for her. i would be leaving soon, but she wouldn't be able to untill day end. horror!

a manager came to our rescue and we discovered that i was charged for the whole cake instead of slice of gateau basque. after a few hiccups opening the rego, i was reimbursed, although a bit piqued, humoured restored, came home.

yes, all pastry here is made of french butter and flour. the verdict? gateau basque looked muddily dark and rich but the taste was a let down by the hard short crust pastry and insipid mousse. baquette is the type with a very hard crust, i prefer light ones, but the center was beautiful and spongy. i like the jet black squid ink bun, it tasted like a brioche, would be nice with cottage cheese or ricotta.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Food
Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gontran Cherrier Artisan Boulangerie also viewed

 
Collingwood, Yarra
Collingwood, Yarra
 
Collingwood, Yarra
Collingwood, Yarra
 

Been to Gontran Cherrier Artisan Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing