We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Balai sa Baibai(Mambajao)
US$90
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
89
30
15
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
30
15
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbeachfront villasmall islandbelow expectationsthe cottageshomemade breadstayed nightsrelaxing placeamazing placewhite islandgabrielalfiehammocksyogahousereefresortphilippines
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 156 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We were looking for something different... we found it here. The room was simple but perfect, good air-con; clean, en-suite bathroom; comfortable, large bed. The food on the island can be a bit below expectations... that is not true at the Volcan. Excellent food all day! Gabriel, the owner is often on hand to help build the adventure or relaxation you need. He brings groups together if necessary, which certainly is better for a guided hike. The resort is small, only about 10 rooms/cottages. There is a spa for massages any time of day. The speciality is for diving. We are not divers and never got the chance to try, however, snorkelling gear is also available to use off the hotel beach (rocky) or to take to other areas of the island. Scooter hire is the best way to see the whole island, with many recommendations for where to go. Day excursions are organised to Mantigue and White Islands with guided hikes all setting off from the hotel.

I would definitely come back here... if it wasn't 40 hours travelling from home!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanBeachResort, General Manager at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Good day and Thank you so much for the great feedback!

It is always heart-warming to hear of positive guest experiences and we couldn't be happier to know that you had a memorable stay. We are overwhelmed with your gracious words, they are fulfilling and inspiring.
We are also very glad you enjoyed our food, the furnishing of our rooms, the various facilities and activities we offer as we aim to keep our guests happily busy when in our resort. On behalf of the Management and the whole staff team, please accept our heartfelt appreciation.

The Resort is constantly improving its facilities and services, rest assured that we at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort adhere to our commitment to consistently share with our guests a warm and genuine Camiguino hospitality experience.

Thank you for the 5-star rating and for highly recommending Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort. We already look forward to welcoming you in the future, even it is 40 hours from your home away.

Warm regards from Camiguin
Sabine Fien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

First off, the ambient in Volcan Beach is just perfect when you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle in the city. The owners care so much preserving the nature and how their resort is built reflects it overall. The atmosphere at the resort is so relaxing and the resort is beautiful. The owners of the resort are there very often and are so accommodating and friendly as well. The prices are very reasonable.

The food they have is amazing, top quality. We decided to just eat every meal the whole time we were there at their resort. Every dinner they have something different in the menu. The people who work there are very positive and friendly too. (Debbie, the chef is the best.)
The guides (Alfie is one them) they send on the tours truly care and your safety is their top priority. The tours have so much to do and the lunches they prepare for the tours taste wonderful. We did two tours and very pleased on both tours.

And oh, I’ve never liked pillows at any hotel or resort, but I loved their pillows here. They were so soft and fluffy! I forgot to ask Sabine where she got them .

Bottom line, when the owners are hands on and take good care of their employees, it reflects the employees attitude and workmanship. We’ll see you all again very SOON .

Best regards,
Greg, Cherry & Family

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Chings H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanBeachResort, General Manager at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Greg & Cherry,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Great that you liked the relaxed atmosphere and ambiance of our resort and enjoyed the excellent food as well as the tours we offer.
The whole Team makes every effort in providing our guests with the best possible customer service, superior amenities and with a clean, comfortable room.

The Resort is constantly improving its facilities and services, rest assured that we at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort adhere to our commitment to consistently share with our guests a warm and genuine Camiguino hospitality experience.

We appreciate your kind sentiments and photos. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward already to creating more lovely memories with you and your family!

Warm regards
Sabine Fien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Did you ever wonder why aren't they any picture of the shower room/toilets?

So did we. We are on our honeymoon. We calld the resort specially!! to ask about the room and the bathroom because me wife is very meticulous about cleaning and privacy

First of all - the resort is beautiful(rooms are not so nice though) and the staff is nice

When we found out that there is no door to the bathroom/shower (see attached pictures) we stayed for one night and asked for refunded for the second night because we switched hotel.

The owner didn't want to refund us even some of the money. Didn't help that we said that you can't tell when you order the resort about the room (no pictures of the toilet - deliberately... That's why we calld..)
I would call it a deliberate Missleding of the customer but I guess the owner thinks 2000 pesos is worth more then his reputation/future customers...

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
12  Thank jhon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanBeachResort, General Manager at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear John S,
Thank you very much for staying in our resort and that you took the time to share your experience. We are glad that you actually appreciate the good location and appearance of Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, as well our friendly staff that made your stay worthwhile. Therefore we are truly sorry you did not find our rooms satisfactory.
The Resort is constantly improving its facilities and services, rest assured that we at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort adhere to our commitment to consistently share with our guests a warm and genuine Camiguino hospitality experience.

Sincerely,
Sabine Fien
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The place was totally cool if you're looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. Staff were courteous. I really love how the whole place was designed. The view was priceless. The cabanas were clean with hot water, fresh towels though i would love to have a small mini bar so guests can prepare and enjoy coffee/tea on their own at any time. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 9 would have the best view of the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemsan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanBeachResort, General Manager at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Jemsan, Thank you very much for staying in our resort and that you took the time to share your experience.
We are glad that you appreciate the good fittings, great location and views of Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, as well our friendly staff that made your stay worthwhile.
The Resort is constantly improving its facilities and services, rest assured that we at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort adhere to our commitment to consistently share with our guests a warm and genuine Camiguino hospitality experience.
Thank you for the 5-star rating. We already look forward to welcome you back in the resort in the near future.

Witk kind regards,
Sabine Fien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with my family... there were 16 of us! The staff were highly accommodating and very courteous... breakfast was good too.
We loved the grounds and where the villas were situated. It has it's own waterfront but unfortunately...there is no beach where the kids can swim. But afterall... it is a dive resort. The grounds are well maintained and very relaxing.
The rooms itself were clean AND spacious. We booked 5 villas all in all and one of them was the beach villa. The beachfront villa was beautiful!! However, this is a non-aircon room so in the end we decided to change rooms.
The only downside i guess is the airconditioning. The position of the aircon was not conducive to cooling the whole villa. So that, you don't get maximum cooling which was important for us. Hopefully this will be addressed.
Overall, bar the airconditiining, this place was great.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Czarina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanBeachResort, Inhaber at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Czarina,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our whole team makes every effort in providing our guests with the best possible customer service, superior amenities and with a clean, comfortable room.
The Resort is constantly improving its facilities and services, rest assured that we at Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort adhere to our commitment to consistently share with our guests a warm and genuine Camiguino hospitality experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to creating more lovely memories with you and your family!

Warm regards
Sabine Fien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews