We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
US$48
US$26
View deal
Booking.comUS$48
Agoda.comUS$26
TripadvisorUS$26
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
26
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
26
7
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2019

We booked at The View Hotel and RESTAURANT thru Agoda and somewhat foolishly believed the listed facilities and previous reviews, what fools we were!

Upon our arrival we found ourselves greeted by a large hand written notice on the door 'RESTAURANT CLOSED', what we were to subsequently learn is that we were in, effectively, a hillside fortress pretty much in the middle of nowhere with, literally, our only means of escape being to rent one of their motor scooters for PHP350 a day just to be able to eat.

They advertise free breakfasts, when in fact breakfast is not free because we paid for it in an increased room rate that incorporated it, yet the nearest that a westerner can get to a free recognised breakfast is eggs on toast, and don't expect the eggs to be cooked as per choice, my 'easy over' eggs arrived some 60% solidified and, thereafter, supposedly, 'sunny side up' eggs were arriving some 90% solidified, they cannot even cook an egg! The served coffee is goddam awful instant coffee, they advertise such items as bacon, ham, brewed coffee etc. but these need to be paid for, they are not included in any of the choices of 'free breakfasts'.

And on to their Agoda listed details and features of our Superior King Room included::

DVD/CD Player
Wireless Internet
Air Conditioning
Blackout Curtains
Wake-Up Service
Alarm Clock
Tea/Coffee Maker
Free Bottled Water
Desk
Clothes Rack
Ironing Facilities

Accordingly, with these and other listed details and features, we were duped in to believing that we were destined for a few days of luxury, how wrong we were, allow me to clarify these above listed details and features:

DVD/CD Player:
Non existent

Wireless Internet:
Non existent, upon our check-in we were informed that WiFi is only available upstairs in the public area but even that was an economy of the truth, any signal was hit and miss if at all, during our first full day there it took us some five hours just to book some flights online but thereafter we didn't have a signal for more than a few minutes at any time and we didn't even manage to browse and book an onward hotel room during two days of trying.

Air Conditioning:
Totally inadequate, they list their rooms as being 42sqm yet the air conditioning unit is just a mere 0.8HP, a Google search can identify 0.8HP is totally inadequate for such a large room, I'd suggest at least 1.5HP to be needed. We checked-in at 4pm of an afternoon and with their pathetic 0.8HP unit's compressor going non-stop it still hadn't managed to sufficiently cool the room by the next morning.

Blackout Curtains:
Beautiful and black-lined curtains they may be but they are far from 'blackout' with the morning sun shining through and waking me up of a morning.

Wake-Up Service:
Non existent

Alarm Clock:
Non Existent

Tea/Coffee Maker:
Non Existent

Free Bottled Water:
Non Existent

Desk:
Yes there is a desk in the room, it supports the television and digi box and is therefore not available for use as a work desk.

Clothes Rack:
Non Existent

Ironing Facilities
Non Existent

To suggest that 'The View Hotel and Restaurant' fraudulently advertise would be an understatement in the extreme and to add insult to injury after two days with barely a WiFi signal we got a signal, a good signal, just in time for a power outage to power-off the router with The View not having and/or providing back-up generator power and with the toilet and shower both being in a room without a window we couldn't even go for a pee!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phileas_Fogg_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights after his Mayana Uphill Challenge in Bohol.

Took ferry from Jagna to Balbagon Port that left at 1 p.m. Ferry ride was 3.5 hours & we arrived 4:30 p.m in Camiguin Island. Our host Ms. May arranged for a multicab to pick us up from port. We paid P250 for the pick up.

Once we got to hotel, check in was quick. I just filled out an info sheet & we were taken to our room. We occupied Rm 1 & boy, it was the biggest room we have ever occupied in all our road trips. It is really quiet in our accommodation being far away from highway.

Our bed, California King can actually sleep 4 people. It was comfortable & sheets were clean. We even had a 2-seater wick seater inside our room. The floors were immaculately clean too.

There was even a ceiling fan to help the air conditioning as it really gets too hot during day time. Television set has many channels to choose from depending on what u want to watch.

In addition, bathroom was also big & there was built in cabinet to hang clothes. Shower & toilet was separate from powder room. Oh they have a good working BIDET.

We also rented a scooter to go around the island & check to see various famous sights. We paid P400 for a 24 hour bike rental & put gas of P200 for full tank.

Plated breakfast was included in our room accommodation. They offer a wide variety to choose from their menu & their pancakes were killer (soft & fluffy with banana slices & a dash of cinnamon & chocolate powder.

The owner, Ms May help us with suggestions on whr to eat. I did my assignment as well & earmarked eating at Guerreros while in the island.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended either for couples, group of friends or families.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank steph_amorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

We've been travelling for five months now and this is the first place we've gone to where we really feel at home. May was so welcoming, she showed us what there is to do on the island and what people enjoy most which was so helpful because if we went by Google we would not have gone to half the places! The hotel is cosy, spotlessly clean, the rooms are HUGE, the bed is so comfy with big fluffy pillows and the shower is warm. We were able to rent a bike which made getting around the island super easy. The location was perfect wherever you stay on the island you will need to drive to restaurants/things to do as they are all dotted around, but here you get there comfort of home with a gorgeous countryside view. They also have chess and a pool table and dogs. We wish we could come back already!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Roseprinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

I’m staying in the view and restaurant with a friend of mine. We are staying here for a little two weeks. The accomodation is very clean. It has a nice owner who is trying to help with everything. His wife is one of the sweetest women we met in the Phillipines. She can explain everything. From suggestions to climb Hibok Hibok to finding a new nailclipper in Mambajao Downtown. We really appreciate the help, at the second night our airconitioning broke and we got a room change immidiately. A few days the balcony light didn’t work anymore, they fixed it within like an hour or so after letting them know. The swimmingpool is big enough and not quite busy. Most of the time we can use it for ourselfs. The hotel is just 5 min from Downtown on the motorcycle. Perfect location for rest and relaxing. Every morning there are a plenty of choices for your included breakfast. We choose the pancakes because they are to delicious. Absolutely recommended to backpackers, especially for this price.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Baslatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

I’ve visited TheView hotel with my friend Bas for 13 nights. It is a very clean hotel with luxurious rooms. The owner of the hotel is a really nice guy and helped us with all our questions and problems. Ones the airco broke and we directly got a room transfer so we would not have to wait till they could get the airco repaired. His wife is also very sweet, she is so kindhearted and willing to help you any time. The breakfast is included and there is a lot of choice. Would really recommend this place to others, one of the best places we have stayed at in the Phillippines!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews