We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supposed to be a great chipper”

The Bay Fish & Chips
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Supposed to be a great chipper -
Indeed
We are both in our eighties and don’t have mobile internet to be turned away saying internet orders only. Honestly what’s that all about ? We only wanted chips and maybe some pleasant service.
Major Ego trip I’d say !!! Anyway good service at nearby Carron

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 231fraserm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Delicious fish and chips which we enjoyed after a long coastal walk sat on a bench looking at the sea- yum.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 November 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our food from The Bay - piping hot and very fresh! The app was really easy to use when pre-ordering and collection was very efficient and friendly! Thank you for a lovely meal.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank CSScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

Came back since our last visit was awesome. Omg so dissapointing.... onion rings were cold and over cooked. Mushy peas cool. Meagre portions for regular fish and small fish. ( half of what anywhere else would call a portion). Such a pity as we have been raving about this place but not now. I know covid has a lot to answer for but come on guys. This is an absolute treat.... but this time I'm sorry it wasn't.

Date of visit: November 2020
5  Thank janemr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Bay, we are from Scotland on a staycation, NOT A TOURIST! My local chippy in Bathgate does better fish and chips, was looking forward to 'the best in scotland' sooooooo disappointed, 7 bits of scampi from farmfoods, tartar from a tin wifes fish and chips pathetic, should be fat and meaty, so not. YOU WILL GO ONCE AND NEVER RETURN. You are well above your station in a very bad way, just because you serve tourists isn't good enough, not proud you are scottish, VERY PISSED OFF, you should be proud of what you are serving, bow your heads in shame. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alanstableth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Bay Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.