We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good resort with a huge problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Busuanga Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A very good resort with a huge problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017

BBL (short) tries hard to be the perfect getaway resort in the Pinoy archipelago. Perfect setting, spacey well kept rooms, spa, infinity pool, dual restaurants and quite a selection of excursions and water sports. Then there is the Internet problem. The resort has one single satellit subscription with the bandwidth of a crumpled straw. Probably not a problem if you're over 55, but as a young professional you will find this extremely frustrating over the course of only a couple of days.

Food preparation is a bit uninspiring at times but other than that there is nothing to complain about. Don't forget to bring cash though. The resort accepts credit cards (when the Internet feels like working) but there are other venues outside the resort that only takes cash.

Room Tip: The hilltop suites are to prefer unless you're a big family. Then go for one of the three villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL_OM, Manager at Busuanga Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Arneby,

Thank you for providing us feedback about your stay. It is good to know you found our facilities and services to your liking. And we apologized for the internet problems you had encountered during your stay. We had exerted various efforts to improve this service and we hope it will soon get better.

Best Regards,

Busuanga Bay Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
97
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2017

I spent 4 nights here and while I enjoyed it they are missing out on making it a great hotel. Position, rooms and restaurant are amazing but the restaurant needs fans from the ceiling. The staff seemed robotic and the authentic and amazing service you receive throughout the Phillipines was unfortunately lacking. It was like the manager was on holidays and the staff were just going through the motions. No one picked me up at an arranged pick up and the phone would not ring for almost an hour. I enjoyed the stay as I wanted a relaxing time to finish my amazing stay in the Philipinnes and I got it but they could easily make this a special place with a shake up of service.

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2017

Rooms are clean and well-equipped, surroundings are peaceful. TV even offers different cartoon movies, among others which is a big help to entertain kids indoors.

Restaurant food is overall delicious but can be pricey. Service can be better. You almost always have to call the attention of the waitstaff for more water/to take your order/remove used dishes, etc.

Prices for boat tours are well beyond the usual town rates. BBL charges Php5000/pax while boat tours in town will charge only Php5000/day, for a boat good for up to 12 pax! While 5000/day is exclusive of food and entrance fees to islands, going via boat tour companies will save you and your group an arm and a leg. Grab boat tour vouchers when you arrive at the airport or book a trip to Coron town and find yourself a boat tour company there.

There are no perks for longstaying guests in this resort, unlike in others.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diaryofadesertfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

After two weeks of touring and adventuring all over the Philippines we spent 10 relaxing days at the Basuanga Bay Lodge. A beautiful resort with great views from the infinity pool. Keep in mind that if you book a seaside room you'll have a bit of a climb up to the restaurant or you can give the front desk a call and they'll drive you up with the golf cart.

I recommend a kayak paddle to the mangroves or booking a speedboat island hoping tour. Although the outrigger boats are a fine ride, it's worth the extra cost of the speedboats due to the relatively long ride.

The staff here is what made our stay most memorable. Always friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

The BBL is a remote hideaway about 1 hr by car from Coron town. On your way there we passed beautiful lush rice fields and cattle farms. The road was windy and our driver drove quite fast, some roads were unsealed and flooded.
The positives: beautiful, exclusive, peaceful. Service was top notched, staff was courteous and helpful. There were only 4 other guests, we had the place almost to ourselves. Food was excellent, room was spacious and well appointed. The view from the lobby and pool were absolutely gorgeous and so serene. Spa treatment was excellent, although they were unprepared for our appointment ( communication break down ) . Pool was absolutely divine.
The negatives: "beach" is narrow, rocky , unsuitable for swimming due to box jelly fish etc. Marina/ beach staff was lazy, reluctant to get the banana boats out, rubbish left lying about. We didn't meet the manager, days off? We went to Cay's Island, nothing much there, if we didn't ask, there would not be any beach games ( as advertised), current was quite strong , hard to snorkel.
Recommendation: if you would like a quiet hideaway, this is the place. Take the seaplane if you would like to avoid the hair raising drive.

Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL_OM, Manager at Busuanga Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear ClassyOZ,

Thank you for writing us this review. It is good to know you enjoyed the exclusivity of the resort. We would also like to apologize for our shortcomings like your spa appointment and fast driving during your transfers. We had already speak to our staffs about this.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Busuanga Bay Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concepcion
32.4 km away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
12.1 km away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
23.5 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
25.2 km away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
23.7 km away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busuanga Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busuanga Bay Lodge

Property: Busuanga Bay Lodge
Address: Sito Lawi, Concepcion, Busuanga Island 5317, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Concepcion
Price range (per night): ₱9,672 - ₱21,389
Hotel Class:5 star — Busuanga Bay Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Busuanga Bay Lodge, Palawan Resort is part of the integrated resort enclave in Busuanga, Coron, Palawan called Puerto del Sol. We are located in the southwestern part of Busuanga Island, in northern Palawan. You can easily escape from the pressures of city living by a 45-minute flight from key hubs like Manila, Cebu, and Davao - or by an even shorter flight from the provincial capital of Puerto Princesa. Busuanga is rich in biodiversity, and so the resort was envisioned to promote and support such a beautiful natural community. The Bermuda-inspired architecture and the name of our boutique getaway are from the developer's desire to initially create a fishing retreat. However, this activity is only one of many that Busuanga has to offer. Renewable energy and sustainable design are among the key thrusts in the development. Indeed, we have created an oasis in this semi-remote part of Busuanga Island in Palawan by ensuring that guests can enjoy all the modern conveniences onsite as well as have the easiest access to luxury adventures in the area's on-land and underwater attractions. Inside the resort, guests will be pampered with luxurious Spa Services and offered an extensive wine selection from the in-house Wine Cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Busuanga Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing