We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$108
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.comUS$108
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$108
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
326
80
17
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
326
80
17
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town garden route hidden gem tucked away fruit trees following morning plettenberg bay wine stop vineyard accommodation estate cottage vegetables supper hospitality bicycles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2021

Our overnight stay at De Doornkraal Vinotel was without doubt one of the most pleasant experiences of any overnight stay anywhere in the country. The service was excellent with the staff more than eager to please and walk the extra mile. The food was top drawer - Eleane Peyper is an outstanding chef, and the wine tasting was delightful. The wine too was excellent and my car was quite a bit heavier when we left. Having travelled extensively both locally and overseas , and planning to travel a lot more in future, De Doornkraal Vinotel has set the bar very high. The only very slight improvement which could be made is in explaining the location. The one way street setup in Riversdale doesn't help in finding this great hotel.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guide67696301914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

A delightful small hotel with friendly staff, helpful and interesting. We arrived later than expected but were welcomed with open arms and although the kitchen closed at 20:00 we were accommodated with a delicious steak and vegetables. Lovely wine from the estate ! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom generous. Quiet area and very well maintained. We will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LuzetteEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

De Doornkraal is a beautiful property. The single room Cape Dutch homestead is clean, well appointed and set in a lovely quiet garden. The restaurant on the property serves great food too. So worth a stay over.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stephnea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

Ive stayed in Riversdale a few times, THEN... i found this gem.. friendly staff.. great accommodation, fantastic kitchen.. (food was great).. pool, nice gardens,, quiet to sleep.. lock up parking at the back...
NB.. Aircon in the rooms would be just the perfect thing.. it was very hot when we were there

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Skaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2021

The staff of this hotel went above and beyond to make our stay her as comfortable and memorable as they could. We were travelling on bicycles and they accommodated us with a place to was our bikes as well as a safe overnight storage area.

The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped with the exception of aircons and fans. We had a superb dinner in their restaurant and an equally good breakfast the following morning. I would recommend this venue to anyone!

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Hambly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews