We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday lunch”
Review of Plough & Harrow

Plough & Harrow
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Aldridge
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Plough & Harrow serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

daughters birthday lunch on Easter sunday. Excellent service , atmosphere and food coulf not be faulted Highly recommended Already booked for 18/20 of us for my birthday on June 10th

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Public Relations Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Phil B,

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and that the excellent service from the staff made your daughter's birthday all the more special.

All feedback is passed onto both the Front of house staff as well as the Kitchen team, who will be happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back on June 10th.

Joe Embury,
Team Coach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A spontaneous meal out. Really pleasantly surprised. Menu choice is excellent, food and service both lovley. First but not last visit. Compliments to Chole our waitress and Reece the chef. A really splendid night out for couples wanting something a bit special. The chocolate orange bomb with popping candy is amazing!!

Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jenny M,

It’s really great to read that you had such a pleasant visit here to The Plough and Harrow.

We love it when a spontaneous guest visits, gives us the opportunity to really impress. It looks like chloe did a great job as well as the chefs.

We hope to see you again, perhaps for a more planned visit this time. We have the private dining area if you wanted to visit as a large party.

Thank you,

Joe Parkes
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
7816
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were served by Casey and she was such a sweetie! Super friendly and a lovely girl. Food was great as well, always love the atmosphere at the Plough & Harrow.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Casey will be happy to read that you enjoyed her service so much, she is really great with the guests and it’s nice to see her work doesn’t go unnoticed.

Thank you again,

Joe Parkes
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decor was a really nice improvement. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food, as always, was gorgeous. Would like to thank Georgia, our waitress, and James, our chef, for our experience. Will definitely be back!

The ladies toilets are always cold, could do with a radiator. Would be great if you offered breakfast or brunch as another alternative. The coffee is quite a sharp flavour, would be good if you offered an alternative.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Morag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, General Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Morag K

Thank you for your kind review!

It is great to see that Georgia looked after you so well. Our team take a great pride in delivering excellent hospitality, and we take a great pride in rewarding them!

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, compliments have been passed onto the kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Joe Embury
TripAdvisor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a family meal over Easter and had previously visited and had a positive experience. However on this occasion we were very dissatisfied. The service was very poor, generally took forever to clear plates after each course, getting attention for refills on drinks and a dessert menu became annoying. The starters I have to say were lovely, had the scallops.

The mains however sounded lovely but were lacking of taste (lamb cutlets), the burger was over cooked. The lamb cutlet special didn’t work in terms of all the flavours together and there was an overwhelming taste of burnt charcoal that spoilt the dish.

Desserts and cheese board was good. Beer selection was very good.
Just on the who it was a frustrating and disappointing family meal for 6 adults that was fairly expensive.

2  Thank DonnaDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, General Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us, here at the Plough & Harrow.

It is disappointing to read that your experience wasn't up to the standard expected. All guest comments are used to ensure that we continue to progress and benefit from the feedback.

We hope that you revisit in the near future to come and enjoy a 5-star experience with us!

Kindest Regards,
Joe Field
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plough & Harrow also viewed

Walsall, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing