We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Haus Sonnenberg(Schotten)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
8
5
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
1
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Here is a small hotel in a small town that should attract many more visitors. We have stayed here a number of times over many years and are always delighted by Hochzeitshaus. The reception is friendly, the accommodations large and very comfortable. The breakfasts offer a variety of fresh breads, yoghourt, fruit, cheeses and so on, all presented artistically in a bright, sunny room over seen by the owner. Public areas offer refrigerator, micro-wave and utensils. There are CD's and a player as well. We will always come back.
The town itself is quaint with a magnificent church and architecture going back centuries. Every autumn there is a vintage motorcycle gathering and race. The countryside has many hiking trail and the town is central to many other attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Hospitality Personified!

After reading the review of Morgan 1025, we decided to stay at Hochzeitshaus in June 2012, even though just for one night due to availability. Nothing but an overwhelming welcome and hospitality you would expect to find from our hostess Frau Wegner, such a pleasure to meet, and a honour to have befriended a delightful Lady. The help and advice received concerning our daughters huge interest in horse riding, and the possibility to have lessons within the local area was nulli secundus.

So much was the experience, we decided to stay at Hochzeitshaus again on our return journey from the South of France. Where we were welcomed in the same manner by Frau Wegner`s daughter, two of the most helpful people you will ever meet. And! Our daughter managed to ride on a horse called Lulu with the help of mother and daughter, a daughters dream that continues to this day.

You will not be disappointed with your stay, the rooms are fresh, comfortable and clean, the breakfast is a feast, and most important, the people are delightful. One really does not know why one is writing this, it only limits our chances of booking a room there again. Kindest regards. Family Fischer. Prosit Neujahr!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here one night on a recent trip to Germany. My husband selected this hotel since he wanted to return to the town he grew up in...it has been many years since he was there. It was my first time to Germany ever. We couldn't have been more pleased! only wished we had stayed longer.

It is a pleasant drive from Frankfurt through lovely country side. Arriving at Schotten was enchanting! The narrow streets, although a bit challenging to drive, and the old architecture is just as you have likely seen in photos of old Germany.

Securing a reservation through the email on the website was easy. The room was HUGE by European standards, of course very clean, and well appointed. It had a very comfortable bed, large writing desk, large wardrobes and plenty of room to walk around in. There was complimentary fruit, chocolates and bottled water in the room.The bathroom was also quite large and well appointed. Outside our room and the room next door, there was an additional common room with a table, CD player, and a small refrigerator with water, beer and wine, available for pay by the honor system (VERY reasonably priced). There are only 4 guest rooms total so it is very quiet.

We had dinner in the restaurant attached to the hotel, but under separate ownership. Decor was Tavern style, with much dark wood and waitress in traditional dress. Menu selection is traditional German. We enjoyed the seasonal specialty of Pffiferlings (mushrooms) with schnitzel and they were incredibly good...and not available later in our trip in southern locations. Prices were quite reasonable. For me, this was the best and most memorable meal of the entire trip.

The evening was INCREDIBLY quiet after the church bells were silenced at 10pm. The bells had an amazing sound quality, lingering like vapor in the air as they rang, very reminiscent of those that rang in my grandmother's neighborhood when I was a child. You don't seem to hear these any more in the US cities. I opened the window and gazed out at the street for a very long time, taking in the quiet, the street below, vacated after the restaurant closed, the scenic buildings and the soft rain that came that night. It was truly peaceful and enchanting!!

The owner, Frau Wegner, is delightful! As an architect, she has taken great personal interest in the design of the building and its accommodations. She was so helpful to us pre-trip, I felt like I had a new friend before we got there. On arrival, she met us promptly and escorted us to our room. She personally prepared the Fruhstuck (breakfast) which was part of our stay. It was served on the upper floor in a vaulted ceiling room that was beautifully decorated. Breakfast items included meats, eggs,cheeses, breads, juices and coffee and teas. The cheeses were a favorite of mine. Soft music was playing in the background as well, making the start to the day VERY relaxing and enjoyable..

The town itself is small but we should have had at least one more day to do it justice in exploring. The landmark church, just a block or two away, deserves at least an hour, especially if you can speak to the curator about the art work, its restoration, and the symbology of it. We were fortunate enough to have that experience; this is a person who really loves her work!! She is SO enthusiastic. I do not believe she speaks English, however, so my husband had to retell me some of the things she shared with him but I could also "understand" some of what she was sharing just from her pointing, directing, and facial expressions. In another location, we had the chance to hear a choir rehearsing: the acoustics and the tonal quality were so impressive. We went to the bank to exchange dollars for Euros and had a most pleasant experience with the gentleman who took care of us, and a lovely conversation as well about his trips to the US.

Overall, this visit was one of the top highlights of a 9 day trip! The hotel certainly had a lot to do with that impression and I cannot recommend it highly enough! It is well worth the 1 hour drive to have this wonderful, personalized experience in old Germany!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is an elevator(we did not use one); Remember to have Euros for the small shops; the hotel DOES take VISA
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This small but comfortable little hotel is on the town square in a very out-of-the-way part of Hessen, despite its proximity to Frankfurt. The hotel owner was very accommodating, the rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast enormous and very good (as most German breakfasts are). Would recommend this place if you're in the area, though take along your Navi as it's somewhat hard to find.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordPercyPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews