We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Split Apple Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimi Ora Eco Resort(Kaiteriteri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
138
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealthy foodasian artnew zealandmuseum qualitydetox boxevery mealthree roomslife changing experiencehis lovely wifecooking classan understatementpersonal attentionnatural settingabel tasmanworld classdietary restrictionsluxury accommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to the Split Apple Retreat knowing that it was one of the top places to stay in the Abel Tasman area but we were blown away with how much more the SAR delivers than a conventional, highly rated hotel/retreat. The Split Apple Retreat is lovingly conceived and run by a husband and wife team: Lee and Pen with a laser focus on world class accommodations and food along with wellness coaching, massage & guided meditation. The food is literally an inspiration toward healthy eating by creating lucious meals that look great, taste great and incorporate the freshest and most healthful ingredients. The view , architecture, high end execution and feng shui design provide a very cool vibe vs a sterile hotel. The team is incredibly attentive in a personal yet friendly/casual manner. Truly a one if a kind experience

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplitAppleRetrea, Founder & CEO at Split Apple Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Daniel,

What a heart-warming review! Thanks so much for the kind words and perceptive comments. We are greatly touched by your discernment between the Split Apple experience and that of more conventional top-quality hotels and retreats. We are totally dedicated to providing discerning guests such as you, with an exclusive experience that revolves around appealing to every aspect of the senses. When Pen and I travel, we are in quest of life-enriching experiences. Hotels themselves are only a small part of the experiential equation.

Thanks again, Daniel, for your perceptive awareness and for taking the time to write this review.

Warmest regards,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We returned for our second stay at Split Apple and could not have been more happen to return. Everything from the healthy AND delicious food, to the views, were spectacular.

The views from every room in the house are to die for and waking up to the view of the Tasman Sea cannot be beat. Pen's cooking is also fantastic and healthy - with everything being Low GI. Everything she cooked was absolutely fantastic and she got me to try things that I have never tried and absolutely loved! I crave her cooking now that we are home!

The property manager is also fantastic at assisting in planning activities. She booked us in for an Abel Tasman Adventures cruise, followed by a massage, which were both fantastic and highly recommended to anyone.

I cannot say enough great things about the property. Everything is very tasteful and secluded. Look no further when going to New Zealand if you are wanting a quiet, peaceful, and luxurious experience.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank laulfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplitAppleRetrea, Founder & CEO at Split Apple Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear laulfitz,

Returning guests are a highlight of the Split Apple Experience for both guests and the Team here. The intimate environment here is conducive, not only for providing what we hope is one of the best restorative and wellness-oriented experiences available, but also for the making of new friends. Here at Split Apple we thrive on providing exceptionally well-travelled guests with new experiences both at the Retreat and in the stunning surrounding nature of the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks which are virtually at your doorstep. Additionally, as you experienced, we are delighted when guests take ideas home with them that benefit their health and wellness far beyond the immediate experience here. There is a common misconception that truly healthy food cannot possibly taste as good as the best of gourmet dining. Chef Pen's passion is to prove that this is not necessarily so, and that properly prepared and presented as culinary art, the flavours of natural, healthy ingredients are unsurpassed.
We hope to welcome you for your third visit very soon!

Warmest regards,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018

The Split Apple Retreat over-delivered in every way possible: beautifully appointed indoor and outdoor spaces; excellent warm staff; healthy and deliciously inventive cuisine and stunning natural setting. Serenity and meditation will calm you and soothe you.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Franca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplitAppleRetrea, Founder and CEO at Split Apple Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

I have passed your review on to the Team at Split Apple and they are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here,and want to return. In just a few words, you were able to convey the essence of that experience. Thanks very much for your review, Franca!

Warm regards,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have spent 2 weeks travelling around the South Island staying in luxury accommodation. Our experience at Split Apple Retreat was our number one.
A beautiful location with magnificent sea views, cosy and intimate. We were greeted by Dr Lee Nelson and his beautiful wife Penn, the most amazing hosts. Penn, along with the chef Taylor, created the most delicious breakfasts and dinners... all freshly prepared with organic ingredients, catering for all diets (gluten free and dairy free if requested) with an emphasis on longevity and health. Pre dinner canapés were accompanied by a selection of delicious local wines.
We had a few issues with our car hire company and these were slickly dealt with by Sally who went beyond the call of duty to organise and advise trips for us. She was a star.
I had a wonderful relaxing massage by the in house therapist Emma.
The entire experience was truly wonderful. We cannot speak highly enough of this retreat.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplitAppleRetrea, Founder, CEO at Split Apple Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Dear Pauline,

Thanks so much for your excellent review and your kind words.

The Team here is delighted to hear that Split Apple Retreat was your best New Zealand South Island experience.

We have passed on your kudos to Sally, Pen, Taylor, and Emma who are most appreciative.

The entire Team really enjoyed having you here, and we can't wait for you to come back!

Stay well, Pauline.

With thanks and best regards,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

I wish we could have stayed here longer. This place is incredible. I couldn't recommend it more. Prime location with unbelievable views of the Abel Tasman National Park. Lee, Pen, Sally, Taylor and Emma are a fantastic team who instantly make you feel at ease and in holiday mode. The food was absolutely delicious - clean, healthy and highly memorable. Definitely recommend getting into the meditation every morning and embracing everything on offer. You'll learn lots and leave feeling very happy and healthy. I will be back.Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplitAppleRetrea, Founder at Split Apple Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear Rose,

Thank you for your very kind words. The Team at Split Apple loved having you here. We are pleased that you found the food so delicious and memorable. Using all healthy ingredients in gourmet cuisine is, according to our guests, unique. Each dish is individually created by Chefs Pen and Taylor and besides being healthy and delicious are designed to be culinary works of art. Also glad that you tried the brain entrainment meditation. Eighty percent of our guests try it, and 80% of these want to do it again. More and more research is revealing the positive effects of meditation on physical, mental, and spiritual wellness, and longevity as well. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your New Zealand Odyssey.

With thanks and best regards,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews