We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a bad day?”

The Front Paddock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We stopped for a quick lunch on or way home from Port Fairy. The food was quite good but took half an hour for pre made sandwiches and foccacias (yes they were toasted) to come to the table. And they were not busy at the time. The most remarkable element of our visit was however being served by one of the rudest men we have encountered in a "hospitality" business. Couldn't leave fast enough and wouldn't bother to stop again.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Well presented cafe with lovely rustic country atmosphere and pleasant ambience. The food was nice, although my poached eggs were inconsistent (one semi firm, one super runny and underdone) and the meals were brought out at fairly random intervals, with large gaps in between. There was probably at least half an hour between the first person and the last to be served. However we were a group of 8, so perhaps their kitchen was just not able to cope.

Coffee was good, and there were some delicious looking slices on offer. Definitely worth a visit for smaller groups.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

A great little cafe really good coffee friendly staff. Recommend a chocolate cake for my husbands birthday. YUM thank you

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank BillieNeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on the way to Port Fairy. Absolutely perfect pies...chicken leek and bacon. You can tell they are hand crafted on site and served by the chef with a big smile. Excellent coffee served at a perfect temperature. ..also with a big smile from the friendly front of house staff (sorry didn't get your name). Here is your promised review. PERFECT.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank LancefieldOldBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

My wife, daughter (3 years old) and I were on the road between Warrnambool and Ballarat and had a need for a caffeine (and hot chocolate) recharge at Derrinallum. We stopped at The Front Paddock Cafe. Whilst we didn't eat anything and just picked up take away hot drinks (the coffees were very good and there was no complaints about the hot chocolate) we were impressed with how nicely appointed the cafe was and how good the food looked. They were doing a roaring trade with take away drinks and food. I would be more than happy if this was my local. Hopefully next time we can stop for food!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Paddock Cafe also viewed

Lismore, Victoria
Derrinallum, Victoria
 

Been to The Front Paddock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing