We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paraiso del Bierzo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ctr Ambasmestas(Ambasmestas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valcarce Hotel(La Portela De Valcarce)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel O Cebreiro(Pedrafita do Cebreiro)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo(Villafranca del Bierzo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Francisco(Villafranca del Bierzo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Villa Mencia(Corullon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
El Tiempo Recobrado(Carracedelo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Moncloa(Cacabelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
67
28
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
28
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruittoastsecond floordining roomlovely patiocows grazingexcellent breakfastafternoon sunnext morningscenerydistancewifimountainsfieldrundinnercamino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 103 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018

We arrived in the early afternoon; it was the shortest walking segment of our Camino pilgrimage. Paraiso del Bierzo has a rustic feel but is a splendid hotel and is right on the Camino de Santiago. We stayed there for one night in late September. Our room was on the second floor. I don't think there was air conditioning, which was fine for us, but may be an issue in the middle of summer. The hotel looks out over fields with cattle grazing in them and mountains in the distance. There is a patio where you can relax and soak up the sun and scenery. Our room was comfortable.
The Pilgrim's Menu supper was quite good. Breakfast the next morning was fine.
We had stayed in nice hotels the previous two nights, having started the Camino in Ponferrada. The Paraiso del Bierzo was the nicest lodging so far, for its location, attractiveness, cleanliness and good food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

One night stay whilst walking the Camino. No lift, no AC, bath, WiFi ok, bar and restaurant. A lovely patio with sun umbrellas to enjoy the afternoon sun. All set overlooking a field, cows grazing in the distance. We had the pilgrim dinner which was reasonably price, nothing fancy. Breakfast was basic - toast, jam, OJ, coffee and fruit. Rooms not well insulated so noise did permeate, people talking in the next room, using the bathroom and going up the stairs. Staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catattack_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

You can't really get a much better location in Las Herrerias. Great views of the valley and mountains beyond and a lovely seating area in which to eat, drink or while away the time. Our room, which was bijou had access to a balcony with drying line and two rocking chairs. The food was standard 'Camino fayre' and the breakfast was good enough to set us up for the day. The rate reflects the peaceful location and the slightly better standard of service - and at less than one third of the actual price I was charged for the night by Greenlife Tours t/as CaminoWays, it's probably reasonable.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at this wonderful hotel after a long days walking the Camino. The homemade food was amazing, staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and the scenery is just breathtaking. Everything was so clean and beds very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed a few more nights. We couldn't fault it one bit.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank caminoladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

We visited Paraiso del Bierzo after a particularly difficult walk downhill on the Camino. The hotel is beautifully restored. The brother and sister who run this boutique hotel are very friendly and approachable, no request is too difficult. The rooms were fantastic, large, beautiful views over the green valley, comfy beds and nice bathrooms. Suggestions were made for drying our clothes in their water heater room, which was very kind. They had managed to organise a birthday cake for us for one of our group. Dinner in the restaurant was also very nice. Beautiful sunny deck & dining room to enjoy drinks and a meal.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews