We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
76
33
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
33
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit second floor excellent breakfast toast dining room modern amenities lovely patio green valley cows grazing hotel is located afternoon sun next morning bar and restaurant the river scenery distance wifi
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We arrived in the early afternoon; it was the shortest walking segment of our Camino pilgrimage. Paraiso del Bierzo has a rustic feel but is a splendid hotel and is right on the Camino de Santiago. We stayed there for one night in late September. Our room was on the second floor. I don't think there was air conditioning, which was fine for us, but may be an issue in the middle of summer. The hotel looks out over fields with cattle grazing in them and mountains in the distance. There is a patio where you can relax and soak up the sun and scenery. Our room was comfortable.
The Pilgrim's Menu supper was quite good. Breakfast the next morning was fine.
We had stayed in nice hotels the previous two nights, having started the Camino in Ponferrada. The Paraiso del Bierzo was the nicest lodging so far, for its location, attractiveness, cleanliness and good food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2017

One night stay whilst walking the Camino. No lift, no AC, bath, WiFi ok, bar and restaurant. A lovely patio with sun umbrellas to enjoy the afternoon sun. All set overlooking a field, cows grazing in the distance. We had the pilgrim dinner which was reasonably price, nothing fancy. Breakfast was basic - toast, jam, OJ, coffee and fruit. Rooms not well insulated so noise did permeate, people talking in the next room, using the bathroom and going up the stairs. Staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catattack_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

You can't really get a much better location in Las Herrerias. Great views of the valley and mountains beyond and a lovely seating area in which to eat, drink or while away the time. Our room, which was bijou had access to a balcony with drying line and two rocking chairs. The food was standard 'Camino fayre' and the breakfast was good enough to set us up for the day. The rate reflects the peaceful location and the slightly better standard of service - and at less than one third of the actual price I was charged for the night by Greenlife Tours t/as CaminoWays, it's probably reasonable.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at this wonderful hotel after a long days walking the Camino. The homemade food was amazing, staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and the scenery is just breathtaking. Everything was so clean and beds very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed a few more nights. We couldn't fault it one bit.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nicole M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We visited Paraiso del Bierzo after a particularly difficult walk downhill on the Camino. The hotel is beautifully restored. The brother and sister who run this boutique hotel are very friendly and approachable, no request is too difficult. The rooms were fantastic, large, beautiful views over the green valley, comfy beds and nice bathrooms. Suggestions were made for drying our clothes in their water heater room, which was very kind. They had managed to organise a birthday cake for us for one of our group. Dinner in the restaurant was also very nice. Beautiful sunny deck & dining room to enjoy drinks and a meal.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews