We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Night ”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dine on the deck this in summer with pleasant views overlooking the water. Our 'Landing Restaurant' offers delicious meals exceeding the expectations of a semi-rural tavern, served with iconic kiwi hospitality. Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place and worth while visiting if you haven't yet. We enjoyed a bottle of bubbles and got the riverside platter to share. Staff that was on that night was friendly. Nice ambience and great selection to suit your occasion.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank honeyblossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad to hear you had a lovely time with us...it's a beautiful place to catch up with friends. We'll look forward to seeing you again, soon we hope, cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food and wine at an awesome venue. Very accomodating and friendly. Will definitely return. We loved the menu

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank davidhR5857QZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much, we are very proud of our menu and have the new winter menu coming out very soon with even more choices for vegetarians and vegans. But of course, we're keeping all the goodies from the last menu, they're too good to lose! See you again soon, kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

Well worth a visit.
Lots of enticing options. Well presented food.Good staff experience.
Fish of Day...beautiful Snapper, with Potato Gnocchi, Green Beans,Edamame Beans and a beautiful sauce.
Maple Smoked Salmon, again cooked to perfection with a side cast of Clams,Soba Noodles,Edamame Beans and a Dashi Buerre Blanc Sauce.
Delicious,tasty, gorgeous...repeat visit required.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Those are two of my favourite dishes too! We are working on our new Winter Menu which will available on the 26th of April. It will have all the favourites and some more tasty options for vegetarian and vegan diners. Hopefully, we'll see you again then, cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2021

I always love coming to the Riverhead. We rang late in the day to book for 6 and that grew to 7. On arrival we were offered a gorgeous table with a view and straight away the service was there looking after us beautifully. As the evening wore on we were a little cold as dusk arrived so our request to move inside was actioned immediately. The food was delicious, with very good sized portions, the flavors wonderful and as always the service was superb. No wonder we love coming here...

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank U9748PGsimonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

...and we love having you here! The whole team get such a buzz hearing that you had a perfect experience. We'll look forward to having you here again, regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2021

Lucky enough to get an outside table with view of river - lovely location. The food was very good and for a busy day, service surprisingly fast. I want to call out our waitress who was awesome !!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gewewvrevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

We do have a wonderful team and so glad that you enjoyed your time with us...it is very special looking out over the water. It can get very busy here, especially over the weekends but we love the fast-paced service and our team are knocking it out of the park! Thanks so much, see you again, regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.