We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
370
24
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
24
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed secret passages caithness room spiral staircase great room main hall loch creran bottle dungeon wonderful hosts fairy tale the managers steeped in history highlight of our trip intimate wedding unique experience top floor full scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Excellent stay! Friendly service. Fantastic home cooked breakfast. Lots of cute little details throughout the room. Lots of care and quantity put into each room. We had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this castle to others!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stella d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your review Stella!

Each of our room's are individually designed so we are pleased that you noticed the little extras in each room. Please do visit again if you're in the area!

Kindest regards,
Adele, Gavin, Abbie and Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Abbie and Daniel were our hosts for this extraordinary visit, a step back into history. Delicious food, comfortable warm setting, tour of the castle with fascinating historical anecdotes, friendly professional staff always willing to go the extra mile to ensure our stay was comfortable. Nice fire to enjoy in the evenings. Quiet soft breakfast music. Lovely surroundings. Extraordinary history. A lovely place complimented by the professional staff attending to our every need.

Room tip: Castle only has 6 rooms for overnight guests. Reserve early. All are beautifully done with great view from windows.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Barcaldine Castle!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast whilst staying with us and the atmosphere around the fire. We are all fortunate to love what we do so thank you for your kind comments.

We do hope you visit the castle again if you are in the area!

Kindest regards,
Adele, Gavin, Abbie and Daniel.
Management at Barcaldine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Alan and I loved the way the management team of Adele and Gavin and Abbie and Daniel looked after ourselves, and our 10 guests during our recent two-night (exclusive use stay) at the wonderful Barcaldine Castle, where we held our wedding. The castle turned out to be the perfect venue for us.

We were all absolutely blown away by the beautiful granite castle itself but also by the Great Hall and the 6 fantastic guest bedrooms. We got great delight from seeing the faces of each our guests as they arrived.

Apart from the castle being a spectacular, yet really intimate and very cosy comfortable venue, the team understood all of our needs and wishes (often better than we did and before we did!) and surpassed all of our requirements. All four were very professional yet extremely approachable and went out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and completely at home. They worked together to create the perfect ambience and atmosphere in which we could just relax and soak it up - exactly what we were looking for! The Great Hall is a fabulous space anyway and it was wonderful to chill out in front of the spectacular fireplace but it was even more spectacular when dressed up in its finery for our wedding ceremony! Our wedding was on 28 December so the Great Hall was also dressed for Christmas, which also added to the charm and cosiness.

The team were busy in the background organising things yet were relentless throughout in doing their best for us and absolutely nothing was too much trouble, they calmly went about looking after us all with smiles on their faces. They made sure we all had a lovely stay and that Alan and I got the wedding we had dreamt of and will remember forever. We still can’t stop talking about it! The whole experience was beautiful and that was down to the way we were looked after. We were both very touched when Adele and Gavin and Abbie and Daniel joined us for the ceremony, such a lovely gesture!

As the castle is a bed and breakfast guesthouse and unlicensed etc. we were able to take our own celebratory drinks. We were able to store these in the various fridges and the castle provided the glassware. The team recommended an independent chef David who cooked for us so brilliantly on the day of our wedding. David is a lovely, very amenable professional with whom we were able to discuss/change requirements so easily as things developed. David used the castle kitchen facilities and made delicious canapés, wedding dinner and evening buffet for our party.

Stupidly before we left, both Alan and I forgot to sign the castle Guest Book! Was it really so stupid, as we may just need to return to the castle again to do that!

We hope the weddings, which are already booked at the castle in 2018, will all be fantastic – if you are one of these lucky couples, your prospective parties are in the very safe hands of the Barcaldine Team!

Room tip: All rooms lovely but choose lower level room with shower cubicle if restricted mobility. We would stay in any.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jan-n-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Alan and Janice,

Thank you ever so much for your kind comments about the four of us here at Barcaldine. We all thoroughly enjoyed hosting your wedding and getting to know both you, Alan and your guests.

We’re glad to hear that you were happy with David’s cooking and approach – he comes highly recommended!

We all think you had a beautiful ceremony and the venue suited you both very well! Not signing the guestbook is a perfect excuse to come back!! Perhaps we’ll see you both again on an anniversary

Kindest regards,
Adele, Gavin, Abbie and Daniel.
Management at Barcaldine Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

This was exactly what my wife and I were looking for in the area. A wonderfully preserved castle with a classic great room/hall with sofas and fire place as well as a cosy den off to the side. All the attention to detail one would expect from a high end hotel, plus little extras like local snacks in the comfortable rooms. Bedding, towels, etc were all top notch. The hosts were gracious and ensured we were welcomed upon arrival. Location is great too with Oban and all its restaurants and shops a quick drive south, and it is a good spot to head north to Fort William and Glenfinnan. It was nice to sit by the fire in the evenings and enjoy single malt or wine - bring your own and they supply the proper glass for your drink of choice, which we found preferable to a late night in the pubs and harrowing drive home! If you looking for a memorable stay in the Oban area, I recommend Barcaldine.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdRatherSpendEuros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Barcaldine Castle!

We thrive to ensure we have the best quality bedding, towels, linen etc.. so we are happy you noticed this. The little things also matter as attention to detail - thank you for your kind words. Our guests have the option of our local pubs or having a glass or two by the fire :)

We do hope you visit us again if you are in the area!

Kindest regards,
Adele and Gavin
Management at Barcaldine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2017

This was a special family event when seven members of the family came together at Barcaldine, having first come across the castle in 1974, when the boys were very young. It was a private residence then, but we always intended to return when we learned that it was now offering B&B. The whole weekend experience was faultless. The staff were very welcoming, the rooms were unbelievable and the whole atmosphere full of history and sheer luxury. The food was first class and we all left with very powerful memories of a most wonderful weekend. Thank you to all concerned with our visit, we shall hopefully return.

Room tip: Ice and warm, the four poster beds were large and comfortable .
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Barcaldine Castle Alan!

We loved meeting with your family and seeing photographs from your very first visit back in the 70's! The whole team loved hosting you and your family and we hope to have you all back again in the future.

All the best,
Adele and Gavin.
Management at Barcaldine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews