We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
19
27
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
27
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftroom was largeonly draw backstaff was friendly and helpfulone nightaround the cornerthe riverclean roomswalking distancebed was comfortableplace to staymemorytownairportwifiboatjetty
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

On our trip to Mrauk U we stayed overnight at the Memory Hotel as our flight only arrived late in Sittwe.
It was a nice surprise as we didn’t have high expectations.
The hotel is located near some shops, the River Valley Restaurant on Main Road is only a 2 mins walk away, just around the corner.
Check-in was a bit complicated as their English is very limited. There is no lift but they helped us with the luggage.
Our room was large, clean, had a shower with enough hot water and a comfy bed. There was a coffee/tea cooking facility.
We had wifi in the room which was slow but at least working.

Breakfast was good, on the 4th floor.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank catztravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Hotel Memory is well located in the heart of town. It's walking distance to some OK restaurants on the beach strip. The rooms are OK with comfortable beds and the bathrooms are OK as well. Maybe its a bit stuffy and some of the decoration makes it dusty. However they serve very good coffee for breakfast and the view from the upstairs restaurant is great. Room service works well also. Sittwe is no tourist town but the Hotel is a good place to be. All OK - just nothing special. Only draw back: no safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

SIttwe, the capital of Rakhine state in Myanmar, is not a 'tourist' place as yet. Rakhine being on restricted list for the foreigners, you can go to only selected cities, and Sittwe is one of then connected from Yangon by flights. The place is not developed, hotels are not as 'good' as you would expect. During our seven days stay, we initially selected the most expensive hotel, thinking that that would be the best. But we were disappointed and changed to Memory hotel. This is a new hotel, rooms are clean and good, and reasonably priced. Breakfast menu is below average, reception staffs are very polite but not professionally trained, and language is a big issue. Better to have a Myanmar resident in the team. But this is the best hotel in the town!

Room Tip: Third floor sea-view rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shyam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Well, based on my previous time in Sittwe my expectations were not high. This was a new hotel and honestly, it was nice. Breakfast was decent, the room was comfortable and quite clean. Internet access was quite limited, but that is the norm in Sittwe.

There is no elevator, and the lobby area was full of mosquitos. Wear long pants and sleeves if you are planning to sit down there. It was the only location I could access the internet. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Highly recommended if you are going to be staying in Sittwe.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Il_Duce73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This hotel is adequate, nothing special but it is clean and central. It is about 15 minutes from the airport so if you have an early flight, it is in a good location. It is not expensive but It is very average. I can't really say that I saw anything much better so not so sure what that says about Sittwe...........

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gilld001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews