We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
632
10
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
632
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachy head bucket list once in a lifetime hangar tour dream come true ground crew barrel rolls an amazing experience taking control birthday present white cliffs two seater under restoration various stages fighter aircraft hour tour moment you arrive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole experience was truly amazing. We treated our dearest Father, Grandfather, Brother, and an incredible friend to a flight on the Hurricane. From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well and i can not thank all the staff for what was a truly magnificent time. The day was magical and a day we will all never forget. THANK YOU SO MUCH TO ALL THE LOVELY PEOPLE AT FLYASPITFIRE..... xxx

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank martinpA9599AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip26783541269, front desk at Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you all enjoyed the day and have memories that will live long with all of your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Flew in MT818 with pilot Jon Corley, absolutely brilliant experience. From the initial greeting I was made to feel welcome and very much at ease (thanks Sam, the ground crew and all support staff). Jon was great, from the initial briefing to the flight itself. Taking the controls was amazing, and the victory rolls will stay with me forever. With family joining us in the air van meant they shared the experience, and also an opportunity to take some wonderful in-air photos. With the hangar tour and videos of the flight to take home was a great ending to a superb day.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank ng924
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip26783541269, front desk at Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, all the team share a common passion for these iconic machines and do their best to make sure the experience is truly memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow. Did the Beachy Head route with Jez as my pilot, and booked the Chase plane for the family to share the experience. My grandfather flew Spitfires towards the end of the war and beyond, so I was keen to understand a small bit of his experience.Due to poor weather in the am, flights were delayed to catch up. The team (Pam?) were excellent in managing the unplanned pinch point and keeping everyone involved. All staff are passionate about the flights and give a professional and friendly service. The flight itself is amazing - from watching the plane be manhandled into position, getting into the cockpit, and then taxiing to the runway and take off. Flying over the Kent countryside and to the coast in a Spitfife - unreal. Jez was excellent in making sure all was good ( it certainly was) and gave me the chance to take full control for a few minutes. Great formation flying by Jez and Toby in the Chase plane allowed great photos but more importantly, a great experience for all at very close range. The hanger tour was very interesting and humbling - thank you Laurie. Framed certificate and videos of the flights provided at the end for a permanent reminder. A brilliant day, all made possible by the excellent staff. Thank you.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank chelsi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip26783541269, front desk at Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments, the team do their utmost to make this a once in a lifetime experience and share their knowledge and enthusiasm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the tour and seeing the old 1940s warplanes up close and personal.
Heard the sound of the Merlin Engines, and saw the Spitfire and Hurricane fly over Biggin Hill airfield.
The guide was fantastic with a wealth of knowledge.
A visit to St Georges Chapel is also recommended, a stunning place to remember the fallen airmen and women.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank V765DYsama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip26783541269, front desk at Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, glad you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband bought me a flight over Beachy Head in a spitfire. It was the most amazing experience I have ever had and I have flown in a few (Pitts, tiger moth, did a wing walk). The crew at Fly a Spitfire were simply wonderful. Their passion, their knowledge, their warmth and overall amiability made the whole experience one I shall treasure for a long time. It was a real treat and one I will always treasure. And to say it was an honour to fly in a spitfire is putting it mildly. I was humbled.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Liztheclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip26783541269, front desk at Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed it and appreciate your kind comments about the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews