We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lower Cobberton(Dartington)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
521
303
114
50
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
303
114
50
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite hartwest wingbeautiful groundsthe barnsummer schooltravelzoo dealsingle roomenjoyable staycomfortable roomslovely settingfirst morningcar parkone night staythe ground floorlovely roomtea and coffeethe river
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Received an email which was very useful regarding information on finding hotel, map of grounds, where to park while checking in etc, although a better sign for the reception would be helpful...we walked into the pub, oops!
Friendly welcome and we were pointed in the direction of our room. Off we went.
Unfortunately room was not great. Far too much huge and old wooden furniture. Dust everywhere, deep clean and refurb definitely needed. Nowhere to put our cases. Just managed to open them on the floor, but then had no room to move. To use plug point meant dragging furniture away from wall. Room was facing cemetery but lower than ground level, so we were sleeping on a level with the interred....eek! Got back from evening out to discover the room smelled like the sewers...awful! Bed was very comfortable and west wing was lovely and quiet didn't hear any other guests at any time.
Shower and loo along the corridor, also in need of a refurb. In poor condition and again not clean.
Breakfast was cold....a tea light to keep it warm! Really?!

I've been looking forward to staying here for years and was so disappointed. I hope they address the problems soon as it's such a lovely building in a beautiful area.
Sadly it looks like the manager only acknowledges the good reviews on here so I can't see anything changing for the better.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank 11Alicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your recent review.

We are currently starting plans to refurbish our Guest Accommodation and your comments have been forwarded on to the relevant managers for use in our regular reviews.
Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay, please rest assured that this has been investigated with the relevant managers as this is not the high standard we aim to provide.


We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future and hope to improve upon your experience.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Overall great place to stay. Very nice rooms and staff very friendly, polite and professional. Only downside was the White Hart bar (doubled up as breakfast room) as it seemed in the wrong place and had the wrong atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Gleadroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018


Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments regarding the White Hart have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager who will take these into consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed for 2 night's and wished it had been longer and the weather kinder to us but this did not detract from the peaceful surroundings of Dartington Hall - the gardens were lovely and the White Hart were we had breakfast was welcoming. All of the staff were helpful- our double room with ensuite was also good with hair dryer iron and iron g board if required

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018


Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

wonderful hotel set in a grand estate with amazing stately gardens and views over the moors. Lovely boutique style room with a very comfy bed and good bathroom facilities. Great breakfast that was freshly cooked and they catered for coeliacs well. All staff that we met were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank croftie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018


Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I had the most lovely stay at this beautiful historic place. We had a surprise birthday party in the great hall. The staff were fantastic , Thanks Jodie, you saved the day. The food was lovely , and we held it back by over running , no problem , the staff worked like clockwork. It was made a really lovely time....and as our room , lovely. Clean and I had an iron , though really I didn't feel the need to use it. The bed was lovely , so comfortable , would suggest a mattress protector , though my one was like new. Room was a decent size , and everything worked , oh and the tea and coffee tray . . Quality tea , I can't think of a nicer more friendly place to stay. I must say a big thank you to the night manager who was on duty that night , sorry I'm aweful with names. He made sure everyone was safely back in there rooms , made sure I had a torch and was so knowledgeable about the history of Dartington . Thank you to you all . Will absolutely come back...many times.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank horizondogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018


Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews