We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mingary Castle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Highland Cottage(Tobermory)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arisaig Hotel(Arisaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cnoc-na-Faire(Arisaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
37
3
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
3
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse tasting menuother guestshigh standardfour poster bedisle of mulllocal ingredientssous cheftop floorsitting roomdining experiencecopper bathfantastic experiencefantastic bathroomthose placesspecial treatnight stayspringer spaniel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018

Mingary Castle is well worth a visit. The drive there may be slow, so allow the time, but is filled with breath-taking scenery and wildlife. The castle has been renovated to a high standard throughout the entire building, which made picking our room, a difficult task, as they are all unique and wonderful in different ways. The castle is always kept very clean and tidy, by staff who are attentive yet un-intrusive. We stayed for 4 nights and took part in the ‘Taster Menu’ twice during our stay. This involved experiencing 10 courses all served in a unique way, many are vegetarian based, though certainly unique. It gets presented to you by the chefs who then explain the dish to you. Should this not be for you the local pub in the village is close by, something we alternated between their & the castle. We were a little apprehensive that off season there may not be enough in the area for a 4 night stay. However, such a journey here seemed silly not to reward ourselves with the chance to explore what was on offer. There is the short ferry hop within a mile of the Castle, for a scenic 30 minute crossing over to Mull for a day of exploring and a wee bit of shopping. Another activity we had the pleasure of doing was having a guide from the estate show us the wildlife and landscapes across the peninsula, the deer feedings where amazing to watch. Another excursion was the 10 mile drive to the estates own Distillery which went down a treat, we booked the Connoisseurs tour, with a few tasters of the unique whiskeys at the end and a glass to take home and remember the visit. We would definitely recommend this trip and location to everybody, it’s a hidden gem, and a real chance to switch off and unwind from society for a few days in a true wilderness

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Arnold E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingaryCastle, Manager at Mingary Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Hello Arnold,

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you, and so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Mingary, and that you had the rare treat to have the castle to yourselves, the advantage to visiting off season. Glad you managed to brave the winter cold having visited from California, and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to Mingary in the future.

Wishing you both all the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

It was my first experience to stay in castle, I love the road to the castle that was passing through a lovely peaceful nature. The castle has been nicely renovated and location is amazingly facing a lovely lake that makes your stay so Romantic !
The room facility is perfect and decorated is nice and fully English old style ...
Experience of Nice Dinning and tasty meal served by a young chef was adding to the joy of stay.
I just loved the place and environment!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Niilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingaryCastle, Manager at Mingary Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words, and we are delighted that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay at Mingary Castle, it is indeed a unique place. Our location is very special, so it is always worth taking your time on your way out to us and seeing the best that Scotland has to offer. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Mingary in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

We spent 3 nights with friends in this wonderful location: a beautifully restored castle, on the shore, with a great view onto the Sound of Mull, with a luxury but very homy touch and an absolutely amazing cuisine.
You have to drive 1.5 hours to get there, you need to like nature and be curious about the food, but if you do, you will be well rewarded. The staff is wonderful, the landscape very beautiful, the food fantastic.
It was a real privilege to experience such a place. It is expensive, but it is definitely worth it.
It belongs to those places where you wonder whether you should write a review or keep this place secret and all to yourself. But the team deserves to be known and their work to be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingaryCastle, Manager at Mingary Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure to welcome in the New Year with your party, it is always lovely to hear the Piper playing in the new year from the Castle Battlements. We appreciate you letting out your little secret for others to hear about us, though i think your secret is safe, i believe very few people use the internet yet, i believe its a new thing...or maybe that's just the slower pace of life out here at Mingary :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend (at the time...) and I had a fabulous stay at Mingary Castle! The castle itself is beautifully restored and wonderfully secluded. Our three night stay in the Macdonald Suite exceeded all expectations! The space was thoughtfully appointed, including a fully functional kitchen and the pièce de résistance: a wood-burning stove. The team at Mingary Castle was outstanding! They were attentive without being intrusive, and we feasted upon excellent meals prepared by the chef duo! The views from the castle ramparts were absolutely stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed walking the estate grounds. By the time we left my boyfriend was my fiancé (need I say more?)!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kannon1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

It was an absolutely gorgeous stay, the hotel offered this taster menu... don’t miss it! It’s awesome! Basically they make many different small dishes from local ingredients. The chef comes and explains you what you just ate and you can ask them about it, it was both delicious and incredible; the whole environment was simply great.
We continued to stay the night on a very comfortable room, note there are a few stairs to take so if you have any issues with stairs make sure to let them know so they can give you a room on a lower floor. Anyway we were on the top floor with a fantastic bathroom extremely clean a brilliantly comfortable bed and a fantastic view.
In the morning we went for an early walk around the battlements and it was beautiful the whole environment and the cold November air in the face with some small rain drops and the sound of the water splashing against the cliff below us...
The breakfast was again very rich in flavour even something as simple as porridge was spiced up with some locally sourced wild mint oil and it might not sound it but it may just have been some of the best food I have had in a hotel certainly during this trip!
It was sad to leave but we were escorted out and greeted by a beautiful rainbow and the sun that just started poking out behind the clouds. I was just waiting for some fairies to sneak out behind this old stone building that has now been fully restored to make up the castle hotel. It was that magical!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank ReemIkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingaryCastle, Manager at Mingary Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It was lovely to meet you both and welcome you to the castle, and that you where so happy and bubbly, even after such a long drive! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the castle in the future, hopefully next time you will be able to have a little bit longer to explore the area, and maybe sample a wee dram or two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews