We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Trip.com
US$90
View deal
Agoda.com
US$90
US$79
View deal
SAVE US$11
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
374
146
23
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
374
146
23
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar pride rock boutique hotel watch the sunset breakfast buffet turn down service island hopping during happy hour el nido beautiful sunset excellent place to stay filipino dishes minute tricycle ride visit coron air conditioner front office bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2021

My family and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel for 5 days. Food was superb, not your ordinary filipino breakfast. If I will rate the hospitality of the staff, kulang yung 5 stars to rate them. Super ganda ng room and malinis. Safe yung place and they will help and guide you during your stay in Coron. Keep it up, we will definitely come back!!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 243quenniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2021

Of course there weren't many guests... at one stage during our 5 nights stay we were alone. Nevertheless the attention and kindness of the staff was way above what we have experienced in a Filipino owned and managed resorts over the last 25 years. This is what we will remember from Funny Lion although this medium sized kind of boutique resort (being presently extended with a few very nice rooms in containers) deserves excellent ratings. Clean and neat. Large comfortable rooms (with excellent beddings, a rarity) and bathrooms (an obsession of mine) with all amenities. Very nice pool. Well located. Interesting choice of fulfilling and non traditional breakfasts. Excellent cuisine. Small reservation: the wine list could be a bit larger... This was a perfect 6 days stay and the resort can only be strongly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2021
1  Thank oindu_des_Alpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

My family and I stayed at The Funny Lion for 3 days and 2 nights before switching to another hotel. After our experience at The Funny Lion, we wished we had just stayed there for the entire duration of our Coron trip - we didn't want to leave!

The hotel staff were very thoughtful and provided my family and I with such a personalized experience; attentive and immediately tending to our every need. They had bottles of water and wet towels prepared for us upon pick up at the airport, and welcome drinks upon reaching the hotel. We had mentioned wanting to book an island tour for our 2nd day and they immediately took care of it for us, allowing us to enjoy the rest of the day by their pool and the beautiful sunset from their jacuzzi on their rooftop. The next day we were surprised to find packed bags of towels and bottled water waiting for us at the reception for us to bring on our island tour. The attention to detail and the staff's genuine desire to serve guests the best possible experience was very much appreciated by my family and I.

The staff were quick with suggestions when we were unsure of where to eat our meals, giving us directions and calling over tricycles to take us whenever needed. Every day and night of our stay, we always came back to the hotel to friendly faces and warm greetings. We truly appreciated every moment spent in The Funny Lion and I never hesitate to recommend the place whenever I have friends traveling to Coron. The hotel may not be the biggest or grandest, but the hospitality the staff readily provides makes up for it 10x more. Plus, the scenery and sunsets seen from their rooftop bar are not to be missed! Truly can't wait til my next visit. Keep up the amazing work!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank taralanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2020

We stayed at The Funny Lion in early March of this year when we had to make an unexpected detour during our honeymoon trip . At first, I have to admit, we didn't consider the resort because of the name. We decided to give it a chance however when our friends recommended it. After all the reviews were good, the photos online looked nice and the location seemed to be fine. We were not disappointed!

The friendly airport representatives waited for our arrival at Busuanga Airport. This has to be pre-arranged but is worth it for just a few pesos more than having to sort out your own transportation. Cold towels and chilled bottles of water were offered before heading to the resort in their van. We always appreciate this simple gesture when traveling!

The resort is a pleasant, peaceful, safari-themed property with a lovely pool area that can be easily enjoyed the whole day. Just be a bit cautious when coming in and out of the pool as it can be quite slippery.

The room we had was nice and spacious and we were greeted by lovely honeymoon amenities. Once in a while, we would find freshly made beverages in our fridge during the day and a delightful sweet treat from the Chef at night. I have to mention how wonderful it was to come back to our room after it was cleaned each day, it smelled so clean and relaxing.

At Hunt, the resort's restaurant, aside from some items being either a bit too salty or too sweet, the menu choices are creative and mostly delicious.

From the front office to the restaurant side, service was consistently good. Everyone was always engaging and friendly. A special commendation to JB, the duty manager and Thel from Hunt restaurant.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cast_TravelandDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2020

Hi Caroline!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We work really hard to ensure that each of our guests will have the most wonderful experiences as soon as they step here in Coron so we’re glad that this was reflected on your last visit. We're very honored to be chosen as part of your honeymoon itinerary so we're very happy to know that our colleagues were able to assist you during your stay. We will forward your feedback to the team especially to JB and Thel—I'm sure that your kind words will make their day and encourage them to continue doing their best for our guests. Thank you so much for sharing this with us and we can't wait to see you in the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2020

We had booked a stay at the Funny Lion for 3 nights but due to the lockdown the hotel had to decide to close it’s doors for a while. The duty manager, Jay, his service was of the highest quality. He really helped us out.
We want to thank you, Jay, so much for all your help. Even though we didn’t stay at the hotel, we were allowed to make use of the jacuzzi on the rooftop. The view from the rooftop is breathtaking and the service at the Funny Lion is great. We will definitely recommend a stay at the Funny Lion. We will be back one day!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estherrsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

"Hi Esther!

Thank you so much for your review. We're very sorry to know that your plans had to change because of the government-mandated community quarantine. Despite this, we're glad that Jay were able to assist you and still provide you with the warmest service during your short stay here in Coron. We're glad that during this short period, you were able to enjoy the view from our Pride Rock Deck--this is definitely one of the best views in the island especially when the sun sets. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you once again and finally be able to stay with us when circumstances get better."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews