We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$56
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$89
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$141
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$84
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$79
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$30/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$43
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$520
US$427
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
256
103
18
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
103
18
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpride rockinfinity poolgreat boutiquelemongrass drinklittle extrasisland hoppingking roomboutique hotelthe main pool areakimchi ricebreakfast buffetpull out bedbuko juiceturn down serviceevery afternoonmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t have asked for a better week at The Funny Lion. The staff were fantastic and always there to help, the food from both the pool restaurant and the rooftop bar was delicious and the room was great. It was a lovely touch to be welcomed back to the room with a gift and a dessert every day. Thanks so much Funny Lion!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jordhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Manager at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Jordhammond!

Thank you so much for giving us a 5-star rating! We're so happy to hear that you had a fantastic week at our resort. Can't wait to have you back at the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

I came here for the day to use the pool. I was charged $20US with a $10 credit at the restaurant. The pool is straight up HOT and it’s not the cleanest. There is algae growing everywhere. Minimal, but there. I also don’t smell any chlorine whatsoever. Also, the smell of raw sewage is EVERYWHERE, which also means that flies are everywhere. So many flies it’s hard to relax because you are either constantly brushing them off or you are covering up with clothing/towels and that defeats the whole purpose of coming to a pool. Food was decent but way over-priced. $4US for orange juice?? It’s not a horrible place but I’ve seen better in Coron.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

The funny lion is a little bit out from the main town but only a 5 min tricycle ride (20php/person). It’s an ideal hotel for anyone looking for a little bit of luxury in coron.
The rooms are spacious and decorated nicely- we also got plenty of little extras e.g. beach bag, flip flops.
The most amazing part is he rooftop bar with the ‘warm’ tubs. Great place for watching the sunset. Staff at the rooftop bar were amazing and always knew what we would order!
Food in the restaurant was so good that we ate there every night. Reasonably priced as well.
The funny lion is also opening in El Nido and looks like it will be just as good if not better!
Main con is the smell around the pool and bathroom but apparently that is the norm for coron. WiFi is also rubbish, as it is most places in coron and El Nido.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Aoife W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Manager at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi Aoife W!

Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your Coron holiday! We're glad that you had a memorable stay with us. We would also take note on your comments. We do our best to make our guests' stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible and your comments would help us improve our services and facilities. Hope we can welcome you back in the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I, along with my in laws stayed here for four nights in April. Although the rooms are only pretty basic, albeit very clean and with everything you want, the service and the facilities made our stay fantastic! Sitting in the jacuzzi on the fourth floor with beer and cocktails watching the sunset was just superb! Breakfast was fine, and spending a lazy day around the pool was just perfect. But, the service!! AMAZING! Whilst sitting by the pool we were treated to complimentary cocktails, provided with endless water and given some refreshing sprays to help keep us cool! Organising trips, replacing finished drinks and even the removal of a big spider were never too much for the amazing staff! I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Coron.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Brent1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Manager at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Brent1983!

Thank you so much for taking your time to craft this wonderful review. We're so happy that our staff's services made your 4-night stay with us very enjoyable. We train our staff to provide our guests with a personalized service and we're so glad to hear that this was reflected during your stay. Also, we would like to express our gratitude with your recommendation. Can't wait to have you back in the resort again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Not trying to be harsh here, I do think Funny Lion is probably one of the top hotels in Coron town but when compared in normal standards, it’s average. My husband and I first look for cleanliness, then service in a hotel. While service was great, We thought
there are some areas for improvements below:

- Pool: the chemical is off in the water because there were green algae growing in the pool. I saw people sleeping on the staircases in the pool and when look closer, there were slimy green algae growing. And when the pool is one of the best place to be when relaxing / #1 selling feature, it should be cleaner than this. And is it us only? Because we do not smell any chlorine?

- Bathroom: there were yellow stains on our toilet cover, shower surfaces weren’t scrubbed and the details are what matters. We felt the cleaning crew just “roughly” cleaned it and called it a day.

- JY Travels & Tours: they’re one of the vendor options @the hotel. And we booked them for a private tour to try it out. Found out the guy who picked us up early in the morning in his yellow tricycle is the owner - got a bad vibe from him within 2 minutes and did not like him to a point that I almost cancelled the tour if he continued to be our tour guide.
This guy only cares about money and what you book. When ask him more in depth questions, he ignores you. Excuse me?? I am not about to spend 1 day out of my 10 day travels with someone to ruin my precious time. This young tour guide who works for him - Jim, ended up to be our guy for the day and we had a blast with him. Great energy, bright, good English, thoughtful and just overall amazing crew, we had an amazing time.
Then decided to book the next day for another private tour because Jim said it’ll be fine that he will communicate with his boss and we should be able to get a boat. And if can’t be arranged, we will be notified. And what happens? No notification whatsoever and when we showed up to the lobby, no one came. Wasted a whole day because other good tours needs to be booked advanced.
When we saw the yellow tricycle boss again the next day, first he was like “oh yeah it was a miscommunication”, then again he was like “Jim never told me”. Like dude no one is stupid and am sure Jim had said something because Jim is a good kid and only someone like him would ignore people.

Anyway - recommendations for others: avoid JY Travels because I’ve seen people complain on Google Review that they’re good at no shows. Just don’t let them ruin your trip. Instead, go with Expedition tours. Pricing may be a little high, but food + entrance fee is included which when you buy food to cook on the boat it’ll be about (500-600php) + entrance fee (we spent 800php), it’ll come out to be the same.
Recommendation for Funny Lion - should partner with another agency who’s more friendly and professional, really shouldn’t be all difficult.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Ming C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Manager at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Ming!

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We're happy to hear that you found our services great. We would also like to express our gratitude towards your comments and suggestions. It is comments and suggestions like yours that help us check and improve our services and amenities. We're hoping that we can welcome you back in the resort again and hopefully, the next one is with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews