We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable worst hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corto del Mar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable worst hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2017

If you consider to choose this hotel , you have to read my review before you make final decision !!

I stay in Coron 6 nights , first three days at Two season bayside hotel , it's nice (You can see my another review for two season) . and last three days I choose Corto Del Mar because it's Top 3 hotel at Coron according to TripAdvisor reviews. And..... I was wrong!!! The worst service and hotel management I never seen !! In normal case , maybe this hotel is acceptable , but if they have big group guest , and those guest is rude with no courtesy / politeness , that will be a big problem !!! Here is the whole story ~

Apr.7 , this hotel have a big group guest visit named "M Security Tech Company" (hereinafter called "M-company") , They have a party at dinner time , and use speaker singing very loudly , it was fine , but they keep singing to 2 a.m. , Yes , "2 am" , I called to front desk about three times to complaint this , they always feedback they already informed M-company , but not work , that's all !! Karaoke is provided by hotel , and they can do NOTHING to stop this rude behavior , "Inform them" , That's all what this hotel solve this issue !! So I was finally fed up with this , I told front desk , If I still hear they singing with your Karaoke device , I will go to front desk and ask return my money , and change to the other hotel . so they stop singing , BUT!!!! lot of drunk people move to pool side which should already be closed at 11 pm , and they kept talking loudly , laughing , yelling .....
This time I directly open my door , and stare those rude guests , front desk saw my fury , use local language to ask them silence , and they didn't keep quiet for long , about 5 min later , they start talking , laughing , yelling AGAIN and AGAIN ..... can't remember when they stop , probably 4 am .
BTW , I have to get up early at 7 am , I have to go to airport on 8:30 am .

Apr.8 morning , I only slept about three hours , I go to front desk and try to escalate this to manager , Here is the brief of she talked to me ~
1. They did inform those guests to be quiet , but not work , so you can talk to M company by yourself (Yes , they ask "ME" , their guest to talk to M-company be quiet by myself !!!)
2. Most of guests are M-Company (So ? Is this means other guests have to tolerate this ?)
3. You are the only guest to complaint about this . (Other guest didn't escalate because M-company is a huge group stay at this hotel , they don't want to get into trouble , this NOT means other guest don't feel uncomfortable! )

After this useless conversation , I gave up , If you are looking for Coron hotel , I strongly recommend you to keep away from this ! Try two season bayside or others , if you don't want to screw up your vacation .

------------------------------------------
Summary of Pros/Cons
Pros:
1. Free airport pick up / drop off .
2. Close to pier and main street , can reach there by walk.
3. They have dive shop , can join dive tour easily

Cons:
1. Front desk and manage level service is poor , don't know how to manage hotel .
2. If there is any big group stay at hotel , other guest rights will be sacrificed
3. No beautiful scenery outside of window , face to pool , or face to local people house .
4. No Wifi in your room

AGAIN , strongly recommend you to choose other hotel if you still have other options .
I fully responsible to what I say here!

Room Tip: If you don't need balcony , choose Standard room , it have larger indoor space if compare with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    121
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
131
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2017

My family and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was more than enough of what we need for a vacation away from Manila. The front desk staff was quick to re-book our reserved room with no fuss, as we had to move our date of visit a day later than expected.
The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport which is a great help. You will receive a complimentary drink upon arrival and a smile from the receptionist (Joanna) at the front desk. For package tours, the best advice is to book them in advance with the hotel receptionist because some spots are limited. Payment for the tour packages can be charged to your room. You can borrow several beach towels to take with you during tours. Wifi is limited only at the Front desk but some weak signal reached our room since we reserved the Sea view junior suite directly above the reception.
The room was spacious and had an awesome view, the few houses before the water which really didn’t bother us at all. This town started as a fishing village, so it is well understood that the settlers were here first and built their houses long before the hotel started operation.
The complimentary breakfast was good, I recommend Danggit with fried rice. Pools were kept well and clean along with the rest of the place.
I left my DSLR camera in the van on the way to the airport and didn't notice it was missing till we landed in Manila. The Front desk staff was quick to assist and helped us recover the unit. They went above and beyond what was required of them just to send my camera back to Manila by courier. I am very grateful to Ms. Joanna and the rest of the Hotel staff for their help.

Stayed March 2017
Helpful?
Thank AldwinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2017. It's a great hotel with a beautiful pool and close enough to the docks but just off the beaten path so you have a bit of quiet. Great food at the restaurant but wouldn't recommend the bar. Drinks are way overpriced considering what you pay at other places in town. Staff are dicey, some were wonderful and some are clearly not suited for the service industry, particularly the restaurant servers. The bartenders were consistently fantastic but the servers were brusk, resentful and full of eye rolls and annoyed sighs with even 1 question about a menu item or a request for a water/coffee refill (which is free with breakfast). Not a deal breaker but I expected a bit better service given the hotel's price point.

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anywhere4Animals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Stayed 5 nights. Staff are wonderful. Dived with the affiliated Corto Divers dive shop and was able to charge everything to the room. You even get a small discount diving with them. Breakfast was excellent. We even ate other meals at the hotel restaurant which were good. Two blocks walking and you're on the main road through town where you'll find all sorts of shops, restaurants, stores, etc. being off the main road is best if you want peace and quiet. If 2 blocks is too much of a walk, then take a motorized tricycle for 10 pesos anywhere in town.
The only complaint that I have with the hotel is that wifi only works in the front desk area and even then very spotty. Depends on how many people are there trying to acces. Best bet is 5:00 AM - 5:45 AM. Another group of my friends stayed at the blue wave hotel and had much better wifi access.
Yes, I'm on vacation anyway but trying to check in for flights becomes a problem. Maybe they should have a dedicated PC/business center for important stuff like that.
I would still return to this hotel if coming back to Coron.

Stayed March 2017, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nitro888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Hotel infrastructure is good but not perfect. There was a contact problem with the light beside the bed and as other reviews already state the water is not really easy to adjust and is either hot or cold. For a hotel in this price category we were shocked how bad the service is. Restaurant and room cleaning was ok but the staff at the reception was not really welcoming or friendly. We were also not provided any information about the hotel or surroundings. Compared to other Filippinos we met and talked to during our stay in Coron this was really surprising as everyone was so friendly! There was no hotel manager in the hotel who asked us how our stay is and whether we need any help.

We decided also to test the laundry service. The laundry smelled nice but was put back into the dirty bag! Everywhere else you get either a new bag or the clean laundry gets wrapped with plastic! You are better off putting the laundry to a shop down the road (direction to the loading area for boat trips).

Another thing to mention is that the complementary breakfast is really small. For everything you want in addition you have to pay.

This hotel could be so great and has a lot of potential if the above points are improved. For this price and the bad service I have to give it a 2* review. We were also not asked how we liked the stay at the check out. No good bye or have a nice trip. The hotel urgently needs a manager who provides training to the staff.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank realgrimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.5 km away
Asia Grand View Hotel
1.7 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
272 reviews
25.7 km away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
24.4 km away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
329 reviews
0.3 km away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#6 of 20 in Coron
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto del Mar Hotel

Property: Corto del Mar Hotel
Address: Comeseria Street | Barangay 1, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Price range (per night): ₱4,833 - ₱6,282
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto del Mar hotel is located in the heart of Coron town on the island of Busuanga in the north of Palawan. The hotel and its 32 bedrooms and suites have been decorated with taste and character giving the hotel a unique blend of Mediterranean and Filipino feel. With beautiful views over Coron Island, it's a great place to go explore the gems around whether on banka or motorbike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corto del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing