We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs training!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corto del Mar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff needs training!”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Hotel infrastructure is good but not perfect. There was a contact problem with the light beside the bed and as other reviews already state the water is not really easy to adjust and is either hot or cold. For a hotel in this price category we were shocked how bad the service is. Restaurant and room cleaning was ok but the staff at the reception was not really welcoming or friendly. We were also not provided any information about the hotel or surroundings. Compared to other Filippinos we met and talked to during our stay in Coron this was really surprising as everyone was so friendly! There was no hotel manager in the hotel who asked us how our stay is and whether we need any help.

We decided also to test the laundry service. The laundry smelled nice but was put back into the dirty bag! Everywhere else you get either a new bag or the clean laundry gets wrapped with plastic! You are better off putting the laundry to a shop down the road (direction to the loading area for boat trips).

Another thing to mention is that the complementary breakfast is really small. For everything you want in addition you have to pay.

This hotel could be so great and has a lot of potential if the above points are improved. For this price and the bad service I have to give it a 2* review. We were also not asked how we liked the stay at the check out. No good bye or have a nice trip. The hotel urgently needs a manager who provides training to the staff.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank realgrimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    120
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
66
129
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2017

This is a very nice small hotel situated very close to town centre, and the pier for excursions. Layout is relaxing with food served in a cloistered area overlooking pool. Rooms (standard) are perfectly adequate although hey offer no view. Prices are not exorbitant although probably a little pricey for the location. Breakfast is a la carte and fairly basic but portions are reasonable. Dinner menu offers extensive choice (both asian and western), and is generally well cooked and presented. BUT don't expect much if you order seafood dishes - my wife did 3 times - on the first 2 occasions was underwhelmed by lhe small amount of seafood in the dish and on the 3rd occasion sent it back as there was NO seafood in the 'seafood fried rice'. We also weren't happy with the fact that in the outdoor restaurant smoking was allowed (although the manager promised to do something to at least discourage that). All in all, apart from these issues, a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are ok can be a bit noisy with the locals roosters at night and no view Deluxe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2017

We are traveling as the group(3 couples).

I think here is the best place to stay in Coron town.(especially for family and couple)

Not too far from the main district and not too noisy.

It is expensive compared to other accommodations in Coron town but It is not wasting money.

*They offer free pick-up and drop-off from and to the airport. You should ask them for it.

** Wifi is not available. I spent 3 nights but never able to access the internet. They should remove the word 'WiFi available'.

Room Tip: No WiFi is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONGHOON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2017

The draw back to this hotel is the view. You have a view of the slums on one side which we got and the person at the reception is not very helpful. The location is a bit far from the town. The breakfast is ala carte which is a drawback as I was hungry even after the plate was over. They have a great diving shop which I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANDIT2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2017

I got food poisoning after eating the lechon kawali for dinner, but despite this setback, I still give this place 4 stars.

The front desk was extremely helpful in setting up Coron tours. We signed up for 3 of them during our stay. When the shuttle van picked us up for the tours, the front desk staff automatically had beach towels prepared for us. The staff was pleasant and eager to help us carry our luggage to the 3rd floor. The interior is very charming with all the woodwork.

It would be nice if they offered spa services outside of your room. We booked a massage, but the massage takes place in your room. It was cheap though!

I was surprised by how extensive the menu was -- the food is good! I would advise people to order dishes that would need to be freshly cooked. I probably got food poisoning from the lechon kawali because that it something you can easily reheat. They have a night where they have great pizza deals - we ordered that and was very satisfied.

I did not use the pool, but it looked well kept and clean. The room was big and included free bottles of bottled water. Our room was definitely facing the shanties, but we didn't mind because we were hardly in the room anyway.

I appreciated the free hotel shuttle and free breakfast that was included with the room. Water pressure was strong and we did not experience any problems with hot water. Yes, Wifi is slow -- but you are on vacation and shouldn't be on the internet when you have beautiful Coron to explore. Finally, location is great because it is close to the water so we didn't have to travel very far when they picked us up for our island tours.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juzaileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.7 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
267 reviews
25.7 km away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
197 reviews
1.5 km away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
325 reviews
0.6 km away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
0.3 km away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto del Mar Hotel

Property: Corto del Mar Hotel
Address: Comeseria Street | Barangay 1, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Price range (per night): ₱4,703 - ₱6,232
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto del Mar hotel is located in the heart of Coron town on the island of Busuanga in the north of Palawan. The hotel and its 32 bedrooms and suites have been decorated with taste and character giving the hotel a unique blend of Mediterranean and Filipino feel. With beautiful views over Coron Island, it's a great place to go explore the gems around whether on banka or motorbike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Corto del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing