We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best experience ever on the Coron to El nido expedition

We knew we wanted to go on an expedition from Coron to El nido and didn't know which of the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
svnbrn
via mobile
Once in a Lifetime Adventure

We did the Coron to Coron 4D/3N trip and had an amazing time. We highly recommend this tour for... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AwkwardAnni
,
Oakland, California
via mobile
Read all 323 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Busuanga Island
from $29.00
More Info
from $163.00
More Info
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
317
4
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
317
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el nido recommend this trip rum and coke pass island once in a lifetime coron trip banana island chef darwin expedition crew philippines aris tourists boat barbie itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 323 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

There are no words to describe how incredible this boat and team are but I’ll try:

To start, the guides absolutely make this trip. They are kind, funny, mindful, knowledgable and overall a group of great guys with huge hearts.
The food is by far the best you will have in the Philippines. Generally I would say the Filipinos struggle catering for vegetarians but chef Renald with all of his amazing experience catered for each and every one of us no matter our preferences. All of the fish and seafood caught fresh and variation in each meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner! Rum is also limitless.. !
The trips, perfectly orchestrated so there are never crowds and feel totally personal like you were the first person to have ever ventured there. The guides also know so much about the area and take you to hidden beaches and show you secret caves. Answering almost any question no matter how difficult or ridiculous.
Every evening there is a beautiful bonfire on white sand beaches with endless rum and deep chats and music.
This trip really brings you back to basics and the nature is beautiful. Could not recommend this more.
BDBM is a trip curated from the heart to show everyone the beauty of the Philippines. There’s is an underlying message of charity and mindfulness. If you can, request to see the dog sanctuary. And clear up your plastics!

Word of Warning: do not go on this trip if you are a fussy princess. You live as an islander for 4 days. This means you will shower out of a bucket, eat fresh from the sea and sleep on a beach. There is no electricity on the islands except between 7-11pm and the toilets don’t have a flush. Complaining only ruins the trip for everyone else so please consider this before booking.

Thank you so much everyone, Joy (Anthony), Ambo, RJ, Chef Renald, Mark and El Capitan&team. See you soon for Coron - El Nido xxx

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank callystone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

My sister and I (24 and 30) went on BDBM and it was the best thing about our holiday in the Philippines! There is no faffing about on the first day, you fill in your forms and meet the rest of the tour and get onto the boat. The crew introduce themselves whilst on the boat so we don’t waste time and can get going to the first location. You’re never usually on the boat for longer than an hour or so at most, as there’s so many sites for them to take you to see. You can see caves, lagoons, try paddle boarding and snorkel in the most amazing reefs I’ve ever seen (better than the Great Barrier Reef).

Each day you stay somewhere new, the accommodation is basic but still good. (bucket showers for the first 2 nights but then a normal shower on the last night). On the second night you sleep on a private island in tents on the beach and can watch the stars and then the sunrise and it’s the most incredible experience, not hot at all in the tent which was surprising.

The food is also amazing and they make so much so you can go up for more!! There is a lot of variety to the meals so you never eat the same meal, even for breakfast. All drinks are included in the package so it’s nice and easy you just help yourself whenever you want.

You eat breakfast on the islands, lunch on the boat and dinner on the islands by a campfire! They take you to places you otherwise would never visit and so it makes the trip so much more worthwhile. You can also choose to go to the dog sanctuary that they sponsor which was very sweet. You can go swimming at night and be surrounded by glowing plankton. There are some other aspects too but they want to keep these a surprise for guests!

The crew made this trip for us. They were so friendly and so passionate about where they lived and they were excited to show us. They are really conscientious about the environment and protecting sea life, but talk about it in a non-preachy way. The crew were so happy all the time and made sure we were too. They were willing to help to us with anything, even just going round the boat passing out drinks so people didn’t have to get up. They’re the nicest people in the world. Joy, who was our leader, is the best person ever.

100% do this trip if you can!! It may seem quite expensive for a budget traveller but it is cheaper than market alternatives and you get a LOT for your money. We had a truly incredible time and the trip BDBM offer people is amazing.

* Bring some speakers so you can play some music on the boat.

* Snorkels and fins are provided for free so you don’t need to take your own. They also provide towels on the second and third night.

* they feed you loads so you won’t get hungry!

*** if you’re torn between this and other trips like Tao Expedition, DO BDBM INSTEAD! We did both trips and they don’t even compare. Big dream boat man is so so good.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank elliegb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Everything about this was amazing, the locations, activities, food, drink, beaches and of course the crew. Spent 2 weeks in The Philippines with 4 friends and this was definitely our highlight. 100% would go again!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Can’t imagine experiencing Coron any other way. Laid back, rustic but safe and comfortable. Whole experience was like a surreal dream of one amazing beach, island, snorkeling spot after the next...all without worrying about the day, time or where we were heading next...it just all blurred together in an amazing continuum.

Solid food throughout with an incredible bbq the last night. The staff is super nice, really cares and is responsible. Other people on the boat were awesome and chill. If you like outdoor living and want to experience some amazing remote islands do this trip. If you are high maintenance and aren’t comfortable camping out with rustic accommodations don’t go. Only negative is if you are fair skinned shade on the boat can be in high demand in the afternoons, but just bring lots of sunscreen.

Highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank agun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

I had an amazing experience with Big Dream Boat Man, there's no better way to get to know Coron island.
The crew was really friendly and they were all the time making jokes, playing with each other which made the trip even more fun.
We were in total 14 people, plus crew. It felt like it was a good amount of people, it never felt crowded, we had plenty of space to stay in the shadow or sunbath and relax.
They had snorkel and fins for everybody which was handy since we stopped in so many places for snorkeling. They also had some wet shoes for those who didn't have one.
Every day we would sleep on a different island, they would prepare a nice dinner, we would sit by a fire pit and chat before going sleep. We would wake up and there would already be some hot water ready for us to make a coffee. Around 7:30 we would have breakfast which was really good, some days would have pancakes or eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh fruits...
Then we would island hopping. They were really smart and knowledgeable about the area that we managed to avoid the crowd in most of the places and had the island almost just for us.
We would have lunch at the beaches. By the end of the afternoon, when we were heading to the next island we would sleep, they would serve some fried bananas or banana crepes. It was so delicious!
The accommodations were simple but were good enough, don't expect luxury.
We could watch the sunrise, the sunset and the full moon rise everyday, although some people would opt for not watching the sunrise and sleep a bit longer, it is totally up to you.
The final night was something super special, we all shared a typical Philippino boodle fight dinner, with so many yummy foods.
Then we had a live band playing for us around a fire pit, everybody was so happy, dancing and celebrating. It was the perfect closing for the trip!
Things I would suggest bringing:
- Speakers (they don't have an internal sound system in the boat)
- Power bank (you will be able to charge your electronics on the islands during the night, but is nice to have it on the boat to change the phone and speakers)
- Sunscreen, sunglasses and a hat
- Snacks, although you can go by without it.
- Waterproof camera
- Insect repellent
- Wet bag
- Open mind ;)

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank CarlaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews