We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$136
Expedia.comUS$136
Hotels.comUS$136
eDreamsUS$136
TravelocityUS$136
Orbitz.comUS$136
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
138
50
16
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
138
50
16
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sunday lunch country pub lovely pub lovely evening wet room warm welcome long weekend cheesecake landlord glastonbury dog toiletries barrie pubs wells
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2021 via mobile

We arrived early and were shown straight to our room. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff are very helpful. Breakfast was ordered for 8am as we had to leave for an event and it was ready for us on time. Great place to stay, we hope to return. Our evening meal was very good.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PeterH296
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

We stayed at The Lion at West Pennard on our way back from a break in Dorset. The rooms were spacious and really nicely decorated with a luxorious wet room. The whole place has an excellent atmosphere and feels very relaxed.
The food was excellent, both the dinner we enjoyed out on the tables at the front of The Lion and the breakfast which was generous and served with good coffee (something we often find is forgotten in some pubs).
The team were lovely and we'd definitely stay here again when we're next in the area.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelling-AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Wilson, Owner at The Lion at West Pennard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi Travelling-AC,

Thanks for taking the time to give such wonderful feedback. I'm so glad we managed to make your stay enjoyable and can't wait to welcome you back in the near future, hopefully for a little bit longer.

Barrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Had an amazing birthday meal at the Lion. Such a beautiful restaurant. The food was delicious. Staff were friendly and we much appreciated their recommendations The service was on point. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Loopy_loo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Wilson, Owner at The Lion at West Pennard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi Loopy_loo9

Thanks for the 5* review.

It's always wonderful to receive great feedback, we can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Barrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021

Fabulous lunchtime meal at The Lion at West Pennard. Great setting, atmosphere and excellent service, Barrie and Christian Lockyer doing their usual superb hosting. Well worth a visit for an evening or lunchtime meal and pleasingly large Malbec.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BazSofLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Wilson, Owner at The Lion at West Pennard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi 726KarenS,

Thanks for such an amazing review.

It's always a pleasure to welcome you in the pub and look forward to seeing you again.

I told you the Sticky Ginger Sponge is to die for!]

Barrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Just popped in to The Lion en route to Old Oaks Camping/Touring/Glamping site, for some lunch prior to check in.
Had a superb light lunch, a shared Cray fish tail starter, 2x Thai prawn filled flatbreads and two superb desserts, olive oil cake and a white miso deconstructed cheesecake which was amazing. Two glasses of picpoult and pint of Atlantic IPA for £51. Very good value for the quality of food. Have definitely paid more for less elsewhere.
Thoroughly recommend this dog friendly pub/hotel if you are in the area or passing through. Landlord only been in since November 2020. Doing a great job!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Quinny1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Wilson, Owner at The Lion at West Pennard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi Quinny1882,

Thanks for the 5* review.

It was a pleasure to meet you, and your 4 legged friend!

I hope you enjoyed your break away and hope to see you back in the near future.

Barrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews