We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
yescapade.com
Riu.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,781)
Filter reviews
8,781 results
Traveler rating
3,203
3,049
1,483
572
474
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,203
3,049
1,483
572
474
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riu guanacaste sports bar zip lining costa rica monkey bar steak horseback riding italian restaurant specialty restaurants pura vida hot springs howler monkeys ocean view make reservations rainy season black sand sushi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 8,781 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2020

Hotel Riu and his people never stop to surprising me. This week i spend a few night with me wife, even the Covid emergency make peoples fill warm and help you to be confortable. Mr Harley was an excellent

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank FellowTraveler824872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2020

If you are the type of customer that makes sure to review the comments before booking in any place, then good. My experience is very similar to other people that visited this hotel. The re-opening does not have all the publicity that they place in order to attract more customers. When I went to this hotel with my family, the pool closes at 6pm. The disco is closed (of course for health regulations), so after 9pm or 9:30 pm there is nothing else to do but to stay drinking something before going to sleep. The pool table is not functioning in the snack bar and the snacks I saw were only "Nachos" or a few types of sandwiches, there was no time I went to the snack to find something different than that. The beach activities like kayaking, paddle surf, etc, were mentioned in the All Inclusive Document however they were not functioning, Not even in the 5 am to 8:30 am slot allowed by the Government in regards to beaches usage.
In the rooms we booked, there was no alcohol in the mini bar because "the delivery has still not arrived to the hotel" after one or two weeks being opened. For me Customer Service was average like 50% or less, the only people that treated us with empathy, were the receptionists and thats it.
All these specific situations could have been tolerated if it was specifically mentioned and written on the publicity or the "All Inclusive" doc that you can download from the page , before doing any booking.

And after all this, they never reached out to me to provide any answer or apology for all the things that were not clearly specified before me doing the booking.
Again, this is only my personal experience with my family, but pretty sure there are similar reviews like this one.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jostinm312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riu Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2020

Dear Jostin,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

On our website we do indicate that in order to meet each country’s hygiene requirements, there may be some changes to each hotel’s services or facilities that differ from what is described. All the changes that may occur are only to ensure our customers’ wellbeing and peace of mind. However, we hope for your understanding that our protocols are being continuously updated with the latest information available, always taking into account the recommendations of expert bodies.

At RIU Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide our guests with exceptional service and wonderful memories. As you can well imagine, we are very disappointed to read your comment about your stay and we are sorry that your experience was not at all reflective of the quality standards we set for ourselves. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our worldwide available hotels in the near future and to provide a more superior experience and to prove that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2020

Lowering the price does not mean lowering the quality Or is it because they are only receiving costa Rican?

The hotel is not made to take children (even on the phone they said yes) there are no snacks and the only places habilitated for snacks are at the reception means you have to walk a lot and the other places habilitated in the papagayo restaurant where the food was really bad for don't say lousy.
Of the 5 restaurants, only 2 are open. I even i get sick.

The ads say at the Riu Palace there is 24-hour room service, it is not true .

Attention is mediocre.

Poor quality rooms, poor quality pillows and sinks with broken parts stained drawers I m not sure if it was blood or something else.
Everyone crowded into the show (what happened to the pandemic).
But for me the most serious was the poor service of the employees mostly at restaurant.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TICO2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riu Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us.

We want all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable and unique experience with us at a great value, and we are sorry to see that some aspects of your stay were not what you had in mind. Trust that your comments will be reviewed among our team, as we continually strive to improve for the comfort of our guests, and we would love to get another chance to welcome you back.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

I enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Before I talk about the hotel, book your ATV excursions with Alan Hall with Life Time-. One of the best times I’ve had in my life, personalized a tour with Alan. Meet him at the beach at the hotel. Look for the orange shirt. More about the ATV later.

Back to the Riu Guanacaste.The grounds are beautiful and picturesque. Constant care to keep everything well maintained and clean. Hotel staff are very warm and accommodating. Rooms are a bit dated, especially the bed but clean and again well maintained. Bathroom is updated.
Food
We enjoyed the Italian food and Chinese. Line forms early for both so get there early. Otherwise we waited 1 hour for Italian.The general breakfast dining room has lots of choices-customize your omelette etc. Costa Rica coffee is excellent!

Beach
Beach is a bit rocky and brown sand. I’m accustomed to the sugary white sand off the Gulf in Seaside Florida so...

Back to the ATV
Alan arranged a private 4 hour ATV mountain and beach trip. We stopped at a restaurant and had fresh red snapper with the head on - Delicious!! We went to a sugary white sand beach with less rocks. No pressure to leave. We swam as long as we wanted.

Walk along the beach to your left pass the Riu Palace just a couple of minutes to several outside covered tents for the best massage- Patricia and Maria were is our masseur. Full 1 hour body massage for 35.00!!!!

Definitely recommend - 10 stars for Alan and 4 stars for Riu Grancaste(would be 5 stars if update the facility)

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DarCrushingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riu Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review with us!

It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2020

Our family is here now. Yesterday there was only one pool bar open with continuously long lines and people ordering 6 plus drinks. Today only the beach restaurant was open for lunch with 1,000 plus people lined up first to get in then line up again to get dry mystery tasteless meat. Dinners have been very good so far but an hour to have a terrible lunch is inexcusable.
Wait until this hotel is fully open as the bean counters are killing it with the low numbers.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2020

Dear Steve,

Sincere thanks for staying at our beautiful 5-star hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Unfortunately due to the new situation we are facing at the moment we have been forced to take extraordinary measures. Gastronomy continues to be one of our strengths and to guaranty maximum enjoyment, we have considerably reduced the seating capacity and have applied all the necessary measures in terms of hygiene and safety distances. While we regret that you had to wait longer than usually, we hope for your understanding that our strict new protocols have been implemented for your own and our employees’ protection.

We are sorry that we were not able to provide you with the holiday you were looking for but hope you have taken away some joyful memories of your stay as we would love to have the opportunity to accommodate you in one of our other hotels in the future.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews