We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
70
33
19
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
33
19
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubafternoon teamixed grillmedium rare beefpatelovely mealhomemade chipsordered drinks at the barstopped for lunchlovely afternooncooked to perfectionscampisunday carverytuna mayolovely barlog firehome cooked
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

My sister and I came here for afternoon tea and were very disappointed.
We arrived a little early and were shown to a table. The setting is very nice and there was a lovely open fire.
We were asked if we wanted tea or coffee. We opted for tea and it was brought out in 2 small pots.
The food was brought out a short time later and we were very disappointed to say the least. It had obviously been pre prepared as the crisps on top of the sandwiches were soggy.
The sandwiches were cheese and onion, ham and prawn.
I am vegetarian so could only have the cheese sandwiches and was only able to have 2 out of the 4 small triangles as the other 2 had some kind of blue substance on the bread.
In terms of the cakes, there was a scone with jams and cream which was ok but was not home made and clearly out of a packet. The other cake was a citrus tart which we had half each. Again this wasn’t particularly fresh or tasty.
We were both disappointed and it has put us off coming here again

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ejd1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor R, Manager at Red Lion Inn Redbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

i am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea experience with us , and i will look to rectify with the chef why it was not up to the standards we set at the red lion , also if you had of informed us before hand that you were vegetarian then we could of made sure there was plenty of options for you available , i hope you may give us another chance here at the red lion

regards Connor and the Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13567
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Great carvery with rare beef on offer. The beef however was very chewy. Other options of gammon and pork were very good. Starters were ok but standard pub fare. Nicely decorated with attentive staff. Worth a visit

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed for the second time with 8 friends and after a quick problem with the price we were ensconced in our rooms. The only complaint anyone could raise was the bathrooms could do with updating. Had a few drinks in the lovely bar before we went out for the evening although we were all saliavating at the smell of the food (and having eaten before there I was wishing we could stay for dinner).

After a late night (sorry if we were rowdy lol) we all settled down to a very good nights sleep.

No complaints about breakfast. Plenty to go round and good quality.

Needless to say we will be back. Our favourite getaway when we’re in the surrounding area

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Steviefox69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor R, Manager at Red Lion Inn Redbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much Stevie for your comment so pleased you had a pleasant lovely stay and a solid breakfast always makes the occasion that bit more special when away from home , we hope to see you again very soon

regards Connor and the Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable Valentine's night at this great inn. We stayed overnight, the room had all the amenities you could need and although the decor is a little dated it was comfortable and clean. The evening meal was excellent,very tasty and nicely presented and the staff were very helpful friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent too and we will definitely be back again

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor R, Manager at Red Lion Inn Redbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely comment Stuart so pleased you had a great meal on the special occasion with your partner , we look forward to seeing you again very soon

regards Connor and the Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I brought my mum for afternoon tea, after recommendation, and it certainly lived up to expectation. It was absolutely delicious and the service was perfect. We sat by the open fire which was so cosey it was just lovely. It really Made my mums day (and mine)
I'd highly recommend this place, it's beyond lovely.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank wizzadoralaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor R, Manager at Red Lion Inn Redbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comment so pleased to here our afternoon tea made it a great day for you and your mum and we hope to see you again very soon !

regards Connor and the Red Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews