We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli
Nearby Hotels
smartline Eriyadu(Eriyadu Island)
US$245
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Summer Island Maldives(Ziyaaraifushi Island)
US$542
US$325
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Reethi Rah(Reethirah Island)
US$8,660
US$2,370
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$570
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meeru Island Resort & Spa(Meerufenfushi)
US$537
US$416
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Club Med Finolhu Villas(North Male Atoll)
US$1,861
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown Beach Hotel(Dhiffushi Island)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Araamu Holidays & Spa(Dhiffushi Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coco Bodu Hithi(Bodu Hithi Island)
US$619
US$513
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Makunudu Island(Makunudu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveler rating
687
116
25
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
116
25
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe beach villaoctopusfisheagle raysroom boycurry stationplunge poolout of this worldoutdoor bathroomdive centreall inclusive packagegrill restaurantdart boardflip flopscurriesour honeymoonall inclusive plan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on our honeymoon to OBLU and it was amazing! We booked through Purely Maldives, who recommended this resort based on our budget and most important aspects for us, which were a good house reef for snorkelling and having a villa/bungalow over the water. It was definitely the best value for money resort we found.

Villa:
We had a lagoon villa, which is only half over water, but still had uninterrupted views of the sea which was all we wanted. As a bonus, the lagoon villas have large plunge pools, which was amazing to cool off and relax in whilst watching the sunset or looking at the sharks and rays swim right by our villa. We were extremely glad we chose a lagoon villa as they are much more private than the beach villas, and the view is incomparable. The villa is gorgeous, nicely decorated and spacious with a comfortable 4 poster bed. The bathroom is awesome! It's huge and half of it is open to the elements, and showering under the sky and trees was out of this world. We usually had at least 1 gecko hanging around in the bathroom, but we quite liked having them around as they never came near the inside part, just stuck to the wall above the shower area. The villa was kept very clean, with a visit from Mohamed in the morning to make the bed, tidy up, change towels, refill minibar etc, and in the evening for the turn down service, lovely touch.

Food and staff:
Everything the reviews say about the variety of food and friendliness of staff is true, and I won't repeat what hundreds of people have already said. At meal times, I would recommend one of the tables indoors next to the windows. We sat outside a few times, and even though the view is spectacular, during the day it's very hot, and in the evening it's very dark. Next to the window inside, it is much cooler and you still get to watch the sharks, rays and crabs outside.

House reef:
We snorkelled twice a day every day we were there, it was amazing! We saw turtles, sharks and rays every day, and there were times when we were surrounded by dozens of fish, we felt like part of the school. The colours of the fish were beautiful. The reef, like everywhere else, has suffered from bleaching, but there is still a fair bit of colour to it.
I would suggest taking water shoes as there is quite a lot of coral on the sand and can be a bit rough on bare feet.

Water sports:
We didn't do any scuba diving as the snorkelling was so good, we couldn't imagine seeing much more further down. We tried stand up paddle and kayaking, which is included as part of the AI package. Stand up paddle was fun, even though we weren't brilliant at it, it probably made it more fun laughing at each other falling over. We returned the kayak very shortly after we got it, simply because it was far too hot not to be in the water or the shade. We decided not to hire the pedalo for that reason.

Weather:
As mentioned above, it was very hot. We were there the last week of March, and it was sunny every day. We live in a hot country, and we made the huge mistake of not using a high enough SPF and topping up more frequently. As we were in the water almost all day, we didn't feel the effects of the sun until it was too late. We ended up having to buy some from the shop on the island, which was very expensive.

Souvenirs:
There is quite a wide range of souvenirs for girls, not so much for guys, in our opinion. We bought quite a lot of little bits and pieces for ourselves and our family, however there is a much wider range at the duty free shop in the airport, and it's cheaper.

All in all, we had the best honeymoon we could ever have imagined, and I literally cried when we left. If you enjoy snorkelling/scuba diving, and want a bit of a more luxurious holiday, this is the place for you.

Thank you OBLU for an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank eastcoastbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUhelengeli, Manager at OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear eastcoastbutterfly,

Greetings from the blissful island of OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli!
I would like to extend my heartfelt thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay with us.

It is so pleasing to read all those adjectives you wrote to describe the villa, food, staff, the house reef and your fun experience of water sports. To sum up, you had an unforgettable holiday with your family at OBLU.
And yes, we have the same feeling whenever guests are leaving; we don’t want you to leave either.
I will surely pass on your lovely feedback to all the team members who went above and beyond to create memorable experiences for you.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jorge Amaro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing place the Oblu is. The staff are all amazing and a special thanks to Ahmed our room attendant and Mohammad our waiter. Nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for 10 days in March 2018 and everything was perfect. The deluxe beach villa we stayed in was clean, comfortable and relaxing. The beach is outstanding and is swept along with all the paths and outdoor areas every day. No shoes for 10 days was such a lovely feeling and there is no stuffiness about dress codes for evening meals. Snorkeling is just overwhelming, we have hours of GoPro footage of sharks, octopus, turtles, barracudas, rays and hundreds of colorful fish. We cant wait to go back. Thanks to everyone on the island for making my husbands 50th birthday such a memorable occasion. Cant thank you all enough.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dalehaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUhelengeli, Manager at OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear dalehaines,

Greetings from OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli!
Please accept our thanks for your very kind review of your recent stay with us.
It is so pleasing to read you had an enjoyable time with your husband celebrating his birthday and appreciating the beauty of nature of the island and the house reef.
The reef and it’s abundance of marine life is one of our best prides. You are most welcome, it’s our pleasure to make your holiday memorable.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to Mr. Ahmed & Mr. Mohamed and to all the team members who go above and beyond to create memorable experiences for you and husband. It’s great to have such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon!
Kind regards,

Jorge Amaro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Flights
As a very frequent flier on BA, we chose this BA holiday in the hope that I could use miles for upgrades. First mistake. Even after booking a year in advance, it was still not possible to use miles for an upgrade.
At check in our bags were labelled as priority bags – in Male they came out almost last. Normally on a BA flight the cabin service manager will come and greet frequent fliers and offer a bottle of water. Obviously not on holiday flights. All in all – was it really worth choosing BA to fly with?

Transfers
Met at the airport by Helengeli reps. Quite quickly shown to the speed boat, although others had been waiting longer as we were last out waiting for our priority bags !! Transfer took approx. 50 minutes – this time is dependant on the sea conditions. Boat was nice, plenty of space cold towels and water supplied. There was also WIFI on the boat.

Arrival & Check-in
We were greeted by around 20 staff on arrival with drums and clapping. Check-in was fast and efficient, we were then walked to our deluxe beach villa. Bags arrive 5 minutes later

Room + Bathroom
We had room 206 on the sunset side. Very clean, comfortable bed. Lovely outside bathroom with his and hers sink. Large efficient shower with good hot water.
One small suggestion – bedside cabinets or a draw under the table for storing medicines, glasses, mobile phone etc.
Lots of UK plug sockets which is useful.
Room was kept beautiful by our room boy Arun, clean towels fresh bottles of water as required. He very quickly knew our routine (up early to breakfast, then diving back around 11:30) so he had the room clean and done while we away. He was also very happy to have a chat and offer advice or assistance. Great job.
Mini bar had a few cans of soft drinks and beer. Can be upgraded if wine etc is required. Mini bar restocked every day.

Helen’s Bar
Before dinner every night we frequented the bar. We normally sit at the bar, as soon as we arrived we were served, unless there were others waiting. Great service from Xerxes, but shouldn’t single him out because they were all great. Had to be careful, turn you head for 2 minutes, the glass has been refilled. Not a bad thing unless you are diving the next day.
There is an ice cream machine in the bar that is turned on at 4pm. Mr Fry starts frying nibbles at 4pm. Great fresh food, tasty and addictive especially if you were planning an early dinner.
Darts, table tennis, chess and pool table all in or around the bar.

Restaurant
Well we loved the food. My wife is a great lover of fish, salads and vegetables, I am a curry or meat and veg. man. There was a pizza/pasta station and a great dessert counter. There was always something to feast on. The salad bar was so good, often not really enough room for the main course. Wine choices were excellent and generally glasses being topped up without request. Seating was inside or out on the decking arrive early or late to sit outside. Outside is a popular place for all meals
One small comment – breakfast coffee could have been hotter.

Water sports/Dive school
Both my wife and I are qualified divers, the holiday is 70% about the diving, so this is a very important aspect for us. We were welcomed the first afternoon by Markus, who efficiently explains the proceedings helped us store our gear and get all the paperwork done. Next morning we arrived at the dive school. Friendly greeting from the staff along with a quick but detailed dive briefing. Then off to the boat. The dive gear was already on the boat and had been set up. The only thing we had to do was check all our equipment was there. The staff analysed the Nitrox and we signed the paper. A short boat ride and we were in water. The dive guides were excellent. We dived with Wajeeh, Imaa, Hameed and Sergio, all were professional, relaxed but making sure everyone was OK without being too formal. An excellent balance of skills. Special shout for Sergio who was patient while my wife and I took 4 or 5 minutes to get down to 10M dues to recovering from colds. Another special mention to Sergio for being able to spot things so small, I couldn’t even see them. Next day he turned up with a powerful magnify glass.

If you want to snorkel, free rental of the equipment at the dive school. They will also try help identify anything you have seen or photographed and are happy to do this. The house reef is excellent )one of the best) see the other reviews.

Conclusion
Lovely island, great food, exceptional service from all staff in every area. Thank you all so much for making a truly wonderful holiday. Quite a feat as it was our 6th time in the Maldives.

Room Tip: Sunset side is best
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CJM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUhelengeli, Manager at OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear CJM1955,

A very pleasant greetings from OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli!
I would like to extend my heartfelt thank you for your very kind and detailed review of your recent stay with us.

As a discerning international traveller I am sure that you had many options to choose from when deciding your vacation destination and you have chosen us. It is most pleasing to note that our services and facilities met with your expectations as it is our commitment to provide the finest in service and personal attention to all of our guests.
It is so pleasing to read a very good conclusion of our guests’ holiday with us.
I will surely pass on your lovely feedback to all the team members especially to the Dive team and to those whom you mentioned who went above and beyond to create memorable experiences for you.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to OBLU by Atmosphere in the near future.
Best regards,

Jorge Amaro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You will read a lot about works close to the island. There are works off both sides. Those to the East are absolutely miles away and will in no way affect your stay or view. Those to the west will. Greatly. This is to the side you enter the island at the main Jetty. Large lorries, levelling equipment and sea defences being worked on. Distance is hard to judge but I would say less than a 1/2 a mile. Loud noises as they dump rocks. We would have been devastated had we ended up on this side of the island. Hardly a blissful retreat. However many were clearly not concerned as the adult only pool faces the works and was always full when it need not have been. Perhaps some enjoyed watching. It was fascinating.

Moving on. We had a deluxe beach villa on the opposite side of the island. Same side as the over water villas.

Absolute paradise. We’ve been to Vivanta by Taj previously which was considerably more expensive and in no way better. The accommodation was equally as good despite only claiming to be 4*plus. Large comfortable beds and rooms with fantastic bathrooms. You felt like you were on your own secluded island as you are separated from the neighbors by vegetation when on the beach.

The reef is fantastic. Swam with turtles every day and on one day 4. (Not all at once.)

Food incredible. Staff incredible. Cleanliness spotless. You get the picture.

The big question. Would we return? Choose the correct side of the island and the answer is ........... YES in a heart beat.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Duncan-DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUhelengeli, Manager at OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Duncan-DB,

Greetings from OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli!
In behalf of the whole management, I would like to extend my heartfelt gratitude for your very kind review of your recent stay with us.

It is so pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the house reef and its abundant marine life, the incredible food and staff.
I will surely pass on your lovely feedback to all the team members, I’m sure they will be pleased to know.

We hope to welcome you again sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Jorge Amaro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are loads of reviews for this resort so I'll keep it to the highlights:

Snorkelling - Just amazing. Turtles, octopus and eagle rays just to name a few. The tidal stream gets vicious however so may wish to time your swims to slack-water. Fins and snorkels can be hired for free. If you do visit, please don't stand on the coral. It's amazing how many people do.

AI package - The best AI we have had. The food was great with about 4 'live stations' each night as well as a series of standard buffet fayre. Unusually for all-inc, the wine was really good and some nice cocktails were included too. I'll be on a diet for weeks now that I'm back home.

Rooms - We chose a lagoon villa for the privacy. You are not overlooked at all and can forget that anyone else exists on the island.

Construction work - As some others have already commented on, there is a major construction project on a neighbouring island to the south-east of Oblu. This is not audible though and genuinely didn't bother us.

Staff - They really are as good as everyone says!

Room Tip: Deluxe beach villas and lagoon villas get a great sunset view
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember05062015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews