We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plumeria Maldives
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alimatha Aquatic Resort(Alimathaa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Island Break(Fulidhoo)
View Hotel
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes(Mahaanaelhihuraa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fun Island Resort(Bodufinolhu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Raakani Villas(Guraidhoo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
151
24
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
24
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiving centeraffordable luxurynight snorkelingbeautiful islandspecial thanksbikini beachfishlocal islandsri lankathe hotel staffcoral reefsand bankjet skichef johnnywater sportsprivate beachluxury resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife spent 4nights in plumeria maldives we enjoyed every moment and we love the island nice beaches too.We love the food and restaurant staff are really nice always smiling and welcoming and the room is well cleaned room boy is very helpful. Reservation manager Azim is the best management staff in the island in my opinion. He really knows anticipating of customers needs. Actually we book 3 nights and we got check out letter form front office manager in our last night its say we will check out 12:00 and our transfer will be 14:00 its sound like everything we need and we are happy for that. Everything was perfect until we went to reception to pay our bills. Suddenly reception girl informed us we need check out at 10:30 morning and we need to wait for departure until 2:30. And we ask for early departure but it’s not possible and we ask for to extend one more night and its also not possible as per FOM and the receptionist has no clue about any information. for every information she need to go back to the office and ask from someone else. I was keep asking for my needs the only answer i got from the reception is “ sorry sir its not possible “ azim is the only person how told us “ Yes it’s possible “ or let me check for you. And we extended one more night with the help of Azim. And next day we got a check out letter say you need to leave the room exactly 10:30 and I believe which is very rude no matter where from the guest is maybe FOM is upset with us because we extend one night. Our main concern is staying 4hrs in the island without a room but we got the same news from our second check out letter also. That makes me really upset. Maybe Its because we are local.I feel FOM discriminated and underestimated us. This is the main problem in this business. No matter we’re from you costumer is please value the customer. Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rifaz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlumeriaMaldives, Manager at Plumeria Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued guest Rifaz,
Warm greetings from Plumeria Maldives.
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel.
Your feedback is vitally important to us.We appreciate your comments and suggestions.
We will further investigate the issue faced during check-out and would be keen to address it to avoid such occurrences in future.
We are glad that apart of this you enjoyed your stay and that it was "perfect". We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Manager Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room with sea view but on check in we were told they were fully booked. We were given a beach bungalow instead which was very nice but right buy the bungalows is the islands huge loud generator which runs 24/7. Each room is supplied with ear plugs as they are aware of this problem but even these do not mask out the terrible noise. We asked to move rooms but all the hotel rooms and beach bungalows sit around the huge generator. It is a very bad design for the comfort of the guests. The islands generator should be situated far away from this resort and the island is big enough to do that. The rooms are really nice with quality furnishings but the mattresses are like laying on wood. Extremely hard so with the loud generator noise it was impossible to sleep. The buffets were very good and staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mexistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlumeriaMaldives, Manager at Plumeria Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued guest,
Warm greetings from Plumeria Maldives.
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. Your feedback is vitally important to us.We appreciate your comments and suggestions.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Manager Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family went there 6-11 March 2018. We researched a lot about budget hotel where had good house reef and services in Maldives after we got the ticket. We wanted to bring our son to snorkeling around the island to see the animals underwater world not over water bungalow. Because it is too expensive and it is not our objective. We are so lucky to find this hotel after choosing for a few month. Plumeria is not low cost hotel as B&B or guesthouse but it is a good hotel that meet our objective (services, food, room, house reef, friendly stuff and diving center). We chose full board because we didn't want to find out any restaurant in the island. The chef from Indonesia is very creative for each meal, we were enjoy each meal. My son was very enjoy to survey around the island. We bought 3 excursions package ( 2 snorkeling trips and a night snorkeling with nurse shark. My son is so excited to swim with sharks. Guide dive (Abdullah Ihshan) took care us very well. We snorkeled in 2 outter reefs that are very amazing. There are many kind of fish and so colorful. We snorkeled at Thinadhoo house reef almost everyday. We recommened our friends to visit there. Plumeria is very good for family traveller. And for transportation is very easy because Plumeria has own speed boat . The representative picked up us at the airport after arrival. This is first time for us to be there so we have many questions. Hotel manager and stuffs emailed to answer all questions every quickly. That is a reason why i chose Plumeria. We will come back for sure.
Thank you so much for all

Room Tip: Best house reef room and service
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank umpornjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlumeriaMaldives, Manager at Plumeria Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued guest,
Warm greetings from Plumeria Maldives.
We would like to thank you for choosing Plumeria Maldives.
Thank you so much for your feedback.I am pleased to hear that you had a "wonderful" stay with us.
Our team enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
We would be glad to welcome you back soon.
Thanking you,
Manager Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a lot to say so the summary is here and the detail below:
1. Plumeria has wonderful, friendly staff, especially Chris and his catering team and Keaton the dive master. The food is good and varied and they were very understanding about gluten free.
2. The accommodation is good (we were in the new "chalet" part south of reception) BUT all the accommodation units are built around the island generator (very noisy) and a construction site (very noisy, unsightly and open for kids!)
3. The management let the staff down, they seem unable to communicate with staff and guests, my bill took 2 sessions of 1.5 hrs to finalise, not a good ending to a lovely stay.

Although we enjoyed the week we won't be returning/I don't recommend it and I feel bad saying that as the staff couldn't have been nicer.

The longer story:
Our group was two families of 4 and 5 with children aged 8 to 12. We arrived on 1st January into Male and had a pleasant but long boat journey to the island. Our accommodation was lovely, new build, so new the safe wasn't screwed to the wall. One direction from the chalet block was the beach where rays and nurse sharks sometimes came in the evening to eat the fish remains left out by the hotel.
The other direction (about 5m away) was the generator that supplied the whole island, 24/7. This is not a small machine it is an entire throbbing building, the noise was a constant drone and hard to ignore, I will try to attach the video showing the noise and proximity but I had to shout to make the recording. Inside the room the noise was lower but they kindly provided ear plugs as standard! Some of us got used to the noise at night but others could not sleep well. Next to the generator is a construction site, more rooms for Plumeria, during the day it was loud with metal cutting and sawing, I dread to think how noisy the new rooms will be. There was also no barrier to prevent curious children playing inside the site if not under constant supervision.
On the third side of the generator was the main accommodation block for plumeria, the only high rise on the island. Just north of the fourth side was the hotel reception and pool, do look at the pictures of the pool, it is small enclosed with high sides and very cold, I did not see it used.
I spent quite a while in reception because the management of the facility is shocking.
(Catering aside, this area is brilliant). The management don't trust their staff, 4 groups (including us) struggled to understand the difference between their bill and the water activities they had actually done. I should point out here that the dive master Keaton was excellent, flexible and really tried his best, his immediate boss, Alexi, was very disorganised and reactive to management orders but made the Russians happy. Their knowledge of the reef and diving was good but the safety decisions worry me. There were occasions when the current was too strong for young snorkelers but management made the activity happen despite safety protests of the dive staff. This a major safety issue especially at night when young snorkelers were swept out of channels and not accompanied by lifeguards as promised.

The diving itself was decent, the golden wall a real highlight. Being able to dive below with children snorkelling above made it a great family holiday instead of the usual split in activities. The older kids tried out diving and loved it!

However the management desire to charge for everything regardless of what actually happened (eg dive trip cut short due to weather so one dive not two) including over writing an activity form after it has been signed off by guests left us feeling suspicious about all water activities.
Because I saw this disagreement and frustration happen to three groups during one week I made sure my bill was agreed and tallied on our last day, it took 1.5 hrs, the plan didn't work though as I had another 1.5 hr wait for final payment. Watch out for the credit card charge they load it up and say it is management policy, I think it was over 3% but can't remember exactly.

The island itself was sweet and the lack of alcohol was not an issue, a large part of the island was deemed bikini friendly so that was also not an issue. Although it certainly isn't top luxury it does have all the items to tick the boxes like gym and pool and spa but they feel like they are there to tick the boxes!

It is such a pity the owners don't change management to make it an overall great place.

Room Tip: High rooms might be less noisy, or the new ones nearest the sea but it's hard to get away from the sound.
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank 2006holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlumeriaMaldives, Manager at Plumeria Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued guest,
Warm greetings from Plumeria Maldives.
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. Your feedback is vitally important to us.We appreciate your comments and suggestions.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Manager Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 5 days on the hotel Plumeria. Plumeria is a really beautiful hotel. The rooms are really beautiful and clean.The food was excellent and the service is really nice. We also met one awesome guy who works as a waiter names, Dinusha Chathuranga, he is realy nice person who does everything what he see in your eyes and he pernamently work with a smile on his face. At Plumeria we definitely want to look again in the future. We thanks for everything, see you soon :)

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Eliseo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlumeriaMaldives, Manager at Plumeria Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued guest,
Warm greetings from Plumeria Maldives.
We would like to thank you for choosing Plumeria Maldives.
Thank you so much for your feedback.I am pleased to hear that you had a "Awesome" stay with us.
Our team enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
We would be glad to welcome you back soon.
Thanking you,
Manager Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews