We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A M A Z I N G - highly recommend, the best afternoon tea!”

Mrs Salisbury's Famous Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 112 Restaurants in Maldon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Founded in 2014, Mrs Salisbury's optimises the Great British tea room. Our tea room is proudly situated in the blue plaque dwelling of the late Edward Bright, The Fat Man of Maldon. Occupying Rose Cottage at the rear of Church House, our quaint tea room oozes charm and character, with seating over two floors, private dining room and an idyllic courtyard. Whether dining inside on a cosy winters day or outside in Brights Path, we offer a service like no other in Maldon.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my mum travel 40 minutes to get here and we always come for our annual birthday afternoon tea! The team are so accommodating to our needs and go above and beyond for us! Im not a massive cake fan but love chocolate, I just asked if they could cater towards this and it was chocolate heaven for me. I recommend Mrs Salisburys to everyone in Essex. It is such good value for money and beats the likes of the Roslin, Southend and any other competitors. Something about this place is just magical!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V32089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in the 1st week of May and enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea with an old colleague. The food was fabulous and service was top notch; all staff helpful, friendly and just lovely.
We were seated promptly and due to the unpredictable weather were provided with blankets and the heater on as and when requested.
Would 100% recommend and will definitely be back! x

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 672bexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have now had 2 afternoon teas from Mrs Salisburys and they were both delicious. Food was very fresh and the cakes were amazing! Definitely recommend!! The cheese scones and the brownies were my favourites

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank hsutton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

Could not fault a thing! Taken to a separate courtyard area with cover and heaters, so lovely and cosy, and made it feel like a special occasion. A great selection of teas to choose from and they refill at no extra charge. The English breakfast tea was loose leaf which was a nice touch, and Americano was an option if you don’t want tea. All the food was fantastic.
3 different sandwiches, scones, and 5 sweet treats with something for every taste. A nice mix of classics and experimental bits, all really delicious. Scones came warm too. I specified vegetarian for 1 on the booking and received a separate plate of sandwiches: hummus&pepper, cheese salad, and cucumber&cream cheese. They were all great and it didn’t feel like you were losing out as you do at a lot of places. There was so much food and they bring you a box for any leftovers to take home! Couldn’t believe how reasonable this was, have paid a lot more for afternoon teas that don’t compare! It all tasted very homemade and fresh. Will 100% be returning and recommending! Thank you ☺️

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2021

We booked afternoon tea and I requested under cover seating as the weather forecast didn’t look great. We arrived early, no problem, and were seated pretty much straight away in their courtyard area. We didn’t have the heated area but did have a parasol. We were also offered blankets which was lovely as it was very chilly. Our server was great - pleasant, smiley, no complaints there. The afternoon tea itself was probably the best I’ve had. We had a few delivered in lockdown and whilst I don’t mine paying a premium I don’t expect cheap ham sandwiches or plain cheese. Mrs Sailsbury’s did not disappoint - chicken Caesar, mature cheddar and sunblush tomato, tuna Mayo with olives and rocket. Lots of filling and lovely and fresh. Huge scone to die for and 5 individual cakes each. We were too stuffed and took some home in a doggy box. A good choice of tea to choose from - refilled at no extra cost. Or you could choose additional chargeable drinks. There’s another couple of afternoon tea places which are in Facebook or do deliveries - they are more expensive than Mrs Salisbury and IMO do not offer the same quality. Keep up the delicious food Mrs Salisbury! In fact we are now coming again in a couple of weeks with some friends.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank moosilover2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Salisbury's Famous Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Mrs Salisbury's Famous Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.