We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
11
0
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
0
0
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our wonderful stay here was the highlight of our week-long trip to Sweden! Thank you for a wonderful time (wine, wood-fired hot tub, beautiful and spacious accommodation! The farmhouse is fantastically restored, with all modern amenities while preserving the rustic, historical charm.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 730petes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We never, ever go back to the same place we've visited before. But we made an exception for Ekengard because of it's perfect ambiance, location and the hospitality of it's owners. And we weren't disappointed. What a perfect place to completely get away from the stress of everyday life, look back on the year that's been and focus on challenges ahead. Yes, it would've been nice if King Winter had graced the Swedish woods with his snowy white cloak for a little longer than just the one single day, but I guess controlling the weather is a little outside of most of our circle of influence. We still had a wonderful and relaxing time walking the woods and lakefronts, enjoying the silence and watching the wildlife.

Anita and Hans made New Year's Eve memorable with the "oliebollen" and champagne around the lovely fire outside.Thanks! We might just come back next year for some more :-)

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Ekengard was started a few years back by a Dutch couple, trading in their hectic life in Holland for the wide open spaces and relaxed pace of Sweden. They bought a farm in the hamlet of Himmeta - in the woods between Arboga and Köping - and converted one of the barns into two apartments. And they did an amazing job. They restored the barn, keeping all the original materials inside and out (some dating back to 1692!) and complementing them with state-of-the-art luxury such as heated floor, whirlpool bath, full kitchen (all the trimmings), wireless internet and flatscreen tv with satellite reception. The beds were very comfy.
The apartments have been given separate characters: Nordgard - with two floors and two bedrooms - is cosy and snug, Sudgard - with a high ceiling and cupboard bed - has a more arty, loft-like atmosphere. Both apartments have been decorated beautifully with original Swedish furniture, lamps and knick-knacks. It's all been done just right; both apartments would make for a fine article in a lifestyle magazine.
Outside there's a deck with lovely views over the pond (where you can swim in summer and skate in winter) and the forest, where the occasional deer or moose can be spotted. There you can enjoy the sun and silence in one of the comfy loungers. The "Lekhus" has lots of games and there is ample room for volleyball, soccer, badminton etc etc. As the owners have kids of their own, your children need not be bored for one second. There is even a little boat to play around with on the pond. Our kids had a blast! If you enjoy walking, you can start out from Ekengard and wander the backroads and woods where you are guaranteed to meet moose, deer and cranes. At night you can sit out on your private deck see more stars than you can count and listen to the (sometimes eerie) sounds of the forest. A BBQ is also supplied. And by now the outside yacuzzi they were installing when we were there, must be up and running.

Although Ekengard is "in the middle of nowhere", Köping and Arboga are only 15 minutes away, Örebro is a 40 minute drive and their are some lovely lakes and castles within an hour's drive. Stockholm is only 80 minutes by train from Köping which makes it an excellent daytrip. And I'm told there are some pretty decent golfing ranges around.

But the best part of our stay was the reception by our hosts. They came to pick us up at the airport late at night (2 hr drive away) and had put some sweets out for the children and enough food for breakfast. They were very friendly, interested and talkative, without imposing themselves in the slightest. They were always ready to give advise on where to go, how to get there, book tickets on the internet for us and arrange a pony ride for our daughter or a horse and cart ride in the woods to go moosespotting.

We had such a wonderful time there, we can't wait to get back to Ekengard.

Room tip: When staying with younger kids, book Nordgard.
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews