We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dradia
Singapore, Singapore

Excellent resort in Kumarakom but service a let down

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 11, 2015
We stayed at Zuri Kumarakom for a night this September (2015) and must say that this is the most scenic resort one can find in Kumarakom.

A great reception area welcomes you with a coconut water and a buggy (golf cart) drives you straight to your cottage/room. Rooms are very spacious, clean and welcoming. The best part is the sit out area which offers panoramic view of the lake inside the resort. You can spot many beautiful birds and flowers from there.

The resort offers many attractions and what we availed was a 1 hour cruise ride (usually from 5pm to 6pm). You can explore beautiful landscapes, near by resorts and spot few house boats when cruising.

The resort has great Gym and Swimming Pool with warm water. Swimming Pool is open till 8pm and we thoroughly enjoyed the clean, well maintained pool having 3 elephant statue showering water on you from their trunk!

The restaurant serves tea/snacks between 4pm and 5pm and we enjoyed our dinner and breakfast with a great service by Gopal (fondly known as Gulabjamun - name of an Indian sweet/dessert). Special appreciation for Gopal and the Chef for taking a good care of us.

The only let down was the unexpected rude service by other support staff. The cruise was waiting for us and we had to rush to our room to pick up few stuffs, we requested a buggy to drive us to our room and asked him to wait for us for 2 minutes. But he was nowhere to be seen when we came our of our room, at this time, spotting another buggy - we requested him to take us to the cruise area to which we replied - he will turn the buggy and take us there. But he never returned.

The resort is so beautiful and scenic that we can't wait to be back to stay here longer but they surely needs improvement on their service level.

Overall, very satisfying experience.
Date of stay: September 2015
Room Tip: All rooms offer panoramic view of the lake and back waters. Room 101/102 are well located and not...
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded Sep 15, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Zuri kumarakom and for your valuable feedback.
We are the only resort which offers club car services in the destination to ease check-in and check-out process.
Stay-over guest are encouraged to walk and explore the property for its rich flora and fona.
We will fine tune areas that need attention and ensure our patrons receive the best of services in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱11,842
₱10,811
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • MakeMyTrip
0.6 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱15,490
  • Official Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.3 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
₱10,227
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,227
2.1 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱5,321
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
₱14,910
₱13,253
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • MakeMyTrip
3.8 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱5,336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • MakeMyTrip
0.3 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱4,130
  • Algotels
1.8 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,904
  • MakeMyTrip
0.3 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    ₱2,135
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱10,677
  • MakeMyTrip
4.6 km from The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kumarakom
Reviews (2,063)
Filter reviews
2,063 results
Traveler rating
1,316
478
141
66
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,316
478
141
66
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lime tree presidential pool villa laguna bass bamboo rafting vembanad lake paddle boating lagoon view swimming pool cottage room high tea beautiful property the cottages buffet spread main restaurant god's own country special thanks lunch and dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 2,063 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

We leave this review after spending two hours in the hotel.
The property is nice, the room is large and spacious
However these are the issues we faced so far in two hours
- we had to carry our own bags to check in area.
- check in process was decent but not super smooth say compared to the Taj
- again post check in we had to move our bags to the travel cart and from there we moved the bags to the room.
- the room is nice ( we are here currently) but there are a few stains on the bed sheets, not something that you would expect in a hotel like this
- we then ordered room service, and the staff on the phone didn't really have an idea what was in a basic club sandwich, she had to check with her superiors several times, putting the call on hold.
- got served fries without ketchup and no straws for our milk shake
- had a trainee kid escort us to the room and a trainee kid deliver us our edited bill, we really didn't understand what he was trying to say.

I think being off season, they have a bunch of trainees running the place now ( I sincerely hope that this isn't how it is always). We regret not having booked the Taj.

Hopefully tomorrow will be different.

Rahul and Nina

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ninaverghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Dear guest,
We have noted the feedback posted during the stay and will address the pointers raised in the post.
All new college recruits go through a week of induction and continuous training and as the saying goes " I am in training - i will do my best" these are our future ambassadors of the brand who will put in an effort to deliver quality service guided by the mentors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

We a group, booked around ten rooms for two nights between 4th and 6th of Sep 2015. The staff are ill trained to attend to group and took too long a time for check-in. I have ordered for a coffee and hot chocolate for my children which was served after 40 minutes. Though the pot was covered with aluminum foil the coffee and the so called bournvita was cold, the staff rudely told us to boil in the kettle kept inside the room. There was no improvement on the time taken for room service the next day too and we were forced to skip enjoying snacks. There is only one bath towel kept for the double occupancy room and there was no hand towel and need to ask for the same with the house keeping. This practice was too repeated the next day. It will be better if we carry Inj Tetanus Toxide as you will injure your feet with rusted protruding nails on the wooden platform provided in the sit out. The worst experience is during check out, it took almost an hour as the lady in the reception attends to all check in guests who reported later than me to her, it was a ridiculous experience.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Murugadas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Dear Guest,
As you were part of freemasonry group,the feedback from the organizers of Kayal Sangam has been brilliant and highly positive with lot of repeat booking in the coming months confirmed.
So it is a disappointment for the team to note that the experience you faced on property is not to your satisfaction.
Also we wish to affirm that feedback is an important tool to gauge our processes and improve upon our standard operating procedure through training.
We do monitor CCTV footage and queuing for check-in if required on the system thereby enabling smooth,seamless check-in/check-out process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015

The hotel is wonderful but please check if there are going to be private functions before you book because when I was there a company was having a 2 day conference which included their families. we had to hustle to ensure we had a table for Breakfast etc. Other than that the staff and the hotel setting is beautiful and very relaxing. The highlight was the trip on the luxury house boat. Make sure you visit the markets at the river side and purchase fresh prawns and fish for the chef to prepare on board the boat. We did the 1/2 day tour and regrets not booking for the night as it is different and the luxury houseboats are well equipped.
Hotel caters for veg and non veg but there were more vegetable dishes. Ideal honeymoon destination.

Room tip: book a room close to the reception
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Zuri Kumarakom.
The backwater destination is scenic and the houseboat cruising is one of the major activity on the vembanad lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

Stayed for a cpl o nights in the last week of August. We had booked three cottage rooms. The property is ver nice. The lanscaping, the pools and the open areas adjacent to the pond. Suprisingly the food at the rstaurant was really good. Being from the North, we enjoyed the typical north indian meal. I tried the local fish mostly daily, it was good.
Worst part i believe is the room service. They messed up veg and non veg rolls once. My vegan friends had a hard time that night. Had to constantly remind the staff for stuff over the phone. Nobody came to check the TV after repeated reminders. Late night delivery was not served. They kept reassuring that the order will be there and thats the end of it. Pretty disgusted with the services. Just a suggestion: If you cant deliver you should pre-inform us rather than apologising later.
Overall a poor experience.

Room tip: Cottages are nice
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Naman_1686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the feedback and for pointing areas that needs improvement.
We have noted and put in a process improvement as part of our training to ensure effective delivery in our product and services to our patrons.
Cable network is through Asianet who services across kerala with a good reputation and as such very rare case when signals break down.
Also in the case of the late night order the chef was not happy with the vegetarian rolls prepared thereby the delay happened to give an alternative.The same was compensated with discounts on food and beverage for lunch with value add-on dessert made part of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

Good and neat rooms. but in my room as well as my friend's rooms the TV remotes dont seem to work well. I hope they sort it out. Otherwise excellent stay and food.Very friendly staff with free cycles where you can cycle around the hote property and a good boat jetty

Room tip: Ask for ground floor rooms
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHERRY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

Dear Guest,
We are happy that the product and services at the destination was to your liking and hope to welcome you back soon with friends and family.
We are in the process of procuring universal remote for all the rooms to sort the confusion of operating the TV.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the zuri kumarakom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews