We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Albergue Ultreia(Portomarin)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Mar(Portomarin)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa do Maestro(Portomarin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Casa do Marabillas(Portomarin)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
21
26
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
26
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice staynext morningstayed here for one nightjamiejaimepathkmlakehostelpilgrimsaccommodationtowncaminodinner
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic and peaceful place! Jaime & Teresa are amazing. The room is great, clean and cozy. The food is simply fresh, tasty and delicious. A very nice place to stay after a long day walking. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante M, Propietario at Hostal Meson do Loyo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias lis
Esperamos k tengais un buen camino y una esperiencia fantastica en galicia
Un abrazo d esta familia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Yes, this hotel is about 2 km from Portomarin, but as other reviewers have indicated, you just call the hotel once you arrive in Portomarin and they'll pick you up. We were picked up within 5 minutes of our call. The hotel room was cute, small, and clean. Our view was of a pretty lake a little ways off the back of the property. You're not really within walking distance of the town, so I recommend you go and check out the town and perhaps get your pilgrim passport stamped at the church in Portomarin (if you're doing the Camino de Santiago) prior to calling for the ride to the hotel. We enjoyed our room and the temperature felt nice once we opened the windows. Because of the hotel's isolation, you end up eating at the restaurant there, but it was very good so that's not a problem. My only criticism is that the breakfast actually started a bit later than advertised and took a bit longer than anyone wished as the owner serves everyone personally rather than having a serve-yourself buffet set up. It makes for a bit of a later start than I personally wanted for the day's hike, but all in all I would recommend in terms of the comfort of the accommodation, the peaceful setting, the friendliness of the owner and his staff, and the convenience of the pick up and drop off to the Camino to compensate for being slightly off the path.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2017

It was our second accommodation in Spain on the last stages the Camino on the French Way (from Sarria to Santiago de Compostela. We had two rooms both were very clean, comfortable, and lovely staff. The hotel is outside Portomarin all you do is call the hotel and they come and collect you and following morning they drop you back on the Camino how is that for service no extra mileage on the feet Thank God!. As it is Northern Spain the rooms and outside area feel damp at night so do not hang out you clothes to dry they wont.
We had a really good rest before starting the walk. breakfast is a little bit on the sparse side, but plenty of places on the Camino to feel up.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view of the lake
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christy_higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2017

They are nice host. Breakfast is OK for an extra 5 euros. The room is good for the value and has window over looked to the lake. Walk an extra 10 minute to the lake and enjoy the sunset there. Nice and quite.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Ended our first day walking Camino route and stayed at meson do loyo. Hosts were kind enough to pick us up and then return us to same location next day as it was slightly off the Camino route and we were thoroughly worn out by the time we got to town.

Room was very clean and nice and had a great sleep.

Ate dinner and breakfast there, both were very good.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews