We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeky Monkey's(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Buri Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveler rating
484
250
111
62
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
250
111
62
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pool villamanager kenliving roomkoh samuicalled receptionspecial thanksfantastic stayegg stationazizaresortbeachduplexmassageprivacybuggyhoneymoonersasia
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2014

After reading the reviews about The Briza we were certainly sceptical about the place however decided to give it a try based on the room sizes, price and location on the beach.

My wife and family certainly loved the resort, the size of the Deluxe Pool Access villa was the highlight. It was 2 story with the master bedroom upstairs and living area downstairs.

I can understand though why so many travellers are turned off when entering these villas. The ground floor fitout has a bright green painted concrete floor - it must be the cheapest flooring I have ever seen in a hotel. The furniture is very old throughout and typically thai style, this may not appeal to some international travellers.

Upstairs the fitout was quite nice with a mix of modern polished concrete in the bathroom, wood floors, stone bench tops etc. Certainly upstairs is better finished than downstairs.

The swimming pool is quite small however I think most of the other villas have their own private plunge pool. As per other Trip adviser comments the pool did not seem to be working properly, the water fountains were not on and the water was quite dirty. The pool bar didn't look like it had been used in months and had been converted into a small garden.

Also as per other TripAdvisor comments we found our bed sheets had filthy stains on the them. This is something that should never happen in a 4star resort so obviously disappointed , especially after reading similar complaints from other travellers.

Service was fine, quite friendly and efficient. It did feel like there were only a few guests at the resort which is surprising because the local area was still quite busy. My wife loved the fact it was quite though and had the place to our selves :)

The breakfast was great, staff very attentive and food came out quickly. The ala carte system worked fine for us, especially with the baby as we were able to order special items and also seek assistance to warm baby food. The restaurant setting is beautiful with water features and tropical landscaping.

Interestingly during breakfast we were approached by what seemed to be a manager asking if our room was ok, anything they can assist with or any comments. They have obviously been reading the TripAdvisor reviews and acting accordingly. It's great to see such a proactive approach and exactly the response that should be activated after a few negative reviews on the site.

Guest numbers were obviously down at the resort, after checking the bar area, fitness centre, spa and sauna - these areas all looked as though they had been closed or out of service for a very long time. In the particular the massage rooms and steam room (Spa Centre) was not set up for guest use and looked like there was no intention for this to be reopened.

All around the resort there is signs of poor, or lack of maintenance, I guess this goes hand in hand with low customer numbers resulting in lack of staff or funds to properly maintain the property.

I also took a look at the beach front villas - these seemed to be worst maintained out of all and totally lack any privacy. I would highly discourage guests from booking these villas.

Along the beach some of the neighbouring resorts had fantastic beach bars and pool bars, I don't think there would be any issue in visiting these and would be a great solution to compliment your stay in the area.

Overall we enjoyed the resort, I would think the management are aware of all my comments. For potential guests, just be aware that the Internet images and facilities are not a true representation of the current state of the resort, keep an open mind and it is nice place to stay for a night or two.

Not quite 4 star hotel in the current state however has potential perhaps under a different management.

Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Scview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMSM, Executive Assistant Manager at The Briza Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Dear Scview,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you liked your bedroom. Also that you enjoyed the lay out of the bedrooms that have the large pool and a living room downstairs. We are very happy that you enjoyed breakfast also were impressed with the services. I am very sorry you felt some of the public areas needed some work or were closed. We do take all feedback on board so I will ensure our design team are aware of your comments. We are always interested to proving our hotel and service especially low season in November.

If you wish any help with a future reservation to see our on going improvements please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Chanettee Petchnui
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Hotel with a beachfront area and pool villa.. all are touched of wood. good place for honeymooners we check in and show our room petals with heart shaped was very lovely.. the staff are always giving you the best smile thank's you to Gro's michelle and ryan you both are fantastic.. good for us because they have free shuttle go to chaweng center we don't need to hire scooters which don't one either its too dangerous for us to drive around.. all in all they had a very good service thank you all .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjcacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMSM, Executive Assistant Manager at The Briza Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Dear rjcacao,

Thank you for the review. A brilliant view overlooking the beach is a real bonus! We appreciate your kind words about our guest services team and I will pass on your comments to them. The free shuttle to Chaweng is very useful for the guests.

We hope to have you back in the near future, for another extraordinary visit.

Kind Regards,
Chanettee Petchnui
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The Briza Resort is a beautiful place to stay only real issue is there are alot of stairs not a good place for older people as we found with my dad who has to use a walking stick it was difficult and often tiring having to go up and down stairs to get to everything.Also a pool bar is advertised but this was only full of plants and not used. The staff are excellent and were very helpful nothing was to much trouble.We stayed in a deluxe villa with spa pool it was a fantastic size my kids stayed in the poolside villas also huge and could fit a family in with no trouble not just 2 people as advertised we could have saved some money with the kids having a level each in the 2 storey villas both levels had big beds and bathrooms and TV.The food for both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was very nice .

Room Tip: If I stayed again it would be in the plunge pool villas nearer the beach less stairs
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMSM, Executive Assistant Manager at The Briza Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Debbie B,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We want every stay at Briza Beach Resort to be a positive and enjoyable experience. We feel that you deserve to have a great time, all a great value.

So we are so very happy you loved our plunge pool, our large rooms. The team here do make every effort to make each guest feel like a member of the family.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Chanettee Petchnui
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

very good hotel....
travel with my niece... we really love this place nice villa wide spacious with private jet spa..walking distance to the beach good service special mentioned to gro's ryan and michelle... they both very helpfull you can ask help anytime. the breakfast was so good cleanes area. over all rhis hotel was fantastic thank you for our wondefull time stying at your hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMSM, Executive Assistant Manager at The Briza Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear eichell,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are delighted we could leave you with such a memorable lasting impression of Briza Beach Resort . We work hard to provide our guests with the complete resort destination experience and we are delighted you had such an overall exceptional time. I will pass on your comments to Ryan and Michelle.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Chanettee Petchnui
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

Trip- Mumbai to Kohsamui (29 oct -2nd nov)

Stayed at the briza beach resort for 4 nights. The weather in kohsamui wasnt great as it was blistering hot and it rained for 2 nights. That being said, I would like to summarise my stay at briza as (deluxe plunge pool villa)
PROS: 1) great value for money as for that price range I don't think there is any pool villa in chaweng !! 2) the rooms are really big 3) the staff is very helpful and will always be willing to help you . A very special mention for Ryan- he will do his absolute best to ensure you get what you need. 3) the main night area of chaweng where Arkbar, Mango club etc are located is around 15 mins (walking) 4) Amazingly fast wifi with coverage everywhere in the resort !! ( No irritating timeouts, quick speeds)
CONs: 1) mosquitos !!- they were a menace , however I was told its a problem in koh samui in general. 2) try and take a room as close to the reception so you wont have the tiresome task of walking up slopes a lot to reach your room. 3) we had to request an extra table fan in the bedroom because of the heat the a/c cooling was proving to be insufficient.

Tips- if you are looking for value for money and a villa with a private pool in the heart of chaweng , briza is your best bet!!

Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AneeshAgarwaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMSM, Executive Assistant Manager at The Briza Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Aneesh Agarwaal,

We are truly grateful for you sharing your thoughts on the TripAdvisor. Your remarks about our accommodations and timely service are quite encouraging. Please accept my apologies for some of the inconvenience you encountered for an air conditioned and mosquitoes

The location of Briza resort is talked about all the time and one of our best benefits. So close to the nightlife and shops and just far enough away to be relaxing and on the beach. The wi fi was upgraded and is as you say very fast. There are very few places in Samui that offer pool rooms so large and I think none available at such a great price. So a big thank you for mentioning this. I have passed on your comments to Ryan, he always does a great job.

We hope to see you again soon and please again contact us for direct reservation and pre- arrangement.

Kind Regards,
Chanettee Petchnui
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews