We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$275
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeky Monkey's(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Star Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,146 results
Traveler rating
1,317
554
151
67
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
554
151
67
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pool roomtree tops restaurantocean kisstreetop restaurantour honeymoonkoh samuishared pooloutdoor bathroompool barmosquito netcold towelsfire showturn down servicemain poolamazing hotelpool accesslittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 2,146 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We really liked the hotel and location. Lovely room. Great beach and swimming pool. Breakfast was very good and amazing setting. One of the nicest hotels on the island.
We had dinner at the tree tops. Really beautiful restaurant, food was very good

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SOram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Dear SOram,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this nice review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to Anantara Lawana Samui Resort.

I am delighted that you appreciated the facilities of our resort and especially the staff attitude as something that will recall you the amazing days in Samui. I will most definitely share your feedback with the entire team.

Our resort is perfectly positioned, where you can experience the tranquil gardens or relax by the pool with amazing views to the green and blue waters of the ocean.

We are also glad to know that you liked the Breakfast served at Ocean Kiss and the Tree Tops Restaurant which is considered one of the best restaurants in Samui. In fact, the Tree Tops restaurant is highly sought even by customers who are not staying with us and choose this place which offers a unique dining experience.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Koh Samui.

With Kind Regards,

Joao Corte Real
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. We stayed for 9 nights. The staff are outstanding from the moment you arrive until the time you depart. You are treated truly like a welcomed guest nothing is too much trouble. Sure there is the occasional hiccup ( no towels left in the room on one day) but quickly rectified with many apologies. A special mention of Job at the pool side. He was always ever so attentive to our needs and took pride in providing excellent service. He represents the hotel very well and always pleasant to talk to.

Room
We had a deluxe room with an outside balcony. Upon arrival there was towel art on the bed and a personalised message. Since it was our wedding anniversary they spoilt us with complimentary bottle of wine and some cake.
The deluxe rooms are on the second level and ours was above a private pool room. At first we had some noisy neighbours which only bothered us if we were out on the balcony but once in the room you couldn't hear them. They left after a few days and it was quite peaceful from then on. The rooms are reasonably large and well appointed. They are a bit dark but we didn't spend much time there during the day and the few times we did we were having some down time and an afternoon nap, so the dark room was fine. The lighting is OK but could be brighter.

The bathroom is large and has everything you need. Plenty of towels, toiletries and hair dryer. The water pressure is adequate and we had plenty of hot water. I really liked the large shower head. There's a deep bath as well but we never used it.

The rooms give you a rustic boathouse feel, the old brass lanterns converted to lamps are quite cool. I did find that compared to other hotels there is a lot of "stuff" in the room. They're were scissors, pencils, pens, DVD player, cushions, pads, etc. perhaps too much and might give a feel of clutter but for sure to have everything you need. The mini bar is well appointed and lacks for nothing.

On a few days when the hotel was very busy, the cleaning was a bit sub standard but on the remaining days it was perfect and always cleaned well.

There are mosquitos at the hotel - just like everywhere else in Koh Samui. The staff provide citronella candles and burners in the room as well as plug ins to scare the mosquitos away. There is also netting over the bed but we never felt we needed it for protection against the mosquitos. They do use a fogger unit around the property late in the day this also keeps the mozzies at bay but there's still some at night. What can I say, it's the tropics and well mosquitos are part of the package. If you forgot your personal spray at home there is a chemist across the road with everything you need.

Breakfast
The breakfast buffet is well done. It is an outdoor covered area but there is an enclosed cool room for most fresh items like milk, yoghurt, cheese and cold cuts of meat. They offer you a fresh juice upon arrival and a "shot" of special juices as well which varies daily. Carrot and ginger or mint and coconut as an example. Eggs any way you like them and some Asian choices as well. Service is friendly and usually prompt. It can get quite busy after 9am but we never waited for a table.

Beach and pool area
The beach and swimming pool area are quite good. Although there was a few "seat hoarders" that would put a towel on the seat very early in the morning but not return until hours later, it wasn't hard to find a great spot be it in the shade or the sun at any time. The pool is of a reasonable size and clean. The beach is nice. Although it's a bit rocky in spots, it's mostly sandy. There is a rocky sand bar about 150m offshore which makes the beach calm and safe for kids and less competent swimmers though it quickly drop off to 3 feet deep a few few from the waters edge. The bar staff walk around periodically during the day with ice cold face cloths and complimentary small frozen treats. There is the occasional beach vendor that comes up to edge of the beach to sell trinkets or snack food as well but it wasn't excessive and there were not insistent if you didn't want to buy. There is also a few two seater kayaks and stand up paddle boards for use. They have seen better days but still in good usable condition. I used the board every day for an hour or so. Good place to practice standing up on the board. For the more adventurous, there's a small wave break to the left of the resort (to the left of the large white marker buoy) that's sandy and safe and I had fun riding the waves with the kayak and board. Don't try this right in front of the resort though as there are rocks there!!

The drink prices are typical of higher end resorts, maybe AUD$12-14 for cocktails. Happy hour is half price drinks which brings it down to a reasonable price. The attendants around the pool were always helpful and attentive to your requirements. The only downside of the beach are the stairs. The hotel is elevated to take advantage of the views and the beach is down a long series of stairs (72 I think...). You can call from your room for a little golf cart that will take you down to another path to the beach where you only have one flight of stairs to manage. A small price to pay for a great beach.

Restaurants
There are two restaurants at the hotel for lunch and dinner. We ate the tree top one night (see separate review) but not the other.

Location
The hotel is located about 2km from the centre of Chaweng. We walked it once but the heat during the day and the poor footpaths make it just a bit difficult. The tuk tuks and taxis go past the hotel every few minutes so it's not hard to get a ride in by tuk tuk for 50 baht. I'm sure better negotiators than I could get it for less if they tried. There's a handful of restaurants, mini marts and massage places near the hotel. Enough to provide an alternative to the hotel offerings and to avoid a trip to the centre of Chaweng. Our preferred massage place was 200m to the left along the main road, it was called chouchom I think. We found these better quality, more attentive and half the price than the big massage places in Chaweng. The Thai restaurant across the road is also a great affordable place for a meal. The Larder also offers more up market selection (at upmarket prices). At the beginning we found the location away from the centre a bit annoying but after a while we came to recognise that we had the best of both worlds without the headaches of noisy Chaweng.

Overall, this is a great hotel with great people running it. When we were searching for hotels in Koh Samui we had shortlisted two other hotels. During our stay we visited the other two and happy to report we made the best choice. The others either had narrower beach front on to the open sea (move waves) or a much smaller main pool.

I have no complaints about any aspect of the hotel. There are a few things I would suggest they do differently. Upon arrival when we checked in, were were directed to the ever so helpful Aura. She asked us to attend a 90 minute presentation regarding their Vacation club. We declined. That was the last we heard of it. I did find it annoying to be approached about time shares and wished they wouldn't do that but I guess they all have to make money somehow.
Some hotels offer complimentary shuttled to to the main markets, I don't think Lawana offered this but would great to have that extra service.

We will miss this place and the great people made it just that much harder to leave. Thank you to the Lawana team for a great stay.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank intorox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Dear intorox61,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor, after your stay at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort.

I am delighted that you appreciated the facilities of our resort and especially the staff attitude as something that will recall you the amazing days in Samui.

Your comments about the buffet breakfast served at Ocean Kiss and Tree Tops
Restaurant are very much appreciated and no doubt I will share it with the team. Tree Tops is for sure a very unique experience and we are very proud of restaurant, we are also thrilled that you enjoyed your experience there.

Our resort has a very good location because despite being very close to downtown, near the shops and restaurants of Chaweng, all the area is very quiet and our guests can relax on the beach or by the pool, while our staff offers ice cream and fresh juices.

Although the Anantara Vacation Club is a diferent business which is not under this hotel management I will transmit your feedback to them in order to rectify the challenges identified.

The team and I are looking forward with pleasure to welcoming you back to Samui.

With Best Regards,

Joao Corte- Real
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Beautiful room, like a small villa, with garden and private pool.
Downside is the bathroom facilities are outside, and humid
Also the bathroom door is glass, Not ideal if you like to wash in private .
Beautiful beach, but only accessed by long steep steps.
Though there is a buggy available to bring you up and down if needed.
Staff were brilliant...
We had a fabulous weeks holiday

Room Tip: Unless your reasonably fit..the beach access is difficult.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear denise l,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you appreciated the facilities of our hotel and also the staff attitude as something that will recall you the amazing days in Samui. I will definitely share your feedback with the entire team.

All the resort is very quiet, and our guests can relax on the beach or by the pool while our team serves smoothies and fruit kebabs near the Ocean Kiss Restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Samui.

With Kind Regards,

Joao Corte Real
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This is a beautiful hotel, rooms are very nice kept clean and tidy and the staff are exceptional. Drinks and food at the Anantara Lawana are non compatible with the prices in Thailand which do not encourage guests to participate and enjoy each others company during and at the end of the day. Indeed their drinks are still more expensive than the area during 'Happy Hour' - Happy Hour is also too late at 6pm
Local bars and restaurants are half the price and provide good service at an affordable price. Try Chawang Beach

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe Room and be aware of the many steps to and from the beach. Go to the supermarket opposite the hotel for drinks and snacks
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016


Dear Tommy C,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your experience at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort.

I really appreciated your kind comments and I am happy to read that in general you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the food & beverage prices we seek to offer differentiated products and services where quality is a key factor. Nevertheless, we value your feedback and will take your comments into consideration to improve and adjust the offer to our customers' needs.

The team and I are looking forward with pleasure to welcoming you back to Samui.

With Best Regards,

Joao Corte- Real
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for six days and loved it. We asked if there were any room upgrades available when we checked in and we're lucky enough to upgrade to the Villa with the private pool. Let me tell you it is worth every penny.

Sunny checked us in and made our stay remarkable! He was so amazing and helped us in every way possible for our entire six days. He helped us with full moon party tickets, getting on a snorkeling trip when our original one got canceled, plus suggestions for restaurants, bars, and other things to do around the island.

The staff makes this hotel. They always have a smile on their face and genuinely seem to love their jobs.

Just two things that need improvement. The mixed drinks at the pool bar are horrible. Do not waste your money. For such a nice hotel and the price of the drinks you would expect a great drink. Not so, we couldn't even finish our drinks ( and I'm not one to waste booze). The hotel really needs to address the issue.

Just go across the street to the store and you can buy alcohol for a third of the price the hotel is charging.

I wish they would do away with the smoking section at breakfast because the non smoking section is smaller you end up having to sit with the smokers which puts a damper on your breakfast.

The spa is absolutely amazing, if you have time get a treatment!!

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Amy G,

We're very grateful that you took the time to post these generous comments on TripAdvisor, after your recent visit to Koh Samui.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our staff attitude. I will pass on Sunny your comments and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your nice comments about the SPA which is considered one of the best in Samui. I will share this review with our SPA manager and I'm sure all the SPA team will be very pleased will be very pleased to hear that their work has been recognized.

On behalf of myself and the entire team we are looking forward with pleasure to welcoming you back to Samui.

With Best Regards,

Joao Corte- Real
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews