We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere and staff”

Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Father Rooster is the premier beachfront bar & restaurant on the northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica. The location and scenery combined with top quality (yet very simple) food and our famous frozen drinks makes Father Rooster a must see on your next visit to Costa Rica. This is the place where the locals and tourists sit side by side sipping cocktails, eating fresh Mahi-mahi and Tuna and watching the sunset over the Pacific. This is the place where Hemmingway would have hung his hat and the place that Buffet would write songs about. Its the place that you have been looking for all of your life... Come on in, and enjoy!
Reviewed 6 April 2021

What a great place. Hammocks, huge mango trees, swings and beach front views!!!!! We enjoyed a wonderful meal and delicious drinks at Father Roster. And if that wasn’t enough - when I asked our amazing waiter how they handled the covid closure he shared how the owners took care of not only their staff but their community. I am a Father Roster customer for life!!!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank KVSC0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

Awesome bar by the beach! Super relaxed
vibe at a beachfront table on the sand. The kind of thing you travel to Costa Rica for. Great drinks and bar type food. Love to come back soon

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank NYCBK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

One of our favorite spots in Costa Rica! The poke bowl is the best and the cocktails are fantastic. The staff are so lovely and easily accommodated our large group. We will definitely be back, this place is fantastic!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank wanderfitretreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Good food and great service. Nice atmosphere. We enjoyed our night there and the employees were very kind and attentive

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 180danap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Thank you for the great review Dana P. I am glad to hear that the food and service were a success. Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2021

If you're at Ocotal beach and you want a meal you can come here. It's the only place. Be prepared. The service isn't great, you may have to go walk over to where the servers are to order and it'll take up to 20 minutes to get a glass of water. And of course the cost is double what you'd pay anywhere else. However, their fried whole snapper is absolutely delicious and the mixed drinks are strong.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank mslewisxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

I am very sorry that you did not get the service that you deserved at the Father Rooster. I will address this with the staff as normally good service is our strength. Again, I apologize and am at least happy that you enjoyed the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.