We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Garton's Cape(Ahangama)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Insight Resort(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Lake Resort(Ahangama)
US$72
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timeless Villa(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sandhya(Ahangama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mosvold Villa(Ahangama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W15 Escape(Ahangama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
28
7
3
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
7
3
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegyptian themeperfect wavesrestaurant staffamazing surflocation is greatrooms are biggreat poolsri lankastatuesseasurfingvilla
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

this hotel is based on egyptian theme with statues from egyptian culture all over the place right from entrance to rooms. Rooms are really spacious and well ventilated with excellent wifi. incase you can manage a sea viewing rooms its a bliss with nature in front.the dining facilities are good partially in and partially out over looking sea.. the vegetarian fare especially Indian vegetarian is limited....on request an effort was made. the beach really clean and has surfing facilities with coaches. overall its a very pleasant experience. The lobby manager is pro customer and is interested in resolving issues if any.

Room Tip: beach facing rooms are best
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasadcvr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana.We at Hotel Kabalana were please to welcome you and looking forward to welcome you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This Egyptian-style hotel is beautifully located right by a lovely beach, favoured by board surfers, which makes for great viewing. The rooms were rather large and airy and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately there wasn't one chair to sit on, nor were there any stands for luggage. The AC was hardly functional and the Western commode was a fancy electrically operated on with bidet and all. However one day the power went off and the standby generator was not operational so the lift, commode all went kaput. Poor service and housekeeping took ages to respond to any request. Our rooms were road facing and the highway traffic all through the night made sound sleep impossible.

Room Tip: Never take a room facing the road
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvsmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This hotel was truly the highlight of our trip. Most amazing view from the hotel. Amazing service. Amazing food. They sure have put a lot of thoughts while designing this hotel. Anyone would love to stay here. We were here for 1 night because of our itinerary but the next time we will be visiting Sri lanka, we surely will stay here throughout our trip. Simply amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancymehta06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana.We look forward to welcome you back.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2018

This Disney-esque Egyptian-style hotel is beautifully located right by a lovely beach, favoured by board surfers, which makes for great viewing. My room was rather large and airy and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately there wasn't one chair to sit on, nor did I have a stand for my suitcase. The keycard which opened the door and which provided electricity, kept failing so a second keycard was given (same problem). Bathroom OK but missing hooks and shelves to put things on. Bathroom flooded if showering for more than a couple of minutes (drain was blocked-tried to fix it myself but to no avail). Service at the bar and in the reception area was rather slow but acceptable. However, the hotel kitchen is not equiped to handle more than a handful of diners at one tine. We waited ages for our dinner and when it came two out of 8 orders were wrong. My fish (I ordered 'Sri Lankan-style fish'n chips) had been around the world and back and tasted more like warmed up from yesterday's leftovers. OK, the chips were good so at least I had something to eat. We already had a reservation for our farewell dinner (we were a group of 20 travelers) for the following night but refused to eat at the hotel again and thankfully we managed to make a reservation elsewhere. Prices for coffee and drinks were rather steep (almost at par with European city prices - EUR 4,00 for a cappucino). All in all, not a great experience but I am sure that with some decent staff training they may get there!

Room Tip: De bovenste verdiepingen (4 en 5) zijn het rustigst en, als je zeezicht hebt dan vind je nergens een mooier uitzicht!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Percy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana,While apologising for the inconvenience you faced,I have taken note of all worthy points and have already taken the corrective measures to fix the same.
We at Hotel Kabalana look forward to welcome you all.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with really good service and food. Our room was over our expectations and the view was to die for. Right in front of one of the best surf spots in Sri Lanka on a pretty quiet beach, except for the surfers out in the ocean. Pool area is nice, breakfast buffet was good, got served one of the best omelettes I’ve had. We will for sure be back!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cissiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana,We look forward to welcome you again.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews