We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kirinda Beach Resort(Kirinda)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
JC Guesthouse(Kirinda)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/30
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boulders Yala(Kirinda)
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarada Beach Resort(Kirinda)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nikara Yala(Kirinda)
US$201
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arana Yala(Kirinda)
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/05
US$396
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
82
111
70
28
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
111
70
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig swimming poollobby areathe kitchen staffbed was comfortablerooms are cleansri lankamanager mrpleasant staypacked breakfastspecial thankschecking outnational parkwelcome drinkbuffet stylestayed nightsa la carteyala
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This hotel has good potential but has disappointing approach to service. Reception staff is ok, but needs a pep up. For any service, the staff needs a nudge. Response to a request, if not palatable to the organisation is brusque if not rude.
The property is good but rooms are basic and without any frills. The swimming pool does not get cleaned regularly and hence gets filled with falling leaves and slippery.
The breakfast has reasonable spread, though not lavish.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Augustine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantReach_Mgt, Manager at Hotel Elephant Reach, Yala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review Elephant Reach Yala. We truly value and appreciate your comments.

We always work our best to make your stay comfortable and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take a note on the areas you have highlighted & work towards improved service.

Whilst ensuring that we are positive towards improving our standards, I sincerely hope to have you visiting us again and welcome you back for a much more memorable stay with us.

Thanks & Best regards
Residence Manager
Elephant Reach Yala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We stayed here on Jan 28th,2018. A large property having many cottages.
Smooth quick check in,welcome drink. Rooms was very good with all amenities. Good functioning a/c ,fridge. Nice bathrooms. Best thing was we could see Indian entertainment channels .
Due to low occupancy no buffet breakfast was served. Only single person was serving breakfast which was deficient in variety as well as quality.
I called reception also but no one came there to solve.
Overall poor breakfast.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank AnilAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantReach_Mgt, Manager at Hotel Elephant Reach, Yala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review Elephant Reach Yala. We truly value and appreciate your comments.

We always work our best to make your stay comfortable and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take a note on the areas you have highlighted & work towards improved service.

Whilst ensuring that we are positive towards improving our standards, I sincerely hope to have you visiting us again and welcome you back for a much more memorable stay with us.

Thanks & Best regards
Residence Manager
Elephant Reach Yala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Not bad an environment, just not very well kept. Rooms are just OK, as we booked 4 rooms, every room got a problem somewhere, either the shower is not working properly, or malfunctioning hot water taps. Clean, but not very well maintained.
Food is the worse. The dinner buffet is such a disappointment and food tasted terrible. Breakfast is simply nothing, just state bread, butter, jam. And then they decided to serve us with Sri Lankan Rotti and Thosa. Seriously unappetizing food.
Overall, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cham107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantReach_Mgt, Manager at Hotel Elephant Reach, Yala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review Elephant Reach Yala. We truly value and appreciate your comments.

We always work our best to make your stay comfortable and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take a note on the areas you have highlighted & work towards improved service.

Whilst ensuring that we are positive towards improving our standards, I sincerely hope to have you visiting us again and welcome you back for a much more memorable stay with us.

Thanks & Best regards
Residence Manager
Elephant Reach Yala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Not sure where they get the rating from but the pool area needs closing down due to the dangerous cracked tiles, the dirty and torn lounge cushions, the shabby entrance , with stained cushions, dirty windows in the restaurant, a first in a hotel in sri Lanka. No labelling of food at breakfast, so hope if you go there and have any allergies you will check what they are serving. The staff try there hardest, from the sweepers who try and keep some control of the leaves to the waiter in the bar who had been at the hotel for 7 years. he was the only staff member to pick up some dirty plates out side a chalet that had been there for at least 6 hrs, the wild cats were enjoying the left overs. There is no where else to go and eat in the area so you are a bit stuck. Thank you chef , we had a decent meal on our first night but went off the menu,didn't have the buffet. We had one beer , the most we had ever paid for one, there is a 10% service charge , I really hope that the staff do get this money, I am shocked that Cylon Tours booked us in here. I slipped getting out of the pool because no one cleans the steps off or the tiles. Spoilt our Sri lanka experience. Forgot arrived early on a hot day. shared a sandwich and asked for a cold beer , they said they had run out of beer.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank June l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantReach_Mgt, Manager at Hotel Elephant Reach, Yala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review Elephant Reach Yala. We truly value and appreciate your comments.

We always work our best to make your stay comfortable and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take a note on the areas you have highlighted & work towards improved service.

Whilst ensuring that we are positive towards improving our standards, I sincerely hope to have you visiting us again and welcome you back for a much more memorable stay with us.

Thanks & Best regards
Residence Manager
Elephant Reach Yala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

When we arrived at this hotel, we were rather pleased: A beautiful garden and a big swimming pool. Little houses scattered around.
When we entered our room, we were less pleased. The fridge was not working (the plug didn't fit the socket) and we had no running water (just some water drizzling out of the tap). No warm water either. We went to the lobby to ask a solution for these problems. We were promised an immediate intervention. When we left for a safari one hour later, we still hadn't seen anybody. We asked to solve the problems by the time we got back.
4 hours later: none of the problems had been solved. It was late and we wanted a shower, which was impossible because of lack of water. I went back to the lobby and demanded another room. This was first denied, until our tour guide interfered and we were given another room. One hour later, we saw other tourists entering the room we had just left. Nothing had been done by then, so these people were given a room without fridge or running water. Management clearly couldn't care less about their customers.

The food in the restaurant was of poor quality and a lot more expensive than some other hotels we stayed in. The restaurant was extremely noisy.

Staff was very friendly and clearly anxious of reprimands from the management. A waiter had made a mistake over the bill and was sent to the room to apologise extensively. He also repeated his apologies later in the restaurant, which was uncalled for. His apology had been accepted, it was an honest mistake.

The houses are all double rooms with a shared door, handy for families, but you can hear the people nextdoor talk clearly. Our neighbours had a little kid, which didn't sleep well. Neither did we.

One positive note: the beds were excellent.

We basically think management just wants to make as much money as possible with as little effort needed.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank w0bbl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantReach_Mgt, Manager at Hotel Elephant Reach, Yala, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review Elephant Reach Yala. We truly value and appreciate your comments.

We always work our best to make your stay comfortable and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take a note on the areas you have highlighted & work towards improved service.

Whilst ensuring that we are positive towards improving our standards, I sincerely hope to have you visiting us again and welcome you back for a much more memorable stay with us.

Thanks & Best regards
Residence Manager
Elephant Reach Yala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews