We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveler rating
212
510
300
151
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
510
300
151
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardmini discohire cargibraltar rocksnack barper daymain poolmalaga airportdishwasher tabletsshuttle busbedroom apartmentschool holidayslarge fridgefree sunbedslick of paintview is amazingper adult
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

The apartments are basic but bright and well equipped with a decent terrace too. However the beds are horrific - like sleeping on a stack of cardboard and Reception even acknowledge they get plenty of complaints about the beds! There are about 120 sun-loungers around the pool, although 1200+ resort occupancy - so good luck with that one. We’ve been trying to get my money back to find somewhere else to stay since after our first night when we discovered the bed issues - ability to sleep is key to any holiday - but no response from Guest Relations. Honestly, I’d expect much better from a well known brand like Pierre et Vacances, owned by Center Parcs. Plan for today... buy an inflatable mattress, so we might be able to at least sleep.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank astamull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We have just returned from a 10 night family holiday at the Pierre & Vacances resort.
The complex is located on the just out side of Manilva town and off the main A7 dual carriageway , you have to drive up a steep hill from the main road which is not greatly signposted so just be aware as its a sharp exit once you reach the turning.
There are no other shops or restaurants etc within walking distance of the complex , so unless you are happy to spend all your day at the site then a car is a necessity.
Some reviews had claimed deposits were taken on arrival but this was not the case for us , so I am unsure on that . You are however requested to pay for on site parking , either 7 Euros per day in the underground car park or 5 Euros per day in the other areas. You can park for free outside of the resort but its a bit of a walk if you cant get near the top of the hill.
As for the Apartment , it was clean and nicely located giving us a good sea view across to the Gibraltar Rock which we requested and a view over the central entertainment area .
However I wasn't really sure if this was more by luck than judgement as the emails we sent in to request this were unanswered . There is currently building work going on right next door however so there is a huge crane and the sound of construction going on from early morning to around 3pm most days , i'd say this is in for the remainder of the summer as well. It wasn't over bearing but could put some people off.
We had a two bedroom apartment , which also had a sofa bed in the living area which was comfy enough for our
12 year old he had no complaints.
Though its self catering the kitchen area is very small and compact , there is not really any room for
food preparation , or a drying area for any washing up ( though there is a dishwasher ) I think this would have been much more useful as an oven . There was not a toaster either so preparing some basic meals we found difficult mainly due to space.
The beds were comfy and clean and during the 10 nights we had maid service for clean towels / bedding one one day ( day 8 ) which was longer than we have waited on other holidays.
The pool area was also nice and clean , the water was not heated so is a little chilly earlier in the day . It opened from 10am till 9pm daily . There was no major rush for sunbeds , but by 11am they had pretty much all been taken.
There was a bar near the pool , which served drinks and snacks till early evening.
We had some lunch and an evening take out and the food seemed ok - what we expected really , but you wouldn't want to do it every day as the options are limited.
One of the downsides to this place however is that it mainly catered for French guests ( we have no problem with French people ) however the evening entertainment and the kids entertainment was 90% in French and Spanish , Even during some of the kids games our boys did not have a clue what was going on as they didn't repeat it in English !. They are not really into the kids clubs anyway but if you are planning to go here and send in kids to the clubs just be aware of this ,also the evening entertainment (10pm-11pm) was often also aimed at there French/Spanish guests , with the odd English translation here and there.
During our stay we visited , Puerto de la Duquesa which was around a 10 minute drive away , it is a mainly an English speaking Marina area with lots of bars and restaurants , we went here five evenings during our stay and enjoyed it .
Bahia Waterpark , this was about a 40 min drive , but was well worth it , lovely clean park and quick access to slides etc.
Deans Charter Fishing , sea fishing was a great 2 hours . Well worth the money.
Bioparc - Fuengirola which was an excellent Zoo - we didn't expect much but were happily surprised at the quality or the park.
Estepona - great beaches and bars/restaurants
Overall we enjoyed our stay here , the staff were friendly , the site well maintained and as we like visiting other areas ,we didn't actually spend much time on the resort apart from a couple of pool days, and didn't rely on the on site entertainment for us or the kids . If you are looking for that type of place then I don't think this is it.
1. A car is a Must for this resort.
2.Unless you speak French or Spanish then don't expect much in terms of entertainment.
3. This is a fantastic place for couples to use as base to see the surrounding areas , but If you are looking for somewhere to entertain your children while you relax - or want entertainment yourself then its a no.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank jamesnewhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had 2 bedroom flat in Figueres part. It has nice sea and Gibraltar view. Appartments are spacious and have all required ammenities. Service is good, correct cleaning once per week. There ar two pools, we have been using the main one, which was not too crowded at the beginning of July. All in all, location is great, plenty of space and not too crowded. Only downside is quality of food - we had breakfast choice only and skipped half of them switching to bagette with chorizo instead. Bar and supermarket prices are very reasonable however. I would recommend this place but would not go for any food options. Oh, and service is veru good, they speak english mostly and if not they recupperate it with being extra friendly! :-)

Room Tip: Ensure you get Gibraltar view
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepeJarrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisR1950, Asistente de Dirección at Pierre & Vacances Village Terrazas Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear PepeJarrive,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pierre & Vacances Terrazas Costa del Sol and the personable exchanges with members of our staff.

Thank you for your constructive feedback which is certainly taken into consideration.

Hoping to welcome you again soon, I wish you in the meantime, a very peaceful and happy end of summer.

Sincerely,
The Management Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Arrived for 4 nights early July after the Scottish schools finished for summer.
Pleasantly surprised after reading the mixed reviews.
A hire car is a must, I saw the entrance for the underground parking and parked on the road as per one of the reviews here only to make my family climb the hill to the real entrance in the heat. They were not amused!
We did not have to pay for parking, but it was quiet when we arrived, but was very busy by the time we left so maybe they introduce charges later in the season.
Villa was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
We asked for extra towels mid way and got them from reception no problem.
The pool and surrounding areas were very clean and the gardeners were out every day before the pool opened at 10.
We never had a problem getting loungers and we didn't have to pay.
One thing is that there is a lack of shade at the pool and the few sades that there are are not movable.
The pool area is surrounded by natural grass, so watch out for the muddy bits at the edge of the concrete.
The food on site is fine, but try the Bar Limon at Playa Torreguadiaro which is about 10 minutes drive away. Very good food and relaxed atmosphere.
Also visit San Luis De Sabinillas which is around 15 minutes drive north. there is a steakhouse there on the beach which was excellent, unfortunately I can't remember the name.

Room Tip: ask for a room with views of Gibraltar and away from the entertainment area
Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank eob1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisR1950, Asistente de Dirección at Pierre & Vacances Village Terrazas Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear eob1977,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay in a very fair and reasoned style, which is most gracious and generous of you. We are grateful that you were able to describe all aspects of your stay in such an elegant manner.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon and in the meantime wish you a very pleasant end of summer.

Most sincerely,
The Management Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We have been with P&V before and we have the feeling that in this case more care for details would be needed (in some areas)
Totally a great holiday. Andalusia is fantastic. So much history and culture.
There are great beaches around but you really need to have a car to enjoy (no shuttle available). You can walk down to the nearest one (about 1 Km) but when it is time to go back it is tough !!
Swimming pools are good. If you are lucky you can get a nice view on the rock (we were not ). Wi-fi is excellent.
We have been fighting two weeks against ants (I know they are harmless and "friendly" animals but since we have chosen an hotel and not a camping it is not nice anyway). We had to chase for ordinary and scheduled towels change. Shouldn't happen.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Enzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisR1950, Asistente de Dirección at Pierre & Vacances Village Terrazas Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Enzo M,

On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for taking the time to share this review on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologise that you had an issue with the ants.

We have a Shuttle Service from July 1 to August 31 available for our guests without any suplement which brings them to the nearest beach.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
The Management Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews