We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plas Yn Dre
Nearby Hotels
Cysgod y Garn(Frongoch)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodiwan(Bala)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Tyn Cornel Camping(Frongoch)(Great Value!)
US$21
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
86
10
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary wineexcellent hotelhonesty barreserved parkingroom was beautifully decoratedreal alelovely toiletriesrooms are amazingfriendly receptionparking spotparking spacehigh standardone nightlittle toucheslocal beerevening meal and breakfaston arrival
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed in other hotels in Bala and believe this one to be the best. Rooms are modern spacious and have all you need for a comfortable stay. The are decorated to a high standard. Staff all very friendly and service is good - it does make a difference ! A good hotel adds to the visit experience

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racheljones256, General Manager at Plas Yn Dre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at Plas Yn Dre over bank holiday weekend- we were lucky considering amazing hot weather.

Hotel is conveniently located in small town but with good access to main attractions in Snowdonia- Bala itself is great location if you are can of water sports.

Our room was facing the street but we did not hear a lot of noise during the night - it looks like the management has listened to previous feedback and clearly cares about the guests and community. Room was of very good size, super comfortable bed, spacious to move and finished to high standard. Very accommodating and pet friendly- our little pooch received welcome pack which she loved it so much - those little touches makes your stay so special.

Food wise - again cannot say bad word- breakfast as well as dinner were of high standard. We could not eat for first night as restaurant booked out due to bank holiday but Rachel made sure we had a table for next day. They cater for vegetarians as well which is great to see - veggie burger and rump of lamb were just divine

Staff- I cannot praise enough Rachel and her Team. Always attentive and very helpful. Made us feel welcomed and almost like at home - something very unique which not every hotel in UK can offer - surely the best service we have received in this country.

Will be definitely coming back as our little dog loved it there!!!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racheljones256, General Manager at Plas Yn Dre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much! Its really nice to get a lovely review like this after a really busy weekend! Its gives us all a little boost and makes all the long hours and all the hard work that the staff have put in this weekend worth it! You'll be glad to hear that the Mayor of Barmouth hasn't put a restraining order on Sioned yet, but I think it might be coming soon! lol x Your little dog is a beauty and hopefully we will see all 3 of you again soon! and next time if your going up Snowdon I'll come with you and bring my lazy dog with me! and I promise that I'll wave to you from the train:-) Thanks again for your kind words. Its always nice to have nice people to stay and looking after you 3 was a pleasure.
Kind regards
Rachel x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Significant birthday trip to Bala with family - hotel was excellent and staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make us all welcome. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms were very high quality. I would recommend Plas Yn Dre to others.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X173QQjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racheljones256, General Manager at Plas Yn Dre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you. Glad that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us.
kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Great food with some Welsh specials. Very attentive service but with a relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely meal. Highly recommend the wild boar and Welsh lamb cawl. The kids burger was a good quality handmade one. No complaints at all. Just as eating out should be.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racheljones256, General Manager at Plas Yn Dre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed our Welsh specials, we always try to ensure that our children's meals are made of high quality ingredients. We love having children in Plas Yn Dre and we love providing them a nice meal in a nice relaxed atmosphere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Excellent small well run hotel. Very good breakfasts and a very good dinner menu. Room 6 is a lovely room at the back apart from the WiFi. I think the WiFi is slow everywhere in Bala. We required four single rooms and the hotel accommodated us by letting us have some singles as doubles. Very good staff running the hotel. One real ale only to choose from in the bar but that was a good local brew. Private car park at the rear

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 7Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racheljones256, General Manager at Plas Yn Dre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you. Sorry about the wifi but we are working on improving it, its a problem that has only recently started happening and hopefully we will be able to resolve the issue quickly. Glad you enjoyed our local brew! Hopefully you will visit us again
regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews