We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
395
124
14
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
124
14
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa st guest services great house water taxi st lucia rainforest hideaway plunge pool air conditioning our honeymoon taxi driver botanical gardens the cliff relaxing vacation north side ferry pass view of the bay pigeon island
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2015

this is a delightful and comfortable villla in a stunning location. Plenty of restaurants and facilities nearby. Very helpful staff. Quiet and peaceful. 2 large bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms . Decent kitchen. Enormous verandha with plenty of comfortable seating.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard BRYCE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2015

My husband and I came here for our 40th anniversary. The villa (one of the club villas) was perfect. We were concerned about no air conditioning in the unit with temps in the upper 80's during the day, and nights just 10 degrees lower, but the ceiling fans really did do enough to keep us cool. I spent most of my time on the veranda enjoying the view. The pool is small but I rarely found anyone using it. The beach is small but it is certainly adequate for the number of people using it. There were plenty of good restaurants around and we went to a different one every night. The staff at Oasis are very helpful, and helped us arrange most of our activities. We went ziplining at Treetops and had a great time. They also arranged for a sail to the Pitons, and we ended up with one other couple on the sail, rather than the boatloads we saw other tours taking.
They do warn the the place is on a hillside with many stairs, but there is a small tram that goes up and down the hill. We used this quite a bit to go up at least, but some days were so hot, we used it going down too.
Some posts have complained of bugs, and we did find ants after leaving the sugar out, but they are tiny, and if everything is put away they are not a problem. We encountered only a few mosquitoes, but there is bug spray available in the units.
For us, it was wonderful that the birds came to share our breakfast on the veranda, but if they don't get fed they go away. We fed them so they came back.
Our only problem was on arrival. It was pouring rain when we arrived and the ferry had already taken other people across and was getting them to their rooms. There was no shelter to wait in, and our taxi driver had to leave as it was late and now dark. He convinced another ferry person to take us across, but we still had to wait for the porter to get to us, but at least there was some shelter. This was not a great start for our vacation, but the rest went well. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2015

My husband and I stayed at The Great House Nov. 21-28, 2015. It was very spacious for just the two of us! I think we went downstairs once the whole week. The weather was perfect the whole week. I was worried because weather.com said it was supposed to rain every day. It would rain a few minutes most days, but the sun would still be out.

We conveniently got the provisional delivery, which was ready for us when we arrived late Saturday night. We decided just to order the basics to cook breakfast and make sandwiches for lunch on most days.

The view from the house is absolutely breathtaking! Worth every penny we spent on this trip. We spent most of the time that we weren't exploring the island by the pool or on the rocking chairs on the balcony. There's a small beach on the opposite side of the bay that you can take a water taxi to($3USD).

Beware of all the mosquitoes! Definitely bring some OFF spray (I made the mistake of not and I got well over 50 bites).

The home and the grounds are very well maintained. The housekeeper ( I can't remember her name) was wonderful. She came every day and tidied up, unloaded the dishwasher, gave us fresh towels, and made our bed. It felt like we were staying in a hotel. The walk up and down to the bay was tiring, especially in the heat. We were lazy and took a taxi twice ($10USD!).

We can't wait to come back & stay here, but maybe with our family or friends to fill up the house!

Room Tip: If you're from America, bring a converter. They provide a few, but they're not compatible with hair straighteners/curlers.
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaHinson324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Hi Monica,

Thank you for the great review! Especially the "It felt like we were staying in a hotel." and "The view from the house is absolutely breathtaking! Worth every penny we spent on this trip".

As a hotel/villa rental company, there's not much more we could ask for in our guests' experiences! We're happy you had such a relaxing and enjoyable time at the Great House.

We would love to welcome you back one day - at the Great House or another one of our great villas across the island! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We - four friends from across Canada - rented the Great House from Oasis Marigot November 14 to 21, 2015. The house is fabulous. It is across the bay from the Oasis Marigot resort, and the view of Marigot Bay and the Caribbean Sea is spectacular. The house is spacious, clean, and beautifully furnished, and the kitchen is well equipped. The outdoor areas, including the pool, are lovely. It's a pleasant walk down to the village below. The walk back up the hill to the house is good exercise, which was usually followed by a swim in the pool. Oasis Marigot arranged our transportation to and from the airport as well as a road trip to Castries and a sailboat trip to Soufriere. The Oasis staff were very helpful, and the drivers they booked for us were pleasant and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our week at the Great House immensely and would do it again in a heartbeat. Ellen G.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Hi Ellen,

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the Great House as it should be! The views, the gardens, the house, and the nice walks up and down to the bay! And you're right, a dip in the pool after the walk back up is totally necessary! ;)

Thanks for your overall appreciation of our grounds, staff, and services. Your review is exactly what we strive to deliver for all our guests.

We would LOVE to welcome you back one day - whether at the Great House or another one of our fantastic villas across the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

My husband my 4 year old and I spent a wonderful 8 days at Oasis Marigot. The whole place was beautiful, very peaceful, quiet and secluded. We stayed in one bedroom villa( #2 ) which was located close to the swimming pool. We didn't have any problems with bugs and mosquitos. The view from the balcony was just amazing and the unit was clean and fully equipped. It was simple, but it had everything that we needed. No Tv, but we appreciated the A/C in the bedroom ($120 extra) as it got very hot inside. It would be difficult for us without the A/C, especially during the night. The hotel stuff are great (Miranda and Sam were very helpful and knowledgeable). The cleaning lady that cleaned our villa did a great job as well. But our special THANK YOU goes to Thomas the groundskeeper (wonderful, friendly, hardworking and honest individual). He's a true asset to Oasis Marigot...Overall we loved our stay here and would recommend this place to anyone. My advice is make sure you get villa w/ AC....

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank agatha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Hi Agatha!

Thank you for amazing review! We're so happy to hear that you liked your stay at our Vacation Club Villas of Marigot Bay and that you found the whole place to be "beautiful, very peaceful, quiet and secluded". It's also great to hear that we met all your needs in the unit, being clean and fully equipped. Yes, it's simple and we don't offer TV, but that's part of the appeal because it makes you appreciate the view and the beautiful environment of St. Lucia.

As for the A/C, not all units have this yet which is why there is a different price to have AC right now, but we're still working on updating all the units with solar hybrid A/C units.

We would love to welcome you back one day should you choose to return to beautiful St. Lucia! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews