We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Horse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yorke Arms(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solberge Hall Hotel(Newby Wiske)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
284
114
24
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
114
24
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteep stairstop floorsteak pieshower roomate herestayed for nightsgreat atmospherecomfy bedselection of beerswarm welcomethe black sheep brewerysteak nightcentral locationvisiting mashamlovely breakfastreal ale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firtst time ever staying at pub and what a surprise. Extremely friendly staff, good rooms, big (perhaps too big) breakfast, good eats for dinner (had lamb shank), good selection of beers and gin (Masham gin is a find) and super location for travels in the Dales (Wensleydale Creamery). Highkly reccomended establishment.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Per Oyvind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband was given a brewery trip voucher for his birthday to the Black Sheep Brewery so we decided to have the night away whilst using it.

We stayed at the Bay Horse and WOW!
The rooms, staff, food were lovely.
We had a lovely evening meal, which just so happened to be a themed steak night which included a bottle of wine. Very good value and cooked perfectly.

We stayed in the Theakston room, and although directly above the bar was not over loud and we both had a great nights sleep - the huge beds are to die for by the way!

The breakfast menu is very varied, but we both opted for the full English which we could'nt fault at all - well cooked and delicious.

We wanted a relaxing night away and got exactly that and are already planning to return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were delighted with our room at the Bay Horse. We had a double room on the top floor which was spacious with lovely decor. The facilities were excellent - a cafetiere of fresh coffee and gorgeous toiletries were fab little touches. The breakfast choice was also very good and the food was cooked to order and very tasty. I would definitely recommend this hidden gem!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from 2 night stay at the Bay Horse and found it to be really good place.

The staff are helpful and welcoming. The rooms are clean and equipped to a high specification.

Masham is a good location to travel out from the the surrounding areas we went to Hawes and Aysgarth and villages in between. Took in the Theakstones tour which is fine if somewhat basic.

Highlights of the Bay Horse include beers, beds and breakfast. You can mix and match off the list.

Lowlight of the hotel, room walls are little thin meaning noise travels though rooms. We were kept awake by another guest coughing throughout the night.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank tigercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such a great little pub, with a really welcoming atmosphere.

The room was very comfortable having been recently modernised, and we found no issues with noise.

The food from the kitchen was first rate, and the staff were all excellent, as in, nothing was a problem, and we were given plenty of time to leave.

I would highly recommend the Bay Horse Masham if you’re looking for a pub stay in Yorkshire.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Wembus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews