We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation(Torres del Paine National Park)(Great Value!)
US$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Estancia Tercera Barranca(Torres del Paine National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rio Serrano Hotel(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patagonia Camp(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Torres Patagonia(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Mirador del Payne(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Lago del Toro(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria El Pionero(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
278
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgeprivate guidehot tubpersonal guideindividual villasjuan pablomaster villapunta arenaschef federicopuerto natalessierra bagualesnational parkexclusive accesshuge showerespresso makerguide verarestaurant team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had high expectations going into our stay and we were not disappointed in any way.

Ahead of time, we had a dedicated staff member to communicate with via email to make sure all of the details were attended to. He handled our transfers from Punta Arenas, even though we had a very last minute hotel change in Punta Arenas, he made sure we were picked up at the correct location. We were provided with a sack lunch for the drive on both our arrival and our departure days.

The rooms/villas are really outstanding. Views from every villa are excellent, they are secluded from each other so you really have true privacy. Each villa has a very comfortable sitting area with a fireplace that we used on 2 occasions. Beds are very comfortable, and the bathroom area is modern, spacious, and clean, with a large tiled walk-in rain shower and separate soaking tub with a view of las Torres. Rooms have Nespresso machines for coffee, as well as an electric teapot, and a fully stocked mini refrigerator with soft drinks, bottled water, and wines, which was restocked every day.

The main lodge has a very large comfortable area for relaxing, with separate sitting areas. There are 2 large fireplaces, although I was sad to not see these lit at all during our time there (they did light the fireplace in the dining room). The sitting area and dining room both have the same beautiful view over the park.

Depending on your villa location, it can be quite a hike to get to the lodge. We were in villa #2, which looked like the one located the farthest from the lodge. However, the walk was mostly level, and most mornings and evenings it was a refreshing 10 minute walk. Those times when we did not feel like walking, the staff were more than happy to give us a quick ride, and we never had to wait. 2 of the other villas, while a little closer to the lodge, are a little higher up the hill, and probably a more strenuous walk, but again this is not a problem as the car is readily available.

The food in the dining room is really superb. As other reviewers have said, it is pretty fancy food, and if you are expecting to get simple carrot cake, it is probably not going to arrive looking like what you expect, but i guarantee it will taste fantastic! This is a Relais & Chateaux property, so expect really fine dining. We really enjoyed trying different things every day, and appreciated that the portions were not so huge that food was wasted. We always finished our meals, but did not leave feeling hungry. For people who are not feeling adventurous after a strenuous day, there was always available a soup of the day (always excellent, we had several), plain salads, and a pasta dish, and I'm sure the kitchen would have done their best to accommodate any request.

Breakfast is buffet-style, with breads, fruit, meats, cheeses, and pastries, as well as some cooked to order offerings, and was the best of any of the breakfasts we enjoyed in South America.

Lunches are served either in the dining room, and are simpler than dinner but still very good, or out on the trail with your guide. These would be a variety of sandwiches, usually with hot soup, an apple, and a muffin or cookie, and hot coffee and tea. The house made trail mix provided for trail snacking is also excellent.

Wines are all Chilean, and were beyond our expectations. We were able to try a different wine with every course, and our excellent sommelier Enrique remembered what wines we had tried or liked previously and made sure that we were able to try something new. He also provided us with a list of all the wines we had tried during our visit at checkout, at our request. Drinks made at the bar by Pepe were excellent, including the Pisco Sour and the house invention, Patagonian Water.

The staff (guides, dining room, hotel staff, management) are all stellar and all went above and beyond our expectations. The service provided to us by Awasi staff was far superior to what we experienced at other hotels during our trip.

Excursions are determined between you and your guide the day you arrive, based on what you want to see, how active you want to be, and what the weather is anticipated to be.There is a drive to get to the park - between 1-2 hours, depending on what part of the park you are driving to, and if you are planning to drive around inside the park then be prepared for more car time. However, the scenery is beautiful, there is lots of wildlife to look at as you drive, and having the hotel located a little ways outside the park really makes for a very private, quiet, secluded setting that is just awe-inspiring. I'm glad I couldn't see cars and tour buses driving by outside my hotel window. Additionally, the location is closer to the Sierra Baguales area, which is really stunning and a whole separate are from the park. And, there are hikes that don't involve really any driving at all, such as the walk through the forest and then climb up Sierra Contreras right behind the hotel. The view from the top was breathtaking.

Bottom line: Really worth every penny, and I would stay with Awasi again without reservation.

Room Tip: villa 2 is very private, at the end of the road, with no other villas visible from the windows.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiExperience, Gerente at Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kerry L,

First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complete review of the Awasi Experience in Patagonia. It really covers just about everything other travelers might want to know. It pretty much left us speechless since it is exactly how we would describe Awasi Patagonia.

It was a pleasure to read your comments and they really made us feel as though we were right there with you! We love the pictures, as well - Patagonian sunrises from the comfort of a villa are the best.

Please come back to visit us anytime! Your Personal Reservations Executive, Diego, will be happy to assist you should you have any questions or want to make a reservation.

Best wishes,
Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is killing me as I want so bad to give Awasi a five star. So, here goes; we stay here for 5 nights and that was a day too long. The overall value, for us, was just not there...the cabins are getting a little-long-in-the-tooth and if you use the outdoor tub...well, good luck as I don't think ours was every drained. Everyone loves the food...really? If you love Picasso, which every plate is beautiful, then this is the place for you. What do I mean? Well, our last night they prepared a super desert for us...Carrot Cake, which is my wife's favorite cake. What we got was a pile of shredded carrots, with a spoon of ice cream on top, with four drops of dough at each corner, and finished with six red drops of ?...that was the carrot cake. At the end of a days hiking a person would like some real food...so, I ordered [which they're allow you to do] Chile King Crab Stew...every dinner and pretty much passed on the Picasso plates. Also, the setting of Awasi is beautiful but it is normality a three hour round trip by really bumpy road to and from your hiking. So, a large part of the land is in a pick-up. The guides and staff are really five star.

Room Tip: we stayed in number 10 which I think is the closes to the mail lodge, but still a 5-8 minute walk
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dtroutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiExperience, Gerente at Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dtroutte,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate this feedback as it helps us to always focus on improving the Awasi Experience.

We regret to hear that you did not completely enjoy your restaurant experiences in Patagonia. We understand that everyone has different food preferences and so we always try to adapt to them within the sphere of our Relais & Chateaux cuisine. That is why the Maitre checks daily to see if the meals are meeting your expectations and if there is anything we should do differently. As a Relais & Chateaux restaurant, we highlight local flavors and ingredients, combining quality presentation with flavor. We work with local producers to create a menu that reflects seasonal products and respects the region’s culinary heritage.

As for our location outside of the Torres del Paine National Park, one of the benefits to staying at Awasi is our 6,000-hectare private reserve. This affords us and our guests great privacy, as well as an ideal view of the famous Towers. Like you mention, the distances can be far, but this is characteristic of the remote region, and we are only 45 minutes from one of the park’s east entrances. Additionally, given that we are in such a remote and highly unconnected part of Chile, many roads are not asphalt. While we do routine maintenance on the road to Awasi, it remains a dirt road.

We would also like to add that we regularly clean and drain our outdoor, wood-heated hot tubs. Despite covering them while not in use, it is possible that leaves fall in the water (and sometimes leave a natural residue) due to the winds and time of year. We are in the middle of a forest, which is part of the charm.

Feel free to reach out to us directly if there is anything else that you would like to share. We hope these issues did not detract too much from your trip and memories of Patagonia. Please know that in the future, we would love to welcome you back to any of our properties.

Kind regards,
Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Much has been said about this wonderful place and it’s all true. Beautiful location, great food and hospitality. However, this review focuses on another side of Awasi, their care for guests.

On a recent holiday to South America my husband caught a gastric virus a few days before arriving at Awasi which he could not shake. On the second day of our stay, Florencia, Deputy Manager took matters in hand and called a paramedic who had to travel an hour to Awasi. He came to our lodge with Florencia who acted as translator. An injection and medication were provided and Florencia oversaw follow up liquids and organised a light diet with the kitchen. Amazing to think this was arranged from such a remote location and apart from a voluntary donation to the paramedic service, was complimentary to guests.

This caring behaviour was backed up by all Awasi staff who were generally interested in my husband’s health. As he had been unable to enjoy any wine on our stay, Manuel the sommelier kindly gave him a bottle of Chile Shiraz as a gift on the last day.

Awasi is a beautiful location with lovely facilities to recuperate and we’re so glad we got to experience the main lodge. You need to be prepared that there is an expectation guests will use their designated guide and driver to go out on daily excursions. On the last day of our stay we were able to do two half day trips with our guide into the National Park which suited us perfectly.

A place we will remember for many years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cdmknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Awasi was a perfect experience. The individual cabanas were large, tasteful, and the views amazing. We enjoyed the wood fired hot tub after full days of hiking, biking and exploring with our very experienced guide Tomas. Even though it was high season we were often hiking in the most spectacular scenery with no one else around. And after several hours of walking Tomas would pull out of his back pack an exceptional gourmet lunch. The food at the hotel was outstanding, the cocktails were imaginative, and all the staff were very genuine and outgoing. You felt like they really wanted you to have the best experience possible. The wine sommelier was very knowledgable and we enjoyed many small production wines from Chile with every excellent meal. We travel a great deal and this was the one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. We even saw a Puma up close!

Room Tip: We loved our room which was up the hill a bit and very private at the hot tub, it was at the end of the road.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiExperience, Gerente at Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear L S,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share both of your Awasi experiences with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and enjoy all that Awasi Patagonia has to offer, from enjoying nightly surprise cocktails to biking in our private reserve. We remember that going to Sierra Baguales was one of your favorite excursions since, as you mention, even in high season you won't see anyone else around. It's truly spectacular!

We hope that we might see you again in the future, and in the meantime, that you enjoy the rest of your travels around South America!

Warm regards,
Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staying at Awasi Patagonia has been one of the highlights of my traveling experiences. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights (with four days of activities) in mid-March 2018. As many prior reviewers have noted, the food and wine experience and the accommodations are top-notch luxury (the food and accommodations really are as nice as what is reflected on Awasi's website). To a person, Awasi's staff goes out of their way to make your stay a great experience.

What made Awasi unique for us was the 1 guide to 2 guests system. Our guide Cris made the Awasi experience everything that it was. Our first night, Cris sat down with us and talked about what we wanted to see and do. We made a decision for each day's activity based on the weather forecast. Patagonian weather is as unpredictable as you’ve heard, and when the weather didn’t permit one choice, Cris was able to make suggestions for alternatives that were incredible, just as rewarding, and not something we would have been able to do on our own. Cris was able to gauge our likes and our abilities and help us formulate the ideal Patagonia adventure. As we all got to know each other better, it seemed as though we were going out with a friend and having him show us his favorite spots around one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

A few logistical notes that might be helpful:

Lunch from Punta Arenas – we had a pick-up scheduled in Punta Arenas around 12:30 for our first night at Awasi. Awasi actually arranged for a sack lunch in the car. We did not realize that Awasi would provide lunch, so we ate an early lunch somewhere else. If you are leaving Punta Arenas around midday, check with the hotel to see if lunch is being provided. And by the way, the Awasi sack lunches are great.

Length of Stay – 4 nights/3 days would have been too short of a trip for us. I was not ready to leave even after our 5 night/4 day stay, but I would have needed a massage/relaxation day after 4 days of intense activities. Maybe the ideal would be 6 nights/5 days with one of the days in the middle dedicated to an easy day or a massage.

Hiking Locations – The hikes in the park are really beautiful, but our favorite hikes were out of the park (and away from the crowds). One day hiking in the Baguales area the only other person that we saw was a gaucho on horse-back that was across the valley. That hike was highlighted by a stop for lunch at an old puesta (a small house where gauchos stay when tending herds in remote areas) with an incredible mountain view. I also enjoyed the steep hike that starts on Awasi's property.

Our trip to Patagonia will always be a highlight for me, and a large part of that was our stay at Awasi. Thank you Cris and all the Awasi family!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_M_72207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews